We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mexican!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Don Luca

Don Luca
Leopoldstrasse 44 | Schwabing-Freimann, 80802 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
49 89 330 193 30
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,633 of 2,822 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Munich, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Mexican!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have been to Don Luca twice now and have enjoyed it both times. The large platter for 2 offers a nice mix of food for an OK price. Will be back, but would like to see the prices slightly lower for what you get!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    20
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Mexican't”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Don't know where to start. We were in the area and craving something different, so based on the reviews, we thought we would try this place out. First the service. I am usually forgiving on this aspect IF the food makes up for it, but in this case it didn't. I realize that food quality and service are sometimes two different things. Our server was just plain rude, and obnoxiously saying everything in Italian, of all languages (prego, buono, etc). Now to the food. We tried Nachos - the ones that were supposed to come with ground beef. Little to no ground beef on them at all. I had fajitas with beef, which were mostly comprised of onions and peppers rather than beef. The little beef which was there was dry and tasteless! My husband had a burrito, which he said was nothing special. Onto the menu: brazilian churrasco and "Mexican" mix. Somewhat awkward. One thing I couldn't believe is how busy this place was... it's not at all worth the money nor calories spent!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant after a long walk up to this area of town. It is definitely worth the walk; it is towards the university side of town. We didn't book but most of the restaurant was reserved however, as we were there early, we managed to get a table for the two of us. The menu was a mixture of Brazilian Churrascaria and mexican burritos and fajitas. We had the fajitas which were really yummy. The service was excellent and the restaurant was busy with a good vibe. Would recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great food, service needs to be better to get 5 stars”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Booking is a must, which is usually a good sign; we managed to get the last table on a Saturday and it was already packed when we arrived at 7 pm. Very friendly staff and traditional feel; good atmosphere. Service was a little erratic (we ordered two starters between the four of us and one came much later than the first); similarly with the main courses; hence the 4 star rating). However, food was very good and liked by all there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We decided to book for a Sat night and glad we did as it was very busy. The food was good with large portions. There is plenty of variety on the menu. Slight problem with the service of the food - only one starter came and main courses came at different times. However, I will go again if I am in Munich.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Luca also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Don Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Luca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.