We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Hotel to your Saves list
Louis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rindermarkt 2 | Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Toledo, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We would highly recommend staying at the Louis Hotel. While our stay was short, only 4 nights, it was a place that we could call home. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked a courtyard. It was very quiet, but as soon as you stepped out of the hotel, you were right in the middle of the market area, shops, cafes and a beer garden was not far away. If you want to experience Munich, then stay at this first rate hotel. It was clean, well located and the staff was very attentive. When we return to Munich, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    127
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
65
182
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Louis is a small design hotel, located in the heart of Munich and delivers a high quality service.
The rooms are spacious and clean. Has an excellent Japanese restaurant, which I believe is the best in Munich.
Offers a nice breakfast and has a very good bar.
We spent 8 nights and intend to return when in Munich.
My only remark is about the housekeeping service. In spite of providing an excellent service, the room was never made up before noon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here on a Sunday evening and had a lovely visit. The hotel is very nice and the location couldn't be better, The Viktualien Market is right outside the hotel and you can find all kinds of fruits, pastries it was just beautiful. Right around the corner was the Glockenspiel, which I believe goes off daily at noon and 5pm. We caught the 5pm chimes and it was so fun to see. Do not miss the Hofbrauhaus!! Walking distance and such a fun place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I simply run out of superlatives in considering this small hotel just a half street from the Marienplatz. Don't be fooled by an unassuming exterior. The hotel interior is a first rate design with strong asian influences. Service is friendly and extremely efficient. The rooms are not huge but adequate and the furnishings are somewhat unique and attractive.
The breakfast buffet is quite good and includes eggs made to order and asian as well as European buffet items and good coffee. Servers were cheerful and helpful. The restaurant is very good for dinner or snacks.
There is a nice full bar serving speciality cocktails and some well chosen wines by the glass.
Most of the guests during our stay were not speaking English and there were a number of business people, both of which I consider as positive.
The a/c system is modern, beds are wonderful and the location is very quiet at night as the Viktuallenmarkt closes at the end of the business day and does not get going until reasonable hours and, even then, the building is so well constructed that noise was never an issue. We also find that the many Munich church bells which begin to ring hourly at 7am to be a dreamy welcome to the morning.
The only problem is that it can be very difficult to make a reservation as the hotel is small and in demand. I tried and failed to make a reservation here on my last 3 or 4 trips to Munich.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had such a wonderful stay at this hotel! It's location is perfect--right outside the Viktualien Market and very close to the City Hall, subway/tram lines,etc. The staff went out of there way to make sure the room met our expectations (we had asked for a handicapped-accessible room). They were all, to a person, extraordinarily friendly and helpful. My favorite thing was actually the hotel's buffet breakfast: a full range of vegan (!) dishes (as well as tasty meat treats), lots of small, delicious treats (like polenta squares with plum compote, mini-mozzarella balls and cherry tomatoes, mango lassi shots). The spread came as a delightful surprise after many, many hotel buffets of very standard and unremarkable continental breakfasts.

Room Tip: Parking was a bit tricky to find. There is a spot reserved for the hotel on Oberanger St. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My three friends and I stayed at the Louis Hotel in early August. It is a very nice hotel with very nice and clean rooms. The hotel is in a great location, right in the market and very close to the main city sights and shopping district. The staff were friendly and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marseille
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Expensive but.... probably one of the best design and location I have seen in a Hotel.
The location first, just on Viktualienmarket place, and when I say just... it means that the elavator takes you from your room to the Viktualienmarket place sidewalk, and this is really Munich's heart!
The design a mixture of 30's and contemporary, very descrete, very delicate very classy.
I stayed for 3 nights with my wife and young daughter in August 2013, it was perfect. The concierge service was great (except for indicating good restaurants, but maybe this doesn't exist in Munich!). If you wanna make yourself a treat Louis Hotel is the place.
See attached pictures of the room (eventhough they added a bed for my daughter the room was still big).

Room Tip: We had a back side room totally silent even with the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Hotel

Address: Rindermarkt 2 | Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is alsotrue for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart ofMunich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegantKull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors inSeptember 2009 – panoramic view included.With one of the most prominent Munich sights right onits doorstep and the others in walking distance, theLOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstraße, the Fünf Höfe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a japanese restaurant & bar EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Louis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.