We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Munich.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Achterbahn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Achterbahn Hotel to your Saves list
Achterbahn Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwanthalerstrasse 88, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Great value in Munich.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Often finding a single room is sometimes costly. I chose this hotel based on the location, price, and reviews read here. I needed an inexpensive, clean, single room in Munich and I found it here. The check in is at the cafe out front and the rooms are in back. Although they are private rooms, it is more of a hostel/pension atmosphere rather than a hotel. My single room was good value, very clean, and comfortable. I only stayed two nights but unlike previous posts they did come in and clean up the room. It was a convenient walk to the train station and also not a far walk from downtown. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
7
12
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

Very original place. Location perfect to reach the city center in 10 minutes by foot. there is also a little parking inside. the rooms are very small: there is not place for two persons standing!!! the bathroom is ok but it was strange to find a towel and near it a cartel which says "only for decoration: please don't use it" ...but unfortunately it was too late...because we had only 2 towels, so we had alredy used it!! really nice the breakfast in the cofee near the hotel: eggs, fruits, sausiges, pancakes etc

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Hotel is near munich central station. Room is small. As there are only 8 rooms, the reception was not occupied, in fact they dont have any reception. There is a small bar/reastaurant near by and a guy there acts as the receptionist. Free wifi at the bar and not at the room. They had tried to bring some kind of mood in each room. But I dont find them interesting. The screen is too light that you get full sunlight and heat inside the room at early in the morning which disturbs you a lot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Likes:
10 minute walk from main train station
5 minute walk to the enterance of the Oktoberfest, which was vital after a trip in.
Connected to a bar/restaurant which was another nice place to hang out
Lots of convience stores/restaurants in the area
Renovated rooms with different themes.
Free Wifi

Dislikes:
Pricer during this time (expected)
No in-room safe
Staff not to present. Hotel staff is actually at the connecting restaurant when you check in.

Overall:
During this festival, it was worth the money to be this close.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Upon arrival we reaslied that the hotel was a rear building, beind a cafe. We had to walk around a large bin on its side that had been cleaned out and left open in the middle of the pathway. Not really the welcome we were hoping for! We then realised that reception was in the cafe in the front building, not in the hotel itself.

The dark artistic photos of the hotel rooms make it out to be quite funky, with their colour themed rooms, but as soon as we arrived we realised this was just a way to hide the average quality of the rooms.

Even though the rooms were advertised as "double" it was actually two single beds put together (we didn't notice this in the picture!) and the sides of the beds created a 20cm wooden gap between the matteresses, so not the romantic ideal!

Our room was never cleaned the entire 4 days we were there, and when we went to check out at 7.30am we realised that the reception only operated via the cafe, which meant it was closed (it was a Sunday). We ended up having to spend a fortune on our mobile to call the hotel owner, and ended up just leaving cash and the key in the room.

The only saving grace for this hotel was it's free wifi and that it was close to a train stop and only a 15 minute walk to the main train station. Perhaps this place is ok for singles who want a funky place to stay, but as a couple, we found it pretty average!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Achterbahn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Achterbahn Hotel

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 88, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Achterbahn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Achterbahn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Achterbahn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.