We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel in a GREAT location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortiina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cortiina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cortiina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“nice hotel in a GREAT location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Nice spacious room & comfy bedding! Not noisy at all, not sure what rooms people stayed in who complained of noise. Breakfast is delicious but is indeed pricey but the nice in-room kitchenette solved that the next day with a quick trip to the Viktualienmarkt just a couple of blocks away (farm fresh eggs, sausage, breads, honey, etc.) -- voila, gourmet fresh breakfast in the room! Frontdesk staff was very helpful and pleasant, and the guys at the bar can make a perfect martini! Hotel is in the historic old part of Munich which makes walking to many attractions very easy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view down Orlandostraube -- the nighttime people watching is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina E, Manager at Cortiina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Heston,

It is a pleasure to read that you were so satisfied during your stay with us and that you enjoyed the area around the old town, where our hotel is located, so much. I will share your feedback about our staff with the entire team and I am sure your words will be a great pleasure for them as well.

With kind regards from Munich,
Kristina Eder
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    150
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
178
34
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rocou
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Did 5-nights stay, mix of business and leisure. I chose the hotel based on TripAdvisor comments, but was weary of the negatives I had read - staff attitude, noisy rooms, and breakfast cost. Took care of the latter with a special they were offering for 3-night and longer stays: 10%off, plus free breakfast. One problem gone.
As for the other two (attitude and noise), I didn't need to do anything about them: they were nowhere to be found. The staff was attentive and courteous (front desk, breakfast, ...), and we found the room to be surprisingly quiet considering its front street location. The room was large for a downtown European city hotel, everything worked, on-site parking is available at a competitive price, and the entire package is attractively priced. For the location, I think it'd be hard finding a better quality/price balance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina E, Manager at Cortiina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear User rocou,

Thank you very much for your lovely comment. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you have been so satisfied with your room, our location and most important, the friendliness of our staff. We hope to welcome you back at any time at the CORTIINA Hotel when you will be in Munich once again.

With best regards
Kristina Eder
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Cortiina is close to being my favourite hotel. The hotel itself is perfect. Small scale, understated and well designed rooms, and a great location in a surprisingly quiet street in Alstadt. The only think I'd suggest they rethink is 1) the breakfast service and 2) the common areas during night.

1) The breakfast. The buffet is great. The price is also fair considering the quality of the food. The breakfast tables, however, are too close. Also, the omelets made to order (included in the buffet price) could have been better. It also took some time to get coffee. In general, service was good and polite, but slow (the one day we had breakfast at the hotel). Also - we truly enjoyed the fantastic atmosphere and breakfast (half the price!) at the Italian Bar Centrale across the street. In our opinion, that breakfast experience was much better. I'd say they should rethink the breakfast table set-up and work a little bit on the service.

2) The common areas at night. I had high expectations of the common areas at Cortiina. It looked so cosy from the pictures. I really liked the bar area and the sofa in front of the fire. But the rest of the common area had a formal dinner set up. I think they should skip the sit down dinner thing, and make it more of a social area with long communal tables / lounge area. There are so many other restaurants in the neighborhood.It's not really needed at the Cortiina. So, I'm sure it would have been better if they made the common area more into a relaxed place to have a drink and / or a small bite, or to just sit down in front of the fire with a good book.

That said - the hotel is exceptional in all other ways. The staff at the front desk, the rooms, the location, and the hotel exterior - it's really well designed. Truly understated luxury. Nothing like the flashy Mandarin Oriental nearby.

I'm 100% sure I'll be staying at the Cortiina next time in Munich - be it for pleasure or business.

Room Tip: The rooms toward Ledenstrasse can be noise during the weekends. Ask for a rooms facing the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina E, Manager at Cortiina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear User Aften321,

First of all thank you so much for your nice and detailed review and the time you have taken to write it. I am very please by your words about our staff, the design and your room and will share them with the entire team. I am very sorry that we could not fulfill your expectations during our breakfast. Please be sure that this service does not meet our standards. I already talked to our restaurant manager that we can improve the things you mentioned and our guests will get our high standard service again. We are very much looking forward to welcome you back at the CORTIINA Hotel in the near future.

With best regards
Kristina Eder
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here in May of 2014 for 2 nights for the start of a 2 week trip through central Europe and what a great place to start! A really hip, trendy, design boutique hotel in the perfect spot for staying in Munich: a short walk to Marienplatz, Victualienmarkt, Residenz, St. Peter's Church, The Galleria at Marienplatz, the subway..everything 5 minutes away. The hotel room was a superior room just down the street (20 feet) from the reception. Super cool room on the very top floor with what we decided had to have had the best view of all the rooms: our full wall of windows looked out over the rooftops to the square with Hofbrauhaus and all of it's human traffic day and night. The design of the room (ours at least) is midcentury modern with ultra cool furniture, appliances, and small design features. Large sofa and big comfy bed, flat screen TV, great min bar and kitchenette with microwave and fridge stocked with bavarian beers, wine, and liquors. Bathroom was luxuirous and huge with equally huge tub/shower and heated floors. A/C in the room worked perfectly though it was not really needed.

The service was great..no complaints, staff were pleasant and knowledgable.

Breakfast buffet (though pricey) is the best hotel breakfast I have ever had thus far. Have it at least once during your stay.

We did not eat at the restaurant for lunch or dinner but did go to the bar both evenings. The bar is gorgeous and attracts a very hip, trendy crowd. The cocktail menu is vast and fun, the bartenders some of the most talented I have seen. Even if you do not stay at the hotel the bar is worth stopping in for.

Cortiina is a trendy hotel catering to a design savvy clientele (largely).I would not say it is very family friendly and I saw not a single child but I am sure the hotel would disagree. Overall a great choice for staying in the right spot in Munich.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really spacious with huge bathrooms. They are almost suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina E, Manager at Cortiina Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear User Atlas1175,

Many thanks for your great review on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to hear that you have been so satisfied with your stay and that the CORTIINA Hotel was a great place to start your trip through central Europe. I forwarded your comment to the entire team, and I am sure your words will be a great pleasure for them as well. We hope to welcome you back at any time at the CORTIINA Hotel when you will be in Munich once again.

Best regards
Kristina Eder
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Cortiina has always been one of our favorites because the rooms are bright and well designed. our two visits just confirmed once more that they have most things well organised. The hotel is quiet and professional right in the middle of town. Perfect...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for 4 nights, our first time in Munich. At checkin our room was not immediately ready but the front desk man recommended a fantastic coffee bar/restaurant just across the street which was as great as he said :) we came back and were escorted to our room where our bags had already been delivered. Room was sleek, modern and had an incredible bathroom. He was also extremely helpful in offering sightseeing ideas, directions and any other help we needed. The location of this hotel was perfect, minutes away from Marienplatz, Hofbrauhaus and the Victuals Market yet on a quieter sidestreet. I absolutely loved our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina E, Geschäftsführer at Cortiina Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Jackie,

Thank you very much for your kind words! It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and especially liked the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff.
We are looking forward to welcome you soon again at the CORTIINA Hotel!

With best regards from Munich
Kristina Eder
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a lovely hotel in a great location near Marienplatz and Hofbrauhaus in Munich. Spacious, clean and tastefully decorated room. Very easy to relax. Only issue for me was the room was fairly hot; however with the windows open it was comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina E, Manager at Cortiina Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Barbara,

Many thanks for your lovely compliment. It is a delight to hear that you enjoyed the time in our hotel so much even when it was very hot these days in Munich. We hope to welcome you back at any time if you travel to Munich once again.

Kind regards
Kristina Eder
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortiina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortiina Hotel

Address: Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cortiina Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Cortiina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortiina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.