We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do breakfast and excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cortiina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cortiina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cortiina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 383 hotels in Munich
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must do breakfast and excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Our room 411 was very large and modern. Loved having a bathtub. Location could not be beat in terms of marienplatz (the center of town plaza). Breakfast and lounge were fabulous. The only detriment I found was the Internet was spotty and slow at times

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    145
    25
    10
    8
See reviews for
57
173
33
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Pros: helpful staff, clean room, central location, relatively stylish and comfy, free wifi.
Cons: shockingly noisy
This is tough. The hotel is excellent but I cannot give it that rating. The staff was very friendly and quite helpful. We had two rooms in the "annex'" which is a separate adjoining building that contains four rooms, as well as some unrelated business space. Thus, getting from the street to the rooms was kind of odd (either direct entry from the street or through some of the back corridors of the hotel). The front room was very nice indeed -- quite large, big comfortable bed and a bathroom with heated floors. The rear room was also comfortable, but very oddly laid out - kind of L shaped, with the door at the angle which, when opened, cut off the two halves of the room. Nonetheless, if that was all, it would rate four stars (overall quite good, with a couple of oddities). But the noise in the front was just dreadful. There is a bar just across the street called the Rock Box and another right under the room called Americano. Right under the windows of the room are benches. People leave the bars to sit on the benches and smoke. Drunken 20 year olds would sit on the benches and scream (no exaggeration) at each other. Until 2:45 am. Every night. Despite two rows (!) of double paned windows in the room, it was shockingly loud. I can only imagine what it would be like in the summer when you need open windows. The back room, facing the hotel courtyard, was quiet. I admit I did not ask to change rooms, which I certainly should have done. But I cannot have been the first to have this issue. Lest you believe that it won't happen to you, from what I can tell, there is also a bar on the front side of the hotel, so I am going to imagine it is no better there either, Courtyard facing room is your only option...but in warm weather it appears that the hotel bar has a seating area out there, so my guess is that it is noisy there in the summer months. Alas, despite a central location, nice rooms and a helpful staff, I won't stay there next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina E, Manager at Cortiina Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

thank your very much for your feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.
In this area many “places-to-be” a settled like restaurants and bars, so it happens to be very crowed on the weekend and disturbance cannot be avoided at all times. But we also have rooms with view to the cortyard which are more quiet. For the next time just let us know that you prefer a quiet room and we will block a room for you.
We thank you for your positive comments on our service staff and clean rooms. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Please feel free to contact me directly for any future reservation so I may personally look after your booking

With best regards,

Kristina Eder
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The first thing to say is that the staff on reception at this very central hotel were great; very friendly and helpful. So our hopes were high as we headed to our room in this 4 star hotel. However when we stayed one night at the Hotel Cortina in Munich in late December 2012, we were not impressed by the accommodation. When you pay 208 Euros for a room (including breakfast) you do not expect cheap lumpy and very uncomfortable pillows, thin towels and no toiletries except liquid soap and moisturiser from bottles attached to the wall, plus a very basic shower with mediocre water pressure. We stayed in room 420 on the fourth floor (over-looking the street) and the water pressure may be better on the lower floors.
This is a hotel conceived by accountants not hoteliers. If you like bare white walls with non-descript wall-paper, no rugs on the parquet floor, inadequate bathroom lighting, and poor double-glazing, then this is for you. The noisy street below made it impossible to sleep with the windows open. Additionally, the heating was intense. We did telephone reception for advice on this point and were assured that they would turn off the heating, however this proved impossible. The curtains and blinds were also thin and cheap with no blackout facility which made the room very bright during the night. This would be an even greater problem if staying during the summer months when the sun rises very early.
On the plus side, the room was a decent size with a desk (only one power-point however), there was adequate storage for a short stay. And it is easy to access this hotel by public transport. Also, the buffet breakfast was excellent and the breakfast staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for their guests. However, we would not stay there again because of the poor standard of the accomodation which we felt was very over-priced. We moved to the nearby Hotel Platzl upon our return to Munich a few days later, which was much better value and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the street and take eye masks because of the cheap curtains and non-existent blacko...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristina E, Manager at Cortiina Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Irishtravel,

thank your for impression what you have leave on tripadvisor.
With pleasure we give forward your warm words about our staff at the front desk and the restaurant.

In the appartment house a other style was used than in the main house. The idea was "CORTIINA Light". Everything should seem a little lighter than the interior at the main house and above all bright, be more light-permeable.

There was no brass used like in the rest of the house, but special iron.
The famous wood which was used, is the „Zirbenholz“. The special in it is, that it very well it smells, mosquitoes repulses, has an antiseptic effect and provides supposedly for an especially good sleep.

In the bathrooms are “Jura” natural stone which is also used like in the whole house, nevertheless, it is yellow and was processed. Wants to be called that it was cut on the left to the grain and got open pores. That calls open pores.

Piece of Furniture

In the CORTIINA Hotel, all pieces of furniture and fitments are sketched up to some exceptions to Albert Weinzierl themselves and are produced specially for us. One of the probably and nicest parts are the lamps with the feet from metal struggle in the rooms. Albert Weinzierl called this purely and simply "CORTIINA".

In the appartment house, the big leather "Butterfly" armchairs are not sketched by Albert Weinzierl. The "Butterfly Chair" (also "Hardoy Chair" or “Bat Armchair” called) was sketched in 1939 by the designers Ferrari-Hardoy, Kurchan and Bonet. Those chairs are distinguished several times internationally. As a cult object of the 1950s was liked of the “Butterfly Chair” above all with young artists and architects in New York and Boston. Since then there are many simulations and copies, however, at the CORTIINA you can find the originals from the USA.

Our "cheap" Shampoo

Exclusivity not only with the design and equipment – we work with natural makeup products of the London brand REN. The newest knowledge in the investigation of biological active substances forms, the basis of the products REN to support protective mechanisms belonging to skin and regeneration mechanisms. Biological stands for the exclusive use of skin-acceptable and maintaining active substances and the renunciation of chemical additives like sulphates, mineral oil derivatives or synthetic odoriferous substances. With this draft, REN became a cosmetics forerunner of the „Clean biology Active“. The purchase prices lie well over the price like for normal hotel cosmetics. It is to be acquired only from the manufacturer in London and a few well-chosen stores like Ludwig Beck in munich who have this product for sale.

Our "cheap" wallpaper is from Neisha Crossland, several times prize-winning british designer. She starts her own brand 1994 and has won in strength since then.

If you like to give us a new chance for your next stay in munich, we recommend to book a double deluxe room which are looking to the courtyard.

With kind regards,

Kristina Eder
Hotel Manager
CORTIINA Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

(I think it's Cortina with one i). Great central location, just a few minutes from the old town square. Friendly staff. Amazing modern stylish big high tech rooms (we stayed in the rooms next door to the main building). Only confusion is over room service - not clear if it exists? But I'd go again as this is the best hotel for the price I've been to on several trips to Munich (the Mandarin Oriental is tops of course but v expensive).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

the hotel was ideally located, the facilities were immaculate and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
plenty of resttaurants and bars within walking distance. trains and busses nearby for travel within and outside Munich.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have recently stayed for four nights over new year. Nice clean hotel had a room on the back which was very quiet (pillows could have been more comfy, quite lumpy). Also the room seemed quite dark. The glass wall between the sleeping area and bathroom very strange. Would recommend using the underground to get to and from the airport we had a taxi from the airport which cost around 70 euro. Returning to airport got underground from Marienplatz line S8 which cost around 20 euro for both of us it was very simple.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed one night on business. This is a reasonable boutique style hotel very conveniently located in the Altstadt. Check in very slow (the staff are more interested in looking cool than dealing with their guests efficiently). The rooms are small by German standards and the glass wall between the sleeping area and the bathroom would not suit everyone. Might feel cramped if occupied by two people. Not too noisy given the location (convenient for the strip club). Breakfast was fine. Price too high for what it was. I would not have stayed here if I was paying rather than the company.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cortiina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortiina Hotel

Address: Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cortiina Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cortiina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortiina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.