We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and close to the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Grand Central

Save Saved
You added Eurostars Grand Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 378 hotels in Munich
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location and close to the centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed one night and found staff very friendly. The hotel is located a stones throw from Hackerbrucke station which is great if you intend to visit the Oktoberfest as well.

I stayed on the 5th floor and whilst I didn't get time to use the pool but the bedroom was excellent, clean with a floor to ceiling window providing a nice view over Munich. Wifi was free (as it should be) and had aircon that actually worked, so no stuffy room!

After a fitful nights sleep with no outside noise I felt ready for my meetings.

A good well priced hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    373
    69
    21
    9
See reviews for
138
319
45
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location, pool was so refreshing, modern and clean rooms , the bed was really comfy and had ac and a decent view, sound proof windows so we slept with no problem, the bath tube was cool a d very died rent design , us as a couple loved it but I don't know if I would recommend it to other since it is very visible what's going on thru the glass, no complaints it was a pleasant stay , just the parking was over priced

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

While location seems a bit away from the main tourist areas, it's also right beside one of the best beer gardens in the city, which is good. Also near to the train station and the Munich beer fest grounds. There's a good bike rental in the central train station-bike rental really is the best way to get around the city in the summer. Once you have a bike, the hotel is a perfect location, as everywhere is a short bike ride away.
Breakfast is fantastic-great coffee, great selection of fruit and juices, (which are particularly good after an afternoon/evening/morning of Steins) as well as meats/breads etc.
Rooms are modern, quite stylish and beds very comfortable. free wifi.
Nice pool/jacuzzi combo on top floor. Nice sauna. Gym is a bit pathetic-no weights-just an exercise bike and a treadmill-you'd be better off renting a bike!
Very nice staff, particularly in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher probably better-busy-ish street outside, but I didn't notice any traffic noise. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Location is about a 25 minute walk to Marienplatz in the centre of the city, straight down a single road. Quicker by tram, but we braved the rain.

Good-sized room with comfortable bed and trendy black marble bathroom. Slightly strange that there was a frosted window between bedroom and bathroom (not, to be clear, the toilet, which was separate again) but very comfortable indeed.

Staff were friendly and helpful, extra pillows dropped into the room when requested, advice offered on the tram system and the best tickets, a request for late checkout no problem at all.

Breakfast spread was comprehensive and a free drink and snack ( a slice of baguette with one of a choice of toppings) on arrival was a nice touch.

Car parking under the hotel was very easy and relatively inexpensive, making it all very convenient. We'd stay here again very happily.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just coming back from a long honeymoon in Europe, and this was one of the 10 hotels we stayed in while touring 7 countries. I have to say the biggest surprise of all the hotels we booked for this trip. It was our first time in Munich, location definitely not too difficult, make sure you get off the next stop on the Metro coming from the airport, not the Central station, otherwise the walk is quite long. Otherwise, 3 stops to the center of town. Nothing unmanageable. The hotel itself is excellent. looks like it was built yesterday! Very modern, super clean, rooms are large, well designed, with many extras. Pool, sauna, the staff is super friendly and helpful, breakfast is excellent. Cost was so low that I kept waiting for something wrong to happen, but it never did. Definitely by far the best money we spent on a hotel room the entire trip. We'll be staying there again and highly recommend it. The value is unbeatable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Been to Munich for so many times and Munich used to have old traditional Europe type of hotels but there are so many trendy and modern hotels opened this 2 years and Eurostars Grand Central is one. Location wise, it's very good. Only 3 tram stops from Hauptbahnhof so you can go anywhere from there. The size of the room is ok. It's clean and the bathroom is big. The staffs there are very friendly and speaks English well. I have been to the swimming pool few times. It's a small pool and no life guard. However, it's good enough for you to get something to do when it's raining. The only problem for my whole stay is the key card. It doesn't work the first day when I was back. The front desk fixed that and it happened to me again on the 2nd day. Then the staff told me I should't put it next to any credit cards or mobile phone. I wonder why they don't tell me the first day. So NEVER put your key card inside your wallet!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is very modern in a way that is hard to explain. We had a huge triple room. It took us a little while to find it because the entrance was in the stairwell. The bathroom was really neat-black and red marble. Our shower was leaking onto the sink and getting everything wet. They fixed it immediately. The bedding was very comfortable. It is the only hotel I've been in in Europe that had a real king size bed-not two twins pushed together. The internet connection was great in the room and in the lobby as well. The room was clean other than the wood flooring throughout could have been mopped a little better. The staff was very friendly even if their English was limited.

They say it is about a 25 minute walk to town, but it took my son and me 20 minutes to walk back from the train station which is two subway stops away from the hotel-downtown is 4 stops. Munich's subway isn't as straightforward as most cities. The station is two blocks away from the hotel. If you use it, stay on the bridge, don't go under, take the staircase on the left down to the trains. After you figure out the ticket machine, if your back is to the staircase, go to the track to your right. All the trains that pass by go to the center. An adult day pass is 5.80 euros.

The hotel charges for parking, but we were always able to find free parking on the street right out in front.

As far as staying there, if you have a car and don't mind driving around the city, it's a great place, if not, you might want to be closer to town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#22 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#29 Business Hotel in Munich
#40 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.