We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Well Located for Oktoberfest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Grand Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Grand Central to your Saves list
Eurostars Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Well Located for Oktoberfest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Grand Central. The hotel is well located for Oktoberfest, approx. 10min walk. The nearest S Bahn station (Hackerbrucke) is just around the corner so you can easily get around the city. The hotel is approx. 20mins walk from the city centre.
The hotel is the most quiet hotel that I have ever stayed in. We heard no noise from outside or the room cleaners at any time which was great as I am a light sleeper.
The bar is OK but we were there for Oktoberfest so didn't spend long in the hotel bar.
The staff were very efficient & helpful. On arrival we asked for a couple of extra pillows as there were only two in the room. Extra pillows were brought to the room within an hour.
The bed is massive with loads of room for stretching out.
The only downside for us was that the hotel room & corridor smelled of smoke so it may have been used previously by smokers.
The swimming pool is small but we were the only people in at the time so this wasn't a problem for us
If you travel to the hotel via train then get off at the Hackerbrucke station & not the Hauptbanhof as we did. Hackerbrucke is 5 mins from the hotel. The Hauptbanhof station is over 15 mins walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    413
    75
    21
    9
See reviews for
146
348
48
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My two grown up sons and I decided to visit the Munich Oktoberfest and after reading the reviews, decided to stay at the Eurostars Grand Hotel.

Firstly it was easy to travel by train from the airport (S8 or S1) and cost Euro 10.40 each for a single (July 13). Bear in mind the automated ticket machines at Munich airport pay change out in 2 Euro pieces (well it did for us), so try to put just the right amount of notes in!

Exit at the Hackerbrucke station. Go up the stairs from the platform and follow the signs to Finanzamt/ Circus Krone and then turn to the left into Arnulfstrabe just 20 or so yards after the end of the metal bridge. On the left hand side you will see the hotel. 5 - 10 mins easy walk.

The hotel is in spotless condition and the suite we used just right for 3 of us. The service is great too. Probably one of the best hotels I've stayed in. The breakfast looked a little pricy (although I'd guess it would be very nice quality), so next morning we retraced our steps towards the station and you will see a shopping complex on your left near the station with Lidl as the anchor shop. There were several places to have breakfast there.

As for the Ocktoberfest, simply follow the walking crowd - it's an easy 15 min walk and the hotel is just far enough away not to be part of the (erm) madness of the festival! Far too many tourists drinking far too much, but a great atmosphere and we went back several times to enjoy the fun but not to drink in the big beer halls which seemed difficult to get into as they were so crowed - but it was the start of the festival. Keep your wallet safe as my son, who on one occasion was walking behind me, saw a character (did not appear to be a local!) check my jacket packet so fast you could hardly see his hand move - there was nothing in that pocket! Better to be forewarned!

Get a free city map from the hotel reception and walk to Marienplatz and the Victuals Market - the sights are fascinating and the street food in the market area was superb! We also spent our Sunday in the Englischer Garten with the German families - many in traditional dress, enjoying the day. Whilst there, we also enjoyed a beer in the beer garden by the Chinesischer Turm (Chinese Tower) - much more pleasant and authentic than the beer festival itself. When you buy a beer they give you a blue token which represents the deposit on the glass (a common approach) and when you have finished your drink you take the empty back with your token to get your deposit back.

A great few days and a great hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: We had a suite on the 3rd floor which was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed one night and found staff very friendly. The hotel is located a stones throw from Hackerbrucke station which is great if you intend to visit the Oktoberfest as well.

I stayed on the 5th floor and whilst I didn't get time to use the pool but the bedroom was excellent, clean with a floor to ceiling window providing a nice view over Munich. Wifi was free (as it should be) and had aircon that actually worked, so no stuffy room!

After a fitful nights sleep with no outside noise I felt ready for my meetings.

A good well priced hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location, pool was so refreshing, modern and clean rooms , the bed was really comfy and had ac and a decent view, sound proof windows so we slept with no problem, the bath tube was cool a d very died rent design , us as a couple loved it but I don't know if I would recommend it to other since it is very visible what's going on thru the glass, no complaints it was a pleasant stay , just the parking was over priced

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

While location seems a bit away from the main tourist areas, it's also right beside one of the best beer gardens in the city, which is good. Also near to the train station and the Munich beer fest grounds. There's a good bike rental in the central train station-bike rental really is the best way to get around the city in the summer. Once you have a bike, the hotel is a perfect location, as everywhere is a short bike ride away.
Breakfast is fantastic-great coffee, great selection of fruit and juices, (which are particularly good after an afternoon/evening/morning of Steins) as well as meats/breads etc.
Rooms are modern, quite stylish and beds very comfortable. free wifi.
Nice pool/jacuzzi combo on top floor. Nice sauna. Gym is a bit pathetic-no weights-just an exercise bike and a treadmill-you'd be better off renting a bike!
Very nice staff, particularly in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher probably better-busy-ish street outside, but I didn't notice any traffic noise. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Location is about a 25 minute walk to Marienplatz in the centre of the city, straight down a single road. Quicker by tram, but we braved the rain.

Good-sized room with comfortable bed and trendy black marble bathroom. Slightly strange that there was a frosted window between bedroom and bathroom (not, to be clear, the toilet, which was separate again) but very comfortable indeed.

Staff were friendly and helpful, extra pillows dropped into the room when requested, advice offered on the tram system and the best tickets, a request for late checkout no problem at all.

Breakfast spread was comprehensive and a free drink and snack ( a slice of baguette with one of a choice of toppings) on arrival was a nice touch.

Car parking under the hotel was very easy and relatively inexpensive, making it all very convenient. We'd stay here again very happily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just coming back from a long honeymoon in Europe, and this was one of the 10 hotels we stayed in while touring 7 countries. I have to say the biggest surprise of all the hotels we booked for this trip. It was our first time in Munich, location definitely not too difficult, make sure you get off the next stop on the Metro coming from the airport, not the Central station, otherwise the walk is quite long. Otherwise, 3 stops to the center of town. Nothing unmanageable. The hotel itself is excellent. looks like it was built yesterday! Very modern, super clean, rooms are large, well designed, with many extras. Pool, sauna, the staff is super friendly and helpful, breakfast is excellent. Cost was so low that I kept waiting for something wrong to happen, but it never did. Definitely by far the best money we spent on a hotel room the entire trip. We'll be staying there again and highly recommend it. The value is unbeatable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#35 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.