We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brenner Grill

Brenner Grill
Maximilianstrasse 15, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
49 (89) 45 22 88 0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 2,744 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $11 - $131
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great atmosphere, great service and a unique selection of German wines. The food was excellent. All around great night.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    191
    65
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best Spaghetti Bolognese ever, anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My husband considers spaghetti bolognese the test of any restaurant's ability to do Italian cuisine. He ordered it here to check it out and said it was THE best he's had anywhere, ever.
I had the risotto with asparagus and veal ragout - which was fantastic. Our friends loved their meals - one had a caesar salad and the other a white asparagus salad. We all agreed that the food and the setting and the service were fabulous. It was just starting time for lunch service - and although we had no reservations they seated us. You might want to call for reservations if you are planning ahead!

It was a beautiful sunny day and we got a table under an umbrella with some welcome shade. There were dogs sitting next to their owners. Kids playing. The outside would be classified "casual sit down" Inside looked a bit more formal if you were coming in for a special event or in inclement weather. And the center grill where they cook the food over wood would be fun to watch. Our meals were in the range 15 Euros each without tip or alcohol.

The location is behind the National Theatre ("Opera House") off of Maximillian in a little square you can't really see from Maximillian - so walk behind the opera house and you can see it. The only tip I would offer is that when you use their restrooms the "sign" for the men's room is a tiny "h" beside the left hand door, and a "d" (Damen) beside the right hand door. The hall is dimly lit so one woman went into the men's by mistake - and saved us the mistake!! LADIES - stay to the right when you visit the restrooms! :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Surprise Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We happened upon the outside dining area around lunchtime on a sunny day. After a long walk in the English Garden, we stopped for a bite. The food was outstanding and the service excellent. Although we ate outside, we looked at the inside too. It looked warm and inviting. The menu was very diverse. The cooking was on a charcoal grill in the center of the restaurant!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good enough to visit twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were a little apprehensive to go with the mixed reviews on TA but decided to make the plunge. We liked the ambiance as soon as we entered... it was spacious, chic, but still a comfortable atmosphere, even with the lounge and the dining room quite full. They were very accommodating considering we didn't speak German. Menus in our native tongue was a given but we were treated to a waitress whose English was every bit as good as her service. There were lot's of interesting choices from the cocktail menu and she let us leisurely enjoy our drinks before moving into dinner service. The kitchen was an interesting concept, with the chefs set in the middle of the dining room at two separate stations; one for pasta and the other with wood burning grills.

First course were two delightful tartars, one beef and one tuna. Both were exceptionally fresh and served with ingredients that were light and flavorful so the taste of the meat/fish shone through. We enjoyed a glass of German white wine that was surprisingly dry and complimented the plates well. The 2nd course was Scottish lamb chops for me, seasoned and cooked to perfection. Spargel (white asparagus) was in season, so I ordered a side dish steamed and garnished with butter and parmesan. Yummylicious. They were surprisingly large but extremely tender for their size. My guest enjoyed grilled salmon, cooked medium and deliciously moist. The side of spinach was pretty ordinary but did not take away from the overall dining experience. The wine list was not voluminous but had a nice international selection. We savored a Brunello di Montalcino that was a bit pricey but not out of line for a restaurant of this caliber. Dessert was fresh strawberries with marscapone cheese, a perfect ending to a delightful meal. By lunchtime the next day (our last one in Munich) we had really tired of traditional German fare so we decided to go back for a second dinner.

The evening was not as stellar that night, having more to do with the ambiance than anything. They were just as busy and we were seated in the area between the lounge and the main dining area (where I would insist on being seated in if you go). The balance of the tables except for another two-top were three tables of twelve or more seats, all occupied by a "company function" whose guests were much too restless and loud, running from table to table with cameras, cocktails, and blusterous voices. Our waitress that night was not as well versed in English, so she was supported by two managers(?) who did almost everything except bring our meals. She had the entire section and did her best to accommodate us between all of their demands. I had intended on another great Italian red but was swayed by one of the gentlemen to try a French wine that was fantastic and way under-priced. He neglected to mention until the foil was off and the corkscrew into the neck that it was a Pinot Noir, my least favorite of all of the French varietals. Although not terrible, I would much rather enjoyed the Barolo I had in mind initially. The food highlights that night were smoked octopus tartar, tagliatelli with baby squid, and a beef filet, once again cooked to perfection. We ended up checking out before dessert and headed elsewhere to enjoy the rest of the evening. Although mildly disappointed, a felt sorrier for the couple behind us who were trying to enjoy a nice, romantic evening.

I am glad the nights were not reversed, for I feel I could not have been convinced to go back for a second one. So when you go, be sure to get a table in the main dining room, and enjoy a fantastic culinary experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lots of atmosphere and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was there're on 3/4 full night. Service was friendly. Pastas and salads were very well prepared. Wine list is overpriced but this may be Germany though. Desserts though we're uninspiring and I would avoid the there. Good people watching which is half the fun.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brenner Grill also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Brenner Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brenner Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;