We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel, not too far from centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Grand Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Grand Central to your Saves list
Eurostars Grand Central
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good business hotel, not too far from centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very fresh and modern decor. Whole hotel looks crisp and clean. Bed was comfy. Free wifi. Breakfast choice excellent - I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg. Reception staff friendly and helpful with great English. Forgot to bring gym/swimsuit so didn't get a chance to use the facilities. Possibly a bit pricey if I was paying myself....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    485
    85
    28
    9
See reviews for
178
407
53
199
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

The eurostars grand central is a good choice if you want a comfortable hotel in a fairly quiet location within easy reach of the heart of Munich. The hotel is fairly new and is well equipped. Rooms are spacious with super king size comfortable beds and coffee/tea making facilities.
On the top floor is a small swimming pool and sauna which are open till late. The pool is adequate with loungers for relaxing by the side of it. The sauna is mixed but be aware, most users when I visited it were naked, so if you don't want to see people's private parts don't use it.
There is a tram station right outside the door which takes you direct into the town centre and hackerbrucke railway station is just around the corner less than five minutes walk way.(hackerbrucke station can be used to travel directly to the airport or main Munich station)
If you do not want to use public transport it is a 15-20 minute walk into town.
Staff spoke good English and reception staff were knowledgeable and helpful, the bar adjacent to reception was quiet and expensive, the staff there were slow. We were offered a free drink voucher at check in, we bought a beer and a gin and tonic which would have cost nearly 15 euros far too expensive, so we did not use the bar at the hotel again during our stay.
We caught a train from the main station in Munich to Salzburg Austria which took just two hours to get there and cost just 28 euros return for two adults, the public transport in Germany is excellent and I would recommend the use of it to explore further, Salzburg was well worth a day trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Comfortable beds, free wifi and very good breakfast are te strengths of this hotel.
Early morning check in was no problem at all.
Gym could be better equipped, they also have a pool, but did not test it.
Meeting room and meals in meeting center were also on good standard level.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Eurostars Grand Central is a good choice for travelers who don't mind being a bit away from the touristic heart of Munich - around a half hour walk to Marienplatz, for instance. Rooms are nice, although the semi-transparent glass wall separating the shower from the bedroom may not be to all tastes, except the most liberal. Housekeeping was erratic, at best, and requests often had to be made to replenish basic amenities, such as soap, facial tissues, etc. The hotel follows a strange policy with regard to laundry, namely, that the guest is required to physically bring it down to reception rather than simply leaving it on the bed as is the case almost everywhere. Breakfast was fine, although uneven from day-to-day, and the breakfast room staff seemed more interested in chatting among themselves than doing anything useful. On the positive side, the hotel is new, and so rooms are clean and in good order physically.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pros:
Nice, modern place. Spacious rooms, well equipped, including complementary coffee set. Nice indoor pool. Small, but well equipped gym.
Very good breakfast, with wide selection of food to choose from (bit disordered however, during 'rush hours', including lack of cutlery…).
Location OK, right on a Tram stop (lines 16 & 17) and "S" train station (Hackerbrücke stop). 3 stops from Munich central train station (Hauptbahnhof) and only 5-6 stops from city center and main attractions (Karlsplatz Stachus & Marienplatz). Very convenient. We stayed 3 nights, for Football match and used public transportation day in-day out all around the city, not being worried about parking issues.
Housekeeping and cleaning above average. We got all we asked for in short time. Also, asked for, and got high floor, in order to avoid street noise.
Cons:
Area is boring, business like, with no nearby places to dine or shop after dark (LIDL Supermarket, bakery and coffee shop opens daily in Hackerbrücke train station).
Bathroom's glass partition (between bathroom and bedroom) is annoying, not to say distorted! When bathroom lights are on, this transparent partition is nothing but a distraction for both, the person who uses the bathroom, and the person in the room.
We finally covered part of the glass with bed sheet.
Staff's attitude could be better. I've asked few question, looking for information but felt like being impatiently served.

Transportation Tip, for two persons or more that are traveling together: City Tour Card - 3 Day Partner Ticket for the entire network.

Room Tip: Stayed on the 5th floor (top) so got both, nice view and no street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great location, clean, good breakfast. Booked the room for two twin beds, and got one bed. Reception managed to change the room. The bathroom is enclosed by glass, so my son and I had to look the other way while showering.

Room Tip: See if you can get one not facing the Main Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

A group of eight from the United States and Italy met at the Eurostars Grand Central in September for Oktoberfest. We booked the hotel months in advance and were thrilled with the location, cleanliness, delicious buffet breakfast (18 euros each) and friendliness of the staff. One of the four rooms that we booked was for 3 persons. We expected little more than a roll away added to a standard room to accommodate 3 persons. We were delighted with our 3 person room # 118- a suite with a separate bedroom, a pull out sofa and 2 bathrooms!
The Eurostars Grand Central is easy walking distance to Oktoberfest and the downtown attractions and added significantly to enjoying Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.7 mi away
Eurostars Book Hotel
Eurostars Book Hotel
#29 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 775 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Hotel Muenchen City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Novotel Munich City
Novotel Munich City
#75 of 390 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Munchen Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eurostars Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Grand Central

Address: Arnulfstrasse 35, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#23 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#31 Family Hotel in Munich
#38 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 247
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Eurostars Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Central Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Grand Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.