We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grill in Kunstlerhaus (upstairs) -Never again!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Muenchner Kuenstlerhaus

Muenchner Kuenstlerhaus
Lenbachplatz 8, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49-89-45205950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,441 of 2,808 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $24 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Munich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Grill in Kunstlerhaus (upstairs) -Never again!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

This restaurant attracts you due its magnificient position in Lenbachplatz and nice lightning; it is however important not to get confused with the lower floor which is a different restaurant with much more action and loud music.
Looking for a bit of calm and a more nice and private atmosphere, we visited The Grill in Kunstlerhaus which is located upstairs; the restaurant gives a nice modern and clean impression. This is until you order!!
The service was absolutely unappropriate!! Not only was he unpolite and not detail orientated, it also took our waiter exactly 1 hour and 5 minutes to bring us: two steaks, a portion of french fries and a half potato with sour sauce. Most dissapointing moment was when we asked if it would took much longer to get our dinner; our unpolite waiter trusted himself to be extremely unpolite and aggressive to us on his answer despite we were very calm when asking this to him. We were relaxed and not in hurry however had the feeling that we had been forgoten so we decided to asked why it was taking so long to get our food. It worked, as 10 min later we got our food which was good. The waiter did not apolgise at all on that moment (he did at the very end when he was bringing the bill, of course for only a reason: get his tipp). Steaks were qualitative and well cooked however the staff made of our dinner a very unconfortable one. At a certain moment, almost ending our dinner, the waiter suddenly decided to be polite to us, been so obvious that the only objective for this, was to get his tipp. The Grill is the perfect example of how a good restaurant can be listed under the NOT TO VISIT anymore due the bad service. Honestly a pitty as the food was very good (only meat by the way).

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“THE GRILL- upstairs!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

It has been a long while since we left a restaurant without tipping!
We were so delighted with the downstairs venue that we thought we would try the grill upstairs. The food was excellent – the steaks were cooked perfectly and the sides were delicious but sadly that was all. The staff (there were many although the restaurant was not full) looked sulky and bad-tempered. We were not given the specials, had to ask for our drinks twice, were not offered dessert and requested our bill three times before it arrived. We would have been glad to tip the chef but certainly the wait-staff could do with some training!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love at Second Sight - Method in the Madness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The restaurant has one of the nicest locations and facades (of naked busts) amongst the lot in Munich. Having spotted an empty table, my partner and I planted ourselves only to be told there was a waiting list.

Upon entering the restaurant, we were very surprised with the great buzz, ambience and crowds within. We ordered drinks at the Bar while waiting for our table and were very surprised with the amount of activity that transpires at the Bar. The bartenders barely have a second as the stream of orders keeps coming in...

It took us a while to get our drinks at the bar but sitting there I realized why that was the case. The food came very quickly once we had our table and the service was friendly, helpful and very warm.

This is by far one of the Nicest restaurants in Munich and I'm surprised at its lack of reviews. The vibe is great, atmosphere electric, crowds posh and trendy, and food outstanding!

Whilst waiting to tip the bartender and not finding him there, I was told we were being served by the Owner himself! If that's not leading by example, I don't know what is.

Worth a Visit 100% and bear with the wait... you won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very nice and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

I have been there with a friend during the hottest days this summer and we enjoyed a great evening on the balcony on top of the building at the Grill. From there you have a great view.
We had Steak and it was just delicious. Also the wine was really good and the service knew their products. The crowd there is young and trendy and it is a great place to have dinner.
However you have to reserve a table in advance and always ask for a table at the window or outside.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REUS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BAD SERVICE, THEY CHARGED US MORE THAN THE BILL.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Last Saturday we came to your Restaurant, since some good Munich friends' recommended it .

The Restaurant is nice, the food just regular, however the waiter we had he was very rude and impolite. When we asked for the bill, he charged us more than the bill in our credit card. We complained and they screamed us.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muenchner Kuenstlerhaus also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Muenchner Kuenstlerhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muenchner Kuenstlerhaus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.