We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive boutique property with great service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cortiina Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cortiina Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 11 more sites!
Cortiina Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 379 hotels in Munich
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Impressive boutique property with great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Initially booked for a night, extended two more nights and got upgraded! Receptionists knew the city / night life / restaurants & attractions extensively. They immediately prepared us an itinerary with a pro active concierge approach! Excellent bar and fascinating food. The bathroom amenities were organic and the hotel has an interesting feng shui interior design - located in the hearth of city centre! Certainly going back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    134
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
51
155
31
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Cortiina for two nights in September. The hotel is in a great location with the famous Hofbrauhaus just a block away, and a wonderful outdoor market as close. Our room was very roomy and comfortable with a nice little sitting area. Staff was great. Our room was on the fourth floor and we still had very bad street noise. If we had stayed another night, I would have had my room changed. Of course, this was a couple of days before the beginning of Oktoberfest, so there were thousands of people in town. They offered a nice breakfast, but with the market so close, I chose not to pay the pricey amount.

Room Tip: If quiet is important, don't get a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is located in central munich within walking distance from the city's best sites. The hotel rooms are renovated and the bathrooms have heated tile floors. The hotel's bar has fabulous cocktails. The hotel had a large fitness facility.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Andreu de Llavaneres
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

A weekend on a leisure trip. Check-in desk clerks were extremely servicing. Room on the third floor was comfortable, clean and silent, even though the lounge in the main floor was busy until late. Bathroom fully equiped, loved that heating on the floor when out of the bath tub. All central Munich within a stroll, and the S-bahn and U-bahn Marienplatz station just 50m away, from where it is so easy to reach the airport or any distant spot. Good value for the price we paid. Would come back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here during the opening week of the Oktoberfest 2012 (which actually starts last week in September) The Cortiina is right in the middle of the main beer hall precinct only a 2 minute walk from the Marienplatz U and S Bahn station, and a short walk to various tram lines.

The Oktoberfest ground (Thereisenweiss) has its own U Bahn station and tram stops nearby which are only a few minutes away from the hotel.

The hotel is very clean, refurbished and the staff are very friendly. Just a tip, as the hotel is near the beer halls and night clubs, many patrons leave these establishments a little bit over-refreshed and make a bit of noise, asking for a room on the top floors is a good idea if you are a light sleeper as many TA reports have stated.
We would suggest that you have breakfast in the hotel, even though it is a bit expensive, as the bakery/cafe out the front and to the left of the hotel is a bit limited, and the Viktualien Market nearby doesn't really get into full swing until well after 10am, you will always get a morning feed in or near a train station sausage stand (Wurstlstand)
Two issues we had with the hotel were the one and only lift/elevator was very slow during peak times and in our room the bath/shower combination was a bit ungainly and lent itself to splashing and flooding of the bathroom floor, so watch your step when you get out.
The room had a small mini bar fridge and a safe.

You can call reception for an iron and ironing board free of charge, and if you find the laundry service a bit expensive, we found an excellent cheap laundry in Klenze Stasse (yes not joking) 5 minute walk away called Cafe and Wash. It is a combination Laundry, cafe and bar where you can have a snack or drink while you wait, or if you pay only a couple of Euro extra they will take your washing from the washer to the dryer, then fold it so you can collect a few hours later.
There is a large supermarket just behind the hotel on Tal Street.

The Cortiina is an oasis of friendly faces and good service in Munich which during the busy Oktoberfest season becomes the city of grumpy and rude waiters who will do anything to avoid eye contact and complain bitterly if you don't tip them enough for their slow and rude service. Having said that you are only a few paces from the Hofbrauhaus, Augustiner, Hacker Psorr, Haxnbraterai, Wirsthaus and Schneider Weisse beer halls and you need to try them all.
The best beer, food and friendliest service by far in our opinion was the Schneider Weisse beer hall on the corner of Tal and Brauhaus Strasse just around the corner from the hotel.
Also the Lowenbrau beer hall a few tram stops away has excellent beer, service and a great outdoor beer garden.

As for the Oktoberfest, watch the opening street parades on the first Saturday and Sunday, but don't even attempt to try and get into a beer hall if you have not pre-booked. The best way is to go on a weekday (we went the first Monday) find unreserved seats prior to 10 am and start the celebrations early. We chose the Lowenbrau tent which was sensational, we got there before 10 am and by 11 am it was full. Had a sensational day.

If you are going to use Munich's fantastic public transport for multi-day passes or day trips to outer suburbs, don't use the ticket vending machines at train stations as they will always charge maximum prices. Instead go to the M V V office (Munich Public Transport) in Marienplatz station and get a sales clerk to book specific trips suited to your needs, we saved heaps this way. Also the DB (German Railways) office at the main Munich Hauptbahnhof station can be used the same way.

If you are in Munich as part of a beer nerd pilgrimage (as we were) you need to do a half day trip on the train to Freising home to the Weihenstephaner brewery which is the oldest in the world at over 1,000 years old. Great restaurant, beer and beer garden.

Also a short trip away is the Isar Brau micro brewery which is in the old station master's house next to the Grossheselloe train station, this is in a lovely leafy suburban part of Munich.
If you still haven't had your fill there is a brewery at Munich Airport called Airbrau, OK but not great, with a typical rude Munich waiter.

Room Tip: Pick a top floor room if you sleep lightly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days during Oktoberfest. I would highly recommend this hotel. I selected it based on other tripadvisor reviews, and can say they nailed it. The location was ideal - a short (5 minute) walk from Marienplatz, a block from the Hofbrahaus and a short cab ride to the beer tents. The surrounding streets are relatively quiet, yet there are plenty of food and shopping options. Even a strip club, if you're so inclined. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful, yet unintrusive. In the craze that is Oktoberfest, room prices can be quite high. We booked a Superior Room at under 300 euro/night, which was a good value for the location and quality of the room by comparison.

The room was spacious by European standards and well appointed and comfortable. (As an aside, the king sized bed is made with two single-sized comforters so each person gets their own - a little peculiar but fine). The room came with free wi-fi and a great single serving coffee maker that whipped up pretty good cappuccinos. Our room had a fuly equipped kitchenette and a really great bathroom. A cute little restaurant called Zum Durnbrau at the end of the block offered good German comfort food and friendly service after a very long night of too many liters of beer. I don't see myself going back to Munich - Oktoberfest was a perfect, albeit once in a lifetime, experience - but if I did, I'd stay here again. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was a recommendation from a friend and I was at first hesitant as I travel the world and stay at many high end hotels like Hilton, Waldorf etc... This hotel had the most helpful staff and was located in the heart of Munich. I would pick the Cortiina hotel the next time I go to Munich.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cortiina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortiina Hotel

Address: Ledererstrasse 8, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 379 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cortiina Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Tablet Hotels, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Otel so you can book your Cortiina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cortiina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.