We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated European food and drink” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brenner Grill

Brenner Grill
Maximilianstrasse 15, 80539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
49 (89) 45 22 88 0
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #297 of 2,811 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $11 - $131
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Sophisticated European food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We came here on a local's recommendation and were extremely glad we did. At the front is a very chic drinking area with excellent cocktails to indulge in. At the back is the extensive restaurant with two open coal grills in the middle of the floor so you can see your food being cooked.

The menu is more "European" than "Bavarian" - i.e. lighter and more delicate. Bavarian food is hearty and full of flavour but you might not want that every day?! For a starter we shared an excellent steak tartare and for mains we had veal steak in lemon sauce and a frankly incredible veal steak on the bone (so thick and juicy, with that ideal char-grilled flavour). The puddings are also highly recommended and are set out on display for you to choose from. The wine list was also decent and affordable. Approx. €50 per head, including wine

Certainly worth a visit if you've had enough of traditional Bavarian fare (if only for the cocktails!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    221
    76
    47
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lively, chic atmosphere. Lighter foods - grilled meats, fish and lots of vegetables. It's a nice change from the traditional Bavarian restaurants.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A favourite for us in Munich.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Love the open space, mix between cafe and restaurant and the great delicious food. The service is great and there is an open cooking area where you can see some meals being cooked, which adds a nice touch to the atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant all-around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After a somewhat disappointing meal at one of the traditional Bavarian restaurants the previous night we had our eyes set on something slightly more sophisticated - and we were not disappointed at all!
Even though we had arrived without a reservation, we were almost instantly shown to a table and were pampered by a very attentive young waiter. He told us about the specials of the night and, after taking our orders, recommended a wine (and even let us taste it) that went superbly with our food. The starters were great and the spaghetti with calamari came on a tasty tomato sauce. The beef fillet was grilled to perfection and the sides were split between rosemary potatoes and mixed vegetables. Nice dessert of fruit crumble and excellent espresso coffee rounded off a very pleasant meal.
And because we liked Brenner so much, we sat down at the busy bar for a night-cap before going back to our nearby hotel!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Ideal for a late night dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

A great Italian restaurant in a very large old market (I guess) hall converted into a stylish modern place. Lots and lots of tables but you don't feel cramped, on the contrary. Service is very quick, correct and businesslike friendly. And the cooking is great. We had a good squid carpaccio; absolutely excellent hand-cut beef tartare with forest mushrooms; delicious and surprising linguine with artichoques and blood orange; tasty, a bit heavier linguine with grilled sardines and bread crumbs. The Riesling of the house was tasty and appealing. Generous portions, and everything very correctly priced. Very close to the opera, ideal for a late night dinner. Warmly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brenner Grill also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Brenner Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brenner Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.