We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest Beer Garden down the street...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Grand Central

Save Saved
You added Eurostars Grand Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 383 hotels in Munich
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oldest Beer Garden down the street...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

1. Access to trams - right across the street
2. Access to suburban trains - Right around the corner
3. Main train station two tram stops away
4. Oldest beer garden 2 blocks away
5. Pool, bar, modern, comfortable

Loved it.

Room Tip: Ask to face city not the train track side. No noise, but better views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    364
    67
    20
    9
See reviews for
136
312
45
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was an adequate hotel if considered 3 star, but definitely not 4 and definitely no more than adequate.

Rooms were a decent size, but no storage at all (a wardrobe but no drawers) and in need of some improvement - eg there was the beginning of a crack on the glass wall between the bathroom and the bedroom.

The towels provided were threadbare and they only provided one bath towel and one hand towel. My sheets had a couple of holes in them.

I used the swimming pool, but not the gym as it was pokey and had very little in it, and the pool area just seemed a bit grubby.

The service also left a lot to be desired - the staff took a long time to do anything and often forgot what they had been asked. The one time we wanted to use the hotel bar, they didn't want to open it up for us - a hotel bar should be available to serve guests as required.

In terms of area, it was convenient for the train station/trams (and taxis are always outside) but the building was just a concrete block amongst other concrete blocks, away from the centre of town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros - room sizes and bathrooms
Breakfast buffet full of hot and cold breakfast items
Close to tram and 20 minute walk to main station
Pool and gym
Comfortable beds.
Cons - arrived after 2pm and had to wait until 4pm for room to be ready. No offer of drink or any compensation
Not near any good restaurants or shops
Very expensive bar
No milk to make a coffee

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good hotel in a convenient location away from the hustle and bustle. Very clean and modern but not much storage space in the room for clothes. No drawers at all! Good sized pool. Very good sleep and if you're fussy like me ask for a room on the back of the building. Walking distance from the station and very close to tram line. Difficult to get served in bar most days/nights! Otherwise a fine hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was our first visit to Munich, Germany. We selected this hotel because of its location closed to the main train station where we could to take a train to Prague easily. There were some best impressions of this hotel. We really enjoyed breakfast which consisted of our favorites such as veal white sausages, pretzel, smoked salmon with lime and garlic, fresh vegetables salad and all kinds of tea bags that we could change the smell and taste everyday. Green apples at the front desk were free. What we were not impressed was the service at the front desk. There were only 2 or 3 persons at the front which was not enough for clients. It was impossible to consult about our sight seeing. They were too busy to help us. The room was comfortable and clean with relatively large restroom. It was a pity that the indoor swimming pool was under renovation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLGWesgate-On-Sea
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Munich and we could not have wished for a more welcoming, clean, modern and totally relaxing Hotel to stay in.

The location was perfect as it was within walking distance of the City Centre but in a quiet location away from the hustle and bustle.

The Hotel were very helpful with travel information as even buying a tram ticket can be quite confusing, but once you know the system you can buy a one day travel ticket for two people for
11.20 Euros for travel throughout the city, this is called a Partner Ticket and you can also buy other tickets to cover more zones.

I was so pleased that I had managed to include breakfast in my stay as the breakfast was indeed very good, taken in a lovely relaxing dining room (not a canteen, as my lady always says).

Last but not least, nothing is too much trouble for the excellent staff who will help with any questions or problems you may have. For example I found out that the AutoExpress to the Airport at Memmingen was cheaper by 5 Euros each if you booked online. So I asked the receptionist on the day of departure if I could access the Internet. She said leave it too her and she would book the tickets for me and did so within minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Amazing hotel. Everything you need. Not too close to town centre (about 30+ min walk). Parking at the hotel is charged at €18 per day, but we found a free parking space at the side of the hotel. Clean modern rooms, luxury feel, we loved it so much we booked another night whilst staying at the hotel. Wi-fi was great.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#25 Business Hotel in Munich
#37 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.