We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous for a business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Grand Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Grand Central to your Saves list
Eurostars Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Generous for a business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A clean, modern, spacious and sleek hotel very close to the main station. Not in the most interesting part of town, but for a good quality business hotel it fits the bill nicely. Competitive rates and generally highly recommended. I prefer carpet on my floors, my the large shower made up for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    461
    82
    26
    9
See reviews for
167
380
52
190
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband & teenage son. Good size room, recently refurbished. Location not as central as I expected. Still close to a s-bahn stop & able to walk from main train station ( just a bit further than I expected). Staff helpful. We arrived early. Our room wasn't ready, but we left our bags while we went out to see the sites. Pool area looked good, but we didn't have time to use it. Good WiFi. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

First of all I must say we booked this at the last minute and felt cheated when the price we paid on booking.com for a room without breakfast was the same as the price on the official hotel website WITH breakfast... Will double-check next time.
The hotel is a 15-minute walk from Karlsplatz which is basically the center of the city. If you don't like walking back to the hotel after a long day of sightseeing and shopping (it always seemed like the walk in the evening was way longer than in the morning) just take the S Bahn which stops one block from the hotel.
The interiors are average, though our room impressed us with its design (just like in the photos), but there were minor slip-ups in maintenance: the bank by the bed was wobbly and there was something that looked like gum stuck on the glass door that led to the bathroom. During the six days we stayed the sheets weren't changed once which was surprising. The biggest inconvenience is the lack of closets/cabinets - we stayed a long time and had to keep our underwear etc. in the suitcase because there was only a tiny space with a bunch of hangers available.
The hotel staff was helpful at all times save for a 15-minute wait for a strudel at the restaurant. If, like us, you book a room without breakfast, you'll have to go to the Hauptbahnhof area to get something to eat. And there's a wonderful italian restaurant near the Hackerbruecke S Bahn station called Vapiano, we absolutely love the one in Vienna and the one we had dinner in while in Munich didn't disappoint.
The so-called "gym" is actually a small room with one treadmill and bicycle and a few dumbbells. The air is so stuffy, could only manage one visit( The sauna and swimming pool are a definite bonus though, especially on a cold rainy day.
On-site parking costs 18 euros per day, which is ok if you stay for a couple of days, otherwise i'd consider leaving your car at home))
Overall i believe if we'd booked in advance (and had it not been the New Year) we could have found a better deal for the amount of money we paid - i'm referring to the location of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard as the ones facing the road are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife an I stayed here for two nights in early January for a weekend break. Although we arrived at the hotel at midday we were able to check in without any problems. The lobby area is modern, spacious and clean, and all the front desk staff are smartly dressed but do come across as very solemn and serious.

Our room was great - plenty of space, a huge bed and a spacious bathroom. Because we were at the end of a corridor it was also very quiet during the night but it was located next to the storage room for the housekeeping trollies which meant that there was plenty of activity in there from an early hour. However, we both slept soundly and comfortably.

Breakfast here was excellent in terms of the variety and quantity of food available. Despite us going to the breakfast room relatively late on both mornings we enjoyed fresh juices, breads and pancakes with plenty of tea and coffee. There was even live music in the form of a cellist and violinist to gently ease us into the day.

The swimming pool is quite small and wasn't especially warm and the changing room is more of a broom cupboard, but you can always warm up in the sauna (warning to prudish Brits it is a naked sauna save for a towel to sit on!).

All in all this hotel proved to be exactly what we had expected and seen on the website. It's close to two trams stops and only 1km from the main railway station giving easy access to the city centre and the transport network. If they can just encourage their front desk and restaurant teams to look a bit happier in their work then they'll have an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which isn't adjacent to a housekeeping store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We walked to the hotel by chance after having to leave our previous hotel. The price on the Internet was much cheaper than the lady at the desk offered us. When we explained this she match the price straight away.

The standard room was large and modern and could not fault anything.

The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the town centre. There is a tram that stops out the front of the hotel that takes you straight there.

Great hotel!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 11th-13th January 2013 with my teenage son. First of all direction info: The hotel is based 2 minutes walk from the Hackerbruecke S Bahn stop. (Turn right when coming out of station and turn first left and it is just one block down on the left). All trains from Hackerbruecke will take you back to the main train station Hauptbahnhof and Marienplatz within minutes, so ideal to reach any S or U Bahn connection.

If coming from or going to the Airport, take the S1 or S8 (Takes approx 40 mins). Don’t even think of getting a taxi, the train and underground is just too easy to use and a lot cheaper. If you are in Munich for 2-3 days, I recommend getting a MVV City Tour card 3 Tagekarte Innerarum and if more than one of you, get the City Tour Card & Partner (which covers up to 5 people on the one ticket) and this will cost 31.90 Euros for a full 3 days and well worth it.

Regarding the hotel itself, it is very modern and clean with a swimming pool and sauna on the top floor. We stayed in a twin room, which was very spacious, TV with English news channels, good ventilation with wide opening windows, thermostat in order to heat the room to your liking and good lighting. The bathroom is very spacious with a separate door within leading to the toilet. I have read some comments on TA saying the doors to the bathroom are see through, so beware if of a shy nature. I can’t really understand this, they are glass doors but they are totally opaque and painted and you can’t see a thing through them, so if that has put you off, don’t let it, they are not see through doors! On the whole very stylish rooms with a well stocked mini bar. My only very slight complaint would be the rooms don’t seem to get cleaned till very late afternoon, so if you return at 3-4pm , your room may still not be done! Maybe we were just last on the list. Also on a Saturday night the restaurant was closed and the choice was room service or in the lounge (which was the same menu) I would recommend you probably avoid eating in the hotel, it is very expensive and not the best quality, however why would you when you have a plethora of great eating places one very short train stop away.

The surrounding area of Hackerbruecke has nothing of any sightseeing value, it really must be seen as a base rather than a place to visit. It does have a bierkeller on the nearby corner and there is a small shopping centre next to the station which has a very pleasant bar at the front, Pizza and kebab outlet, a DM (a large discount beauty/toiletry store), Lidl for a cheaper option to the mini bar snack stock up, a couple of nice bakeries and a general newsagent for sweets, magazines, tobacco and a few souvenir items.

This is a general hotel review so I won’t go into all the places to see and best eating places in Munich, but if anyone wants more info then I am more than happy to answer any messages. Munich is a totally delightful place to visit, so make the most of it and you will have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in transfer and the hotel itself was found to be new, clean, modern. So modern, in fact, that our double room only had coloured glass separating the shower from the bedroom... so make sure you're comfortable watching your partner shower in a red haze before you book :)

The hotel is in a convenient location next to a tram stop and within walking distance to the Augustiner Keller beer hall (which was completely full when we tried to eat there on a Tuesday night in December). It was however slightly further than first thought from the Hauptbahnhof. so if you do catch the s-bahn in to central station and decide to walk, when you walk far enough to think you must have gone past the hotel, just go one or two more blocks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#24 Family Hotel in Munich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#40 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.