We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Setting and Good Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Alten Markt

Zum Alten Markt
Dreifaltigkeitsplatz 3, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 29 99 95
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 2,717 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice Setting and Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here. The service was excellent and the food different from the norm. Nice setting in the corner of the small historic square.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    79
    53
    7
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great location in a quieter corner of the Viktualienmark, amazing food for a great price. Husband and I each had a dish with beer and paid less than 30 Euros. I had one of the best meatballs with potatoes of my life. My husband had the typical German sausages platter. The restaurant is cozy and has a traditional look, I would love to come back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A meal to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband remembered this restaurant from a previous visit to Munich. The food is well prepared, like eating a delicious home cooked meal. The service is attentive. The ambiance is warm and friendly with staff who take pride in serving up a meal that you will come back to.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable food, central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Note: not all the pages of the menu are translated into English! I ordered würst-something from the German pages because I wanted a sausage dish and couldn't find one on the English pages. It was excellent :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Little Gem only a few steps from Viktualienmarkt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We celebrated the 50th birthday of my husband there and we could not have choosen a better restaurant. Sepp, who is the owner of the restaurant has created a wonderful space to relax, enjoy delicious food and feel welcome. The service is impeccable. The restaurant is small, only seats about 45 to 50 people.

They have dismantled old farmer's houses from South Tyrol and used the wood for the interior that's what makes it so cozy. During the Summer month they have outdoor seat, which is right on the Dreifaltigkeits (streetname) square, a tiny, quiet square just a few steps away from the buzzling Viktualienmarkt (daily farmers market) and the Marienplatz (main city square).

The food is contemporary Bavarian (meaning it is not as heavy as traditional food and has a nice twist to it). We particularly liked Scampi G'Roestl, and the Ox with mustard sauce.

If you want to have excellent service, amazing food and a great atmosphere without the tourists go there. This is Bavarian hospitality at its best.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Alten Markt also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Alten Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Alten Markt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.