We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great tour guides” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radius Tours

Radius Tours
Arnulfstrasse 3, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 54 34 87 77 20
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$14*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Munich. Bavaria. Salzburg. Nuremberg. Beer. History. Castles. The Alps. All in great tours in English, Spanish and German - all that, and a huge bike rental.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“great tour guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Me and my girlfriend booked the neuschwanstein castle trip and im very glad we did, we was only in Munich for two days, And this was such a fun informative tour thanks to Kevin the tour guide on the way to the castle we learnt all about its history and King Ludwig which was a real good story. We got there by train which didnt seem to take long at all and it was nice passing through the village seeing all the old and modern houses. The castle itself is just breathtaking set upon a mountain i can see why Walt Disney built he's castle inspired from this. Every room is massive and set out really nice your not allowed to take pictures inside if caught out by the cameras you will get a 200euro fine or you can buy a postcard book in the gift shop which has all the rooms in it. When finished you can take a horse drawn carriage back down or a slow walk with a coffee or nice snacks from the various vendors on the way down this trip is a must even if your not in Germany for long. I would highly recommend radius tours and Kevin you wont regret it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,339
    259
    35
    23
    23
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent day tour to Salzburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The tour with Maxine was really relaxing, and yet quite informative. Maxine is very professional, and chill, in the sense that she really adapted to the pace (Sound of Music), and the need of the group. She was very considerate of everyone's different interests.

The tour was well-organized, and time passes really quickly. Definitely a must if you are staying in Munich for 2+ days!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dachau Memorial and Royal Castles Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

As a lone traveller to Munich, I was unsure what to expect. However, was delighted with the 2 tours provided by Radius - an informative and (for me) emotional tour of the Dachau Memorial site with Keith who handled an emotive subject with sensitivity and expertise and then a beautiful tour of Linderhof and Neuschwantein Castles in the Alps with a short stop in a gorgeous Alpen town called Oberammergau with Bridgette.

2 very different types of tour but both conducted by well informed and enthusiastic guides - and at a time in March where although there were plenty people at all locations, it was still officially winter season and therefore not too busy so queuing not really a big issue in general.

At Dachau there were a LOT of German school groups attending in the morning - might be better to go on the afternoon tour if you would prefer to avoid this (they are typical school kids, not there because they want to be but because they have to be, and this could spoil your experience somewhat - although not mine). There is a reasonable amount of walking required - and the size of your tour group will determine the time which can be taken at each part of the Memorial.

At Linderhof, some of the site was still closed as it was the winter season, but what we could see was well worth the visit - the site is stunning as is the castle. An estimated 6 tonnes of 24 carat gold leaf is used in the rooms - and the attention to detail is fantastic. This was the kings main residence and the only one of his castles to be finished - castles whose building employed at fair wages over 8000 people.

At Neuschwantein, there is a serious walk up the mountain to the castle from where the bus drops you off. There is a shuttle bus providing transport some of the way, and horse-drawn carriages are another way to reduce the effort. But even if taking one of them (I took the carriage - and relaxed and enjoyed the amazing views as we wandered up the mountain!) there is still a chunk of uphill walking required - and over 200 stairs inside the castle as part of the guided tour. Again, a stunning location and even more stunning castle which was never finished after the king died in circumstances even the most unimaginative of us could only describe as hinky! The throne room floor alone had over 1.5million pieces of mosaic tiles and a chandelier made mainly of brass and weighing more than 2 tonnes!

I would highly recommend both the tour operators and both tours - although am not sure how much of an impact going at busier times of the years would have on them, would definitely be worth any inconvenience which may be experienced.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Day trip to Salzburg - perfect itinerary!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Great day trip to Salzburg! Train ride included and one hour overview of walking tour with 3.5 hrs of free time. Perfect agenda - would definitely recommend this tour! Not a huge need to go up in to fortress - wasn't worth 11euro when you could walk and see sights for free. Beautiful little side streets with great shopping. Only downfall was that we came on a Sunday so most shops were closed, but still plenty to see and do as some stores were open.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Vernia, Texas
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Did multiple tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The ability to deliver a tour to people from all over the world and make sure everything gets to see the the things the want and teach the history of the location is a difficult skill. The team at Radius does it best. We did three tours with them in Munich and so much interaction and learning with the guides as well as the party it was well worth the time.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Radius Tours also viewed

 

Been to Radius Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radius Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.