We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly city retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cortiina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cortiina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cortiina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 382 hotels in Munich
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“friendly city retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The room was towards the street on the first floor and needing to exit the main building to re-enter next door. Despite the street view it was quiet at night and the room was pleasant, good bed, great bathroom. My only complaint is the lack of WiFi connectivity, it barely worked at all and this is unacceptable at that room price.
The cocktail bar is wonderful and the reception staff friendly and professional. Their immediate recommendation for a vegetarian restaurant downtown (Prinz Mishkin) was spot on.
I'm recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    145
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
55
167
33
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a superb hotel, we spent a weekend with friends in Munich and this place is ideally located. The hotel has a lovely calm feel, the staff were excellent particularly the team in the restaurant.

Breakfast was served in the lounge/restaurant area, lovely buffet with attentive service and coffee/water and juices delivered to your table.

Rooms are thoughtfully designed, wonderful bathroom with an opening to a glass wall seperating to the main bedroom area - very cool!

Reasonably priced for the service and location, if you need somewhere to stay i would recommend this hotel....enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room was tiny, interior and only has the bed and the shower. Claustrophobia for sure.

People from reception not kind at all.

The wifi is really small and you can´t barely check the mail.

Extremely dissapointed, never again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visited Munich on a whirlwind European marketing research tour, and the Cortiina Hotel was by far my favorite hotel of the trip. Rooms are minimalist yet comfortable and the bed was very cozy. If you are a design lover, this is a must-visit hotel. You can't beat the location (one-block from Hofbrauhaus) and the staff was exceptionally accommodating of my vegan-needs. I slept well, ate well and enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Fantastic location in the heart of Munich. We stayed at the Cortiina for three nights during Oktoberfest. Great authentic German restaurants, main shops and pubs in walking distance, as well, as the underground train station only a few minutes away. We stayed in a junior suite, very spacious and clean. The ensuite bathroom was also a spacious size. Although rooms are non-smoking, it was obvious the previous guest staying in our room smoked. The staff was fantastic and relocated us to another room right away. Overall the staff is very friendly, polite and always ready to assist. The hotel has a quaint breakfast room/lounge & bar with couches and fireplace where we relaxed after returning from dinner. The bartender was wonderful and very attentive. We stayed at the Cortiina as it was a recommendation from other friends who are seasoned Munich visitors and it did not disappoint. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Junior suite had a fully stocked kitchenette, stove and fridge. Although we did not use it it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My family of four (two kids ages 10 and 13) stayed here for one night in July. We were happy with everything about this hotel.

Munich is a very walkable city. That being said, the hotel is in a perfect location - walking distance to the train station, Marienplatz and the historic city center. It is a relatively quiet location, though there is a steady bustle on the street and it is down the block from Hofbrauhaus. If you are a light sleeper, especially in the summer and the windows are open, you might want a quieter street. We had the air conditioner on and the windows are well sound-proofed, so we did not have a problem.

The decor is very modern and chic, yet homey and warm at the same time. Our room was on one of the top floors and had nice sunlight and views down the cobblestone street and rooftops. Sheets were very crisp and the deluxe bathrooms feature eco-friendly Ren products. The room's clever layout was spacious enough for our family of four and included a living room area and a small cooking area with a Nespresso machine.

The concierges were extremely helpful. For all of this, the room was extremely well-priced.

The only downside was poor wifi. All in all, a stylish, modern, comfortable hotel in a great location and at a great price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is within walking distance to the Marienplatz, trains and numerous great restaurants and shops. We had a large, quiet and well appointed room with A/C.(August) I can't say enough about the location. We were 1 block from the world famous Hofbrauhaus. The staff was courteous and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel. A little pricy but well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cortiina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortiina Hotel

Address: Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 382 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cortiina Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cortiina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortiina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.