We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base for getting around everywhere in Munich!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Grand Central

Save Saved
You added Eurostars Grand Central to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eurostars Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 382 hotels in Munich
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Perfect base for getting around everywhere in Munich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed in this hotel 11th-13th January 2013 with my teenage son. First of all direction info: The hotel is based 2 minutes walk from the Hackerbruecke S Bahn stop. (Turn right when coming out of station and turn first left and it is just one block down on the left). All trains from Hackerbruecke will take you back to the main train station Hauptbahnhof and Marienplatz within minutes, so ideal to reach any S or U Bahn connection.

If coming from or going to the Airport, take the S1 or S8 (Takes approx 40 mins). Don’t even think of getting a taxi, the train and underground is just too easy to use and a lot cheaper. If you are in Munich for 2-3 days, I recommend getting a MVV City Tour card 3 Tagekarte Innerarum and if more than one of you, get the City Tour Card & Partner (which covers up to 5 people on the one ticket) and this will cost 31.90 Euros for a full 3 days and well worth it.

Regarding the hotel itself, it is very modern and clean with a swimming pool and sauna on the top floor. We stayed in a twin room, which was very spacious, TV with English news channels, good ventilation with wide opening windows, thermostat in order to heat the room to your liking and good lighting. The bathroom is very spacious with a separate door within leading to the toilet. I have read some comments on TA saying the doors to the bathroom are see through, so beware if of a shy nature. I can’t really understand this, they are glass doors but they are totally opaque and painted and you can’t see a thing through them, so if that has put you off, don’t let it, they are not see through doors! On the whole very stylish rooms with a well stocked mini bar. My only very slight complaint would be the rooms don’t seem to get cleaned till very late afternoon, so if you return at 3-4pm , your room may still not be done! Maybe we were just last on the list. Also on a Saturday night the restaurant was closed and the choice was room service or in the lounge (which was the same menu) I would recommend you probably avoid eating in the hotel, it is very expensive and not the best quality, however why would you when you have a plethora of great eating places one very short train stop away.

The surrounding area of Hackerbruecke has nothing of any sightseeing value, it really must be seen as a base rather than a place to visit. It does have a bierkeller on the nearby corner and there is a small shopping centre next to the station which has a very pleasant bar at the front, Pizza and kebab outlet, a DM (a large discount beauty/toiletry store), Lidl for a cheaper option to the mini bar snack stock up, a couple of nice bakeries and a general newsagent for sweets, magazines, tobacco and a few souvenir items.

This is a general hotel review so I won’t go into all the places to see and best eating places in Munich, but if anyone wants more info then I am more than happy to answer any messages. Munich is a totally delightful place to visit, so make the most of it and you will have a wonderful time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    364
    67
    20
    9
See reviews for
136
312
45
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in transfer and the hotel itself was found to be new, clean, modern. So modern, in fact, that our double room only had coloured glass separating the shower from the bedroom... so make sure you're comfortable watching your partner shower in a red haze before you book :)

The hotel is in a convenient location next to a tram stop and within walking distance to the Augustiner Keller beer hall (which was completely full when we tried to eat there on a Tuesday night in December). It was however slightly further than first thought from the Hauptbahnhof. so if you do catch the s-bahn in to central station and decide to walk, when you walk far enough to think you must have gone past the hotel, just go one or two more blocks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinhedo, Brasil
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Good location hotel at Munich, very modern and comfortable rooms in the hotel, excellent breakfast with friendly staffs, the wellness area was a perfect time, with swimming pool in a quite ambient and good space to relax. Public parking area around the hotel are available for free payment, its was a good thing for me its because i like to be free to take in and out the car anytime, very good value for money its worth. I really recommend the hotel for anyone person who wants a nice stays at Munich.

Room Tip: Quite and comfortable rooms near to downtown city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We took an overnight train from Paris to Munich. We arrived early, around 7:30 am, and walked directly to the hotel. We walked into the hotel hoping they would hold our bags until check in time, which is around 3:00 (I think). They informed us that it would be no problem to hold our bags until check-in time. This made us extremely happy. We used their public facilities and on our way out of the hotel to sight-see the receptionist surprised us and informed us that she had a room ready for us. We were very surprised and very happy. The room was very large and comfortable. The bathroom had a tub and a heated towel rack. They supplied us with many general goods such as toothbrush (in case you didn't bring yours), soap, shaving kits and much more. We used the spa while at the hotel, which included a sauna and pool. The sauna was great, very hot, but great. The pool was busy but great. The spa added to our experience. The breakfast- wow- amazing. They had a coffee machine, it would make anything you wanted (cappuccino espresso, hot chocolate. ect). The breakfast was great, they had eggs, sausages, fruit, bread, cheese, cereal, bacon, hash browns, water (flat/sparkling), and a toaster.
The only downfall we experienced (which wasn't enough to decrease the star level) was the bar. We ordered food and drinks at the bar. The bartender did not know how to make their gin and tonic that they advertised on the table. It took a very long time to get, but once I received it was great.
Overall I recommend this hotel for its location (very close to the train station), service, and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metzingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went here with my wife for two nights. It is a fairly new hotel, very stylish and modern decorated. Staff very friendly and helpfull, hotel itself well taken care off, has its own parking garage (we did not get charged for it.... no idea why).
The swimming pool with whirlpool section is a very nice and clean place to hang out in the evening after a long day running around in Munich. Sauna we checked, but was overcrowded the evening we wanted to go there.

Hotel room itself was also very modern, clean and spacious. Had all the things you wanted, except a toiletbrush.....
Only slightly negative is the windows are not completely soundproof. Traffic of cars and trams is heared throughout the night. For light sleepers maybe annoying.

Breakfast we did not have. Evening cocktails are pricy (15 euro for Long Island Ice Tea), but mixed very nicely. Only needed one the whole everning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Friendly and efficient staff - nice enough smart, clean room, but you will hear the trams at night. Well placed for the Augustiner Bierkeller, as advertised, & only a short walk into the centre. VERY good value for money - rate included an opulent breakfast, a U-bahn ticket and even a voucher for a drink in the bar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is very modern, clean and well appointed. We travelled as a family of three and booked the triple room. It was quite cramped with a roll away bed and suitcases. If you are a family and staying only a couple of nights this is fine. However it would be frustrating for a longer stay. The set up feels more business focussed than family focussed.

Breakfasts were superb. Room cleaning was excellent. The staff were helpful and knowledgeable but in a very off hand manner (smiles were in short supply!). A map of the local Christmas markets was supplied which made our stay. Overall very good and would return as a couple or single traveller.

Room Tip: Triple room is small and if extra roll out bed required there is limited walking space between bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#25 Business Hotel in Munich
#37 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.