We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic, Incredibly Flavorful Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monsoon Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Monsoon Restaurant
Hans-Sachs-Str. 9, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-38666298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #906 of 2,808 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Authentic, Incredibly Flavorful Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Monsoon is all about beautifully prepared, incredibly flavorful Vietnamese cuisine. The melange of flavors in each dish is to be commended...Greatly enjoyed a steamed rice pancake spring roll with mint, cilantro, rice noodles, cucumber and tofu -- phenomenal flavors, all working together. The bun cha dishes are flavor-packed and very satisfying. The chicken dishes, yellow curries in a variety of spice levels, succeed in not having one flavor dominate the dish. Ate there on a Friday night, arriving at 830pm, no problem getting a table and the restaurant itself is nicely and subtly decorated and lit. The service was relaxed and friendly. Will DEFINITELY eat here again. Loved it, really.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    18
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Poor organization and service, very tasty food in cramped atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We came here to celebrate our anniversary. First of all our booking had been forgotten and couldnt be found. We were offered a place at the bar which we declined and finally got a table. The restaurant is very cramped and you basically sit on top of your neighbours. The food was amazingly good, although the service was not. We had 3 waiters who always seemed to have forgotten that their colleague had already gotten our order. Will not return although the food was very good and very good value for money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing authentic cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place with excellent and very tasty food served by very friendly people. We will come again soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Always Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Home-made Spring Rolls, roll up yourself summer rolls and wonderful soups make great starters here. They also have a green papaya salad with shrimp that is wonderful. The tofu in coconut with rice is fine for vegetarians, but all the main courses are also good.

The only problem, I wake up with a stopped up nose. Is it the MSG they use? I do not know, but if you are susceptible be aware...

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food and excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate at this restaurant during our trip to Munich and were not dissappointed. The food was amazing! Really nice flavoured and well cooked dishes. The service was also excellent. The menu is in German and the waitress was very helpful in helping with translations. It was a little more expensive than we were used to but you get what you pay for, the quality is excellent.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monsoon Restaurant also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Monsoon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsoon Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.