We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortiina Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cortiina Hotel to your Saves list
Cortiina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Clinton, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Cortiina is awesome. It is the most reasonably priced hotel in old town, but there is nothing that they skimp on. The location is fantastic. We were there in the dead of winter when there was snow and ice, but it was a quick walk to the Marienplatz S-bahn station, only a block from Hofbrau Haus, and close to the Glockenspiel. There are some wonderful restaurants around it (and a kepab house a block away in case you've had one too many liters at a beer hall) and you're a short walk to the Viktualenmarkt.

The hotel itself is swanky. The staff is young and fun, but very professional. Their service level was amazing. When we needed directions or a tip on something they were always able to provide it in flawless English (which helped since my Deutsch ist nicht gut).

The room itself looked like something you'd find in a boutique hotel in Santa Monica or San Francisco - cool decorations, nice fixtures, and just an overall upper-eschelon vibe. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was stylish - I can't rave enough about this hotel.

In short, if you're going to Munich and you're looking for a hotel, just stop looking and book this place. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    159
    26
    14
    9
See reviews for
59
196
35
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Great location, nice rooms, friendly and capable service both at the reception desk and in the Restaurant plus free WiFi.

I've stayed in the Cortiina several times on business trips and can only recommend it. Less than a 5 minutes walk from the subway station 'Marienplatz' in the city centre, it's easy to get everywhere with a day pass instead of getting stuck in traffic in a taxi. Also, they make really great coffee (I'm Viennese, this is important ;-)) which starts off the day on the right note.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Cortiina hotel is really a great boutique hotel in a perfect location in downtown Munich! The street is somewhat of a smallish side street but with seconds of a walk you are smack in the middle of tourist locations and the shopping, so the location is really top. Inside the hotel is efficient and very stylish. I really like the lounge feeling the reception & bar area has and the rooms are very nice with old wooden floors. I would recommend this hotel without a doubt and will return to it myself for my next Munich stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here one night at start of a recent ski trip. Our car rental was significantly delayed, and the hotel staff made us comfortable, called the rental agency, and generally helped us through the delay. Loved our room. Modern. Great bath products. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in this modern hotel beginning of March.

Glass in the bathroom looking the room was kind of funny at the beginning. Bathtub was great!

Updated rooms, clean and well located, just few blocks from Marienplatz. Our room had anice size.

I guess I expected more the money spent.... But other than that was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

At the 2nd time at the Cortiina. First time a few years ago we were kicked out of our room (CORTIINA MAISONETTE SUITE) after the first night to be moved to a lower level accommodation, even though the staff knew we had a big birthday party coming up and we even had ordered food and drinks etc. The food btw, turned out to be pretty good. Now I was put into a room on the first floor where you can't see outside as the decorative shades outside don't open or pull up. On top of it you don't have a desk chair. You need to pull a bench which sits in front of the bed up so you can work on your desk which is extremely uncomfortable. When I asked to switch rooms I was told that there is nothing we could do and that their partner hotel Louis is booked too. Getting the same "I don't care attitude" attitude from the front desk staff as a couple of years ago really leaves a bad taste and I don't think I will come back. I really do like the Louis where I stayed a few nights 1.5 years ago and their reception stuff is much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

As a business trip hotel, this one rates highly for me. I am tired of the Marriott and Hiltons of this world - they of course offer high service but are all a clone of each other. Hotels like this one make a business trip more interesting because of the uniqueness of the hotel. The location is excellent; central for all the great restaurants of Munich and just a 2 minute walk from the main Marienhof station. Staff all friendly and helpful and a nice after-work atmosphere in the bar.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortiina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortiina Hotel

Address: Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cortiina Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cortiina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortiina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.