We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, grood hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louis Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Louis Hotel to your Saves list
Louis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rindermarkt 2 | Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 386 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winter Park, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great location, grood hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Meticulously clean, efficient, friendly. This hotel was pretty costly as we happened to book during Oktoberfest, a coincidence. Grood would be great except that the mattress and pillows were hard and my wife had difficulty staying asleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    139
    29
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
190
33
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We just stayed for the weekend here because we wanted something nice to spoil us after an organised running event in the area. We stayed in one of their "Superior" rooms which are pretty expensive and we chose something which is effectively at the bottom of the scale, and I have to say I was seriously disappointed that there was no bath to soak tired after-run legs in, in fact the whole bathroom felt more like an after-thought. The shower was separated from the rest of the rather small bathroom by a curtain and flooded the floor each time we took a shower. The bed was fine but the room on the whole appeared a little tired, the rugs on the floor were worn out and felt grubby and the wardrobe, TV cupboard and mini bar were behind padded door coverings which kind of made the room feel un-fresh. This hotel is supposed to be one of the leading designer hotels of the world, but I don't see anything that could really be considered "design" features in the rooms at all. The bed was fine and the windows could be opened to let in some fresh air, but also lets in the sounds of noisy beer-filled people walking around late at night.

Breakfast is really expensive but the location is right in town so there are many cafes and restaurants offering good breakfasts for a fraction of the price. The bar was limiting in choices of wine (3 red wines, all Austrian), but from what we could see this is probably a very good japanese restaurant, but we didn't try it.

The people are friendly enough from the little interaction we had with them, but since you can take a lift from your floor directly to the street we hardly saw any of the staff during our stay.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms do have a full bath but are pricier. The market is huge and very busy, plus people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston Bean
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while attending Oktoberfest, and chose the hotel based on it's location and price. I'm not sure what the going rate is normally, but during Oktoberfest we were lucky to get our room for 399 euros/night. The location is really the best of the city......right in the Viktualienmarkt. I was concerned that the noise level would be high, but I could not hear a thing from the market, and it was so nice to be in the center of all the activity and excitement. You could easily stroll to the Marienplatz and shopping, Hofbrauhaus, etc. We usually stay at the Le Meridien across from the Hauptbahnhof, but have found that area becoming more and more distasteful. Our room design was minimalist chic, so if you want Bavarian, forget about it, but easily one of the coolest environments I've ever been in. They have a rooftop terrace with great views, as well as a fitness area, private sauna, and japanese restaurant (not easily found in Munich). Although breakfast was not included, it wasn't missed, as it was so nice to walk downstairs to the Viktualienmarkt for a Bretzn and fresh squeezed orange juice from one of the many stands. Run, do not walk to the Louis Hotel. One of my new faves!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a hitel that is fine, simple and deluxe!
Our firast day the breakfast staff seemed lackadaisical as well as most of the reception staff. Housekeeping was on the dime and the bar staff in lounge area very attentive.
Location and noise were no problem. Stayed in room 609 and would go back in a second!
Went for Oktoberfest and it was great to be near the U-Bahn, shopping and everything!
Rooms are polished and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

A modern hotel without being pretentious or attempting to be uber cool. Staff are courteuous without being overbearing. Very comfortable stylish rooms. I have had the pleasure of staying here on a number of occassions now and cannot recall an issue with any aspect of the service. For example, when you request an iron and ironing board, it arrivers within a couple of minutes, you do not need to wait half an hour and chance 5 times.

The location is very central with the added bonus of having the Viktualienmarkt opposite.I have stayed at a few different hotels in Munich, some with very big reputations. I would choose this hotel every time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Wonderful experience and location! Just blocks from the Marienplatz and across the street from the Viktualienmarkt the hotel is quiet and upscale. Experienced staff make planning a visit to Munich a breeze, arranging cars, tours and business services. The breakfasts are out of this world and very generous. Agree with jyancy13 that the rooms are cleverly designed to take advantage of the space, however the electronic card to turn on lights and electricity took a bit of getting used to - the first night we closed ourselves in the dark, had to open the door to get light from hall to find the controller...funny actually. After a busy day, going to the private rooftop terrace was a pleasure. Highly recommend this hotel to either business or vacation travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

It's hard to describe an experience that was near perfect from the beginning to the very end. Why this hotel isn't five stars is beyond me, but for what it's worth, I think Louis surpasses the standards and innovation of many a five star hotels.

We stayed here for four nights and each night was perfection. First off, the hotel's location cannot be beat; practically a hop and a skip from the city's heart, Marienplatz, and the best farmer's market in the region, Viktualienmarkt, literally on your doorstep. And if shopping ranks high on your list, well, fear not, the best department stores are all nearby—Ludwig Beck is a few steps away, and Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse are only a short short walk away.

And as for the rooms themselves? Somewhat like rustic perfection, I think. The hotel hallways are all warmly lit and the most welcoming hallways I've ever seen. We had a courtyard deluxe room, which was exceedingly spacious. The floor and furniture are all wood but it's all done quite tastefully and enhances the quality of the rooms. There were Bose speakers which came in quite handy when I wanted to blast some music from my iPhone to unwind. The closet in our room was quite interesting; a pull-out contraption that was quite the novelty. The bathroom was nice, very nice. The subway tile decor makes it look pristine and modern—the only complaint I had was that they didn't offer any soap bars; everything was liquid soap, from the hand soap to the body wash provided. But overall, the vibe the hotel gave off was very cosy and trendy—we loved it!

The front desk staff were all polite and immensely helpful; they helped to order taxis when we needed it, and printed out the necessary itineraries for our flights and whatnot. The breakfast was an oddity though; most of the food came from the farmer's market next door and is freshly prepared, but is not what you would normally find in a breakfast buffet. I would highly recommend the restaurant Emiko in the lobby though; it's Japanese cuisine and quite delicious.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Louis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Louis Hotel

Address: Rindermarkt 2 | Viktualienmarkt 6, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 386 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Louis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many great ideas arise from the heart. This is alsotrue for the LOUIS Hotel, located in the heart ofMunich, right on the Viktualienmarkt. The elegantKull & Weinzierl boutique hotel opened its doors inSeptember 2009 – panoramic view included.With one of the most prominent Munich sights right onits doorstep and the others in walking distance, theLOUIS Hotel is the perfect starting point to discover Munich’s opera, theatres, the Maximilianstraße, the Fünf Höfe shopping arcades and the many restaurants. In 72 rooms globetrotters feel at home. Carefully selected details and high quality materials create the perfect place to relax. The handcrafted interior is best described as elegant, high class, modern and relaxed – with great attention to detail. Handmade furnishings from nut and oak wood, natural stone and elegant tiling, that are reminiscent of the Parisian Metro, make your stay an unforgettable experience. There are two additional quite and bright meeting rooms with daylight and a japanese restaurant & bar EMIKO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Louis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.