We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Hotel to your Saves list
Louis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was an absolutely perfect location for Munich at Christmas, with the hotel right in the middle of all the main Christmas markets, literally a minutes walk. A passage walkway underneath the hotel gave great access to the markets on each side of the hotel.
The rooms were very spacious good design and comfortable, and really quite large for a European city hotel. The hotel was quite vibrant on an evening, but the hotel bar was really reserved for guests of the Asian style restaurant in the hotel and we found it difficult to get seated at times. We travelled with a 5 year old, and the hotel was not really family friendly. Not that children were unwelcome, just the staff did not go out of their way to be friendly. They were professional, but a bit frosty.
We did not enjoy the breakfast at all, expensive and we do not enjoy Asian style breakfast, so we found that there was little choice for our tastes.
Sleep quality- I am not fond of the German style flat pillows, they were extremely uncomfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is pricey, but it is one of the most beautiful city hotels I have ever stayed in. The dining hall has stunning views of the Viktualienmarkt with all its hussle. The breakfasts were tasty and delicious. It is a very tranquil hotel with nice smells, wonderful modern rooms. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zdenzden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton of Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

This location is not just close to the Viktualienmarkt but its ON the market ... This must be the very best location for a hotel in Munich ... I simply love it! It's not cheap but the hotel is stylish and modern and I like the atmosphere. The rooms have old wooden floors and the bathrooms have nice big showers. The service is Nothing spectacular but OK. The only real drawback is that there is no real nice entrance to the hotel but rather its a hidden away entrance where you have to walk up a flight of stairs and enter the hotel from the back which makes it loose a bit of grandness in my opinion.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank 1234CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

love this location...right across the street from Viktualienmarkt(a large outdoor market with some restaurants). This is a bustling location and walking distance to most all attractions. Not only was the location good, the service, restaurant "Emiko" very good, but it was a nice place to relax. There is a outdoor restaurant and bar, along with the lobby bar and Emiko The rooms were nice, clean and the bathing area quite large. We had a nice view. The room was quiet, bed very comfortable, and had nice amenities. I would definitely stay here again.
We rented bikes and rode through the city, to the English Gardens and beyond. The city is quite flat which makes bike riding very easy and you can go for miles and miles. Enjoy! I highly recommend visiting Dachau...humbling and tragic and so important.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisaleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix P, Manager at Louis Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest, (lisaleslie)

Thank you for staying at the Louis Hotel and for your positiv Feedback. Your Feedback was a motivation for the entire team. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best until then.

Kind regards,
Jens Gmiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
143 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Arrival: was a bit difficult with car due to one-way street; Louis hotel has no own parking space, therefore parking wasn't so convenient (wallet parking was offered at a higher price, the garage ticket was discounted a bit, when we departed)
Check in and welcome: we checked in before noon and did not expect to receive the room, but we were upgraded to the next room category and could move into our room immediately, we also received a 10% voucher for a nearby department store for shopping
Room: High quality, modern furniture, great design, cozy and spacious room, great pillows, linens and mattress, bathroom and toilet are separated and very spacious too, great body and hir care products, nice, heavy towels
Bar area: great and tasty cocktails (Japanese style)
Breakfast: exceptional friendly staff, nice food and beverage choices (we definitely want to dine in the Japanese restaurant next time, sound promising)
Location: great, at Viktualienmarkt in the heart of Munich
Check out and departure: went smooth and professional

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitzideluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix P, Manager at Louis Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest, (mitzideluxe)

we thank your for your visit and your valued feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our services. For your next visit we recommend to drive directly to the following address – Rindermarkt 2, where the hotel has one parking spot in order to unload the vehicles. From there the hotel personnel will take care of everything else such as luggage assistance and to park your car in the garage. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jens Gmiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arezzo
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed here and reviewed it. It is very well located and handy for galleries and the opera house. My room was very comfortable. There were plenty of towels and a bath robe. The shower worked fine though I had a bath since there was plenty of hot water. The wifi worked perfectly without the need to ask reception. The bed worked for me and I slept well. The staff at the front desk were helpful in recommending restaurants and helping with information.
If I have any criticism it is that access is difficult with luggage and some help with bags would be appreciated but I will still go back as the advantages outweigh that criticism.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0ntesansavin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix P, Manager at Louis Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Looks wonderful, but a significant amount of irritants you don't expect in a hotel with this rating. Wifi didn't work properly, dreadful pillows, poor room service selection, shower was weak and had variable temperature. The location is good, but the aspect could be better.

I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a square view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watercombehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felix P, Manager at Louis Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest, (Watercombenhouse)

we would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your visit. Due to your valued feedback we are able to analyze our strengths and weaknesses of our Hotel. We would like to apologize for the experience regarding our WIFI connection, however we are glad to inform you, that we installed a stronger working WIFI system a short while ago. Our duvets and laundry in general are made of high quality, which are of natural finish and produced from high quality materials. We do regret that it did not meet your expectations, and therefore recommend you to select from our pillow menu during your next visit. Regarding the room service we have noted your feedback and are working towards a better performance with the department.
It would be our honor in spite of your previous experience, if we would become a chance of welcoming you back at the Louis, to convince you of our true productive efficiency.

Kind regards,
Jens Gmiat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#7 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#16 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
0.8 mi away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#1 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Louis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Hotel

Address: Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is also true for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart of Munich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegant Kull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors in September 2009 – panoramic view included. With one of the most prominent Munich sights right on its doorstep and the others in walking distance, the LOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstrasse, the Fuenf Hoefe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a Japanese restaurant & bar, EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Louis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing