We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel with excellent access to central Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Grand Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Grand Central to your Saves list
Eurostars Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Loango National Park, Gabon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good business hotel with excellent access to central Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Eurostars Grand Central on Arnulf Strasse is far enough away from the city centre to be quiet in the evening but has excellent tram and S Bahn connections the tram stop is on the street a couple of minutes from the front door, the S Bahn station (Hackerbrucker) is 2 stops from the Haupt Bahnhof and connection to all S and U Bahn lines in Munich, the Haupt Bahnhof is a 15 minute level walk from the hotel. The hotel is relatively new so therefore the rooms and facilities are still in prime condition, the rooms are clean but I found the housekeeping to be a bit patchy with the number of towels and bath robes changing daily and the resupply of shower gel etc placed in the sink! The hotel has a sauna, small gym and swimming pool on the top floor so relaxing after a busy day is possible
The breakfast buffet is very good and I would recommend going for a B&B rate as it is excellent value for money and the closest place to get a coffee and brotchen is round the corner at the Hackerbrucker S Bahn station. They do evening meals as well but who eats in a business hotel in a city like Munich and as the Augustiner Bier Keller with probably the best beer, huge portions and Octoberfest atmosphere is about a10 minute walk from the hotel it is a no brainer.
To be honest I was pretty much running out of options for a hotel in Munich when I booked the Eurostars Grand Central but having been once I would definitely stay there again, the staff are all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms are well sound proofed so even one facing the street is not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Major99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this hotel in April 2013 as it was the location for a work meeting.

I couldn't have asked for more
- quick and easy check-in, including being able to get into my room before 12pm after arriving from a transatlantic flight. Being able to clean up before heading out for the day was awesome.
- Great room - contemporary, clean, very comfortable bed
- Bathroom - ok, my least favorite thing about showers outside of the US... the love of the partial glass enclosure. Otherwise it was a great bath. Good water pressure in the shower head.
- TV included CNBC and CNN. Yay.
- Terrific breakfast - a nice balance of options to suit a European and American tastes (cheeses, meats, hard-boiled eggs for the former, scrambled eggs, bacon, pancakes, etc for the latter). Plus a great assortment of pastries, fruit etc.
- quiet rooms


As everyone notes - it's slightly outside the old part of the city centre, but it's ~10 mins by tram or s-bahn (including the walk). Very convenient.

My room faced the main road, but it did not interfere with my sleep at all.

Augustiner Keller is an awesome beer hall down the street. It's not like touristy hofbrau, it's a real destination for folks in Munich. We watched a Bayern football quarter final in the Champions league there and it was awesome. Check out the cellar if you go - it's pretty cool.

Room Tip: If you are an extremely light sleeper - request a room away from the main road. It did not bother me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdiddy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a good hotel, it is just outside the main business district of Munich. It is down the road from the main train station and the 17 tram which passes it every 10 minutes will take you directly into the heart of the city

We stayed in a triple room which was still spacious and the temporary bed was a good as the two other singles provided.

Room cleaning etc was very good and efficient, as was checkin, the complementary drink at the bar was a nice touch

Didnt eat there, so many other options in the city I doubt many guests here do

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holeinthehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

One nite stay early April after arriving in Munich.Helpful and efficient check in staff,clean and spacious room.5-10 min walk to S-Bahn station and just a couple of stops to Marienplatz.May be a little to far for those who want to be in the centre of the action,but is very easily accessible to same.No problems staying again or recommending others to do same

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Graeme D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I'm not quite sure what to say. The location wasn't bad but it wasn't great either. Pretty close to the outside beer garden we wanted to go to but not that close to downtown. Room wasn't ready when we got there. Wasn't the best front desk service. Rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmySpousechicagoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night while in Munich. Was a great place to stay. Location is good, very close to the train station, and only a short ride into Marienplatz. We had a triple room, which was surprisingly large. Rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. Parking is available, and didn't cost the earth. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. I would happily recommend this hotel and would stay again.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nettenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The employees were all very helpful and discrete. The breakfast buffet was excellent with a variety of options and even a live orchestra. Walking from the hotel to the city center would normally take about 20-25 minutes which is not so bad (depending on the weather). The main train station is only a few minutes away, which is really helpful if you are planning on visiting other places outside Munich.
In case you use a taxi, bear in mind that there is another Eurostars hotel in Munich so you have to mention the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anastasia1480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#30 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Munchen City Arnulfpark
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
0.6 mi away
Eden Hotel Wolff
Eden Hotel Wolff
#33 of 394 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#24 Business Hotel in Munich
#33 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing