We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay during Oktoberfeast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Am Sendlinger Tor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Am Sendlinger Tor to your Saves list
Am Sendlinger Tor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberanger 47, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #210 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay during Oktoberfeast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

During Oktoberfeast, the town is relatively busy and crowded. I was lucky to stayed at this hotel as it is just right next to the metro, All you need was just one stop to get to the Oktoberfeast venue. It is also the perfect location to walk around and explore the old town of Munich. The rooms are very small and the bathrooms too. Asians like me with small frame would find it easy to adjust otherwise you got to suffer a little. There is no security!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    76
    59
    11
    13
See reviews for
18
65
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very near to metro (1 min walking) and Marienplatz (10 mins walking). Shopping and restaurants are just nearby. The hotel is clean and quiet. It's very basic, but I'm satisfied. Please take note the hotel counter is not 24 X 7. It's one of the few hotel in my Europe trip that offered free Wi-fi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Basic hotel accommodations.. no frills. Decent location. Tiny tiny bathroom. Our shower drain was not working well at all but I imagine that could happen anywhere.
Beds were comfortable. Reasonable price. There is no restaurant or pool, just a small front desk area. Reception staff was not overly friendly.

Room Tip: No elevator.. choose a lower level if you're carrying luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've been only for one night. Close to Rathaus and Altstat. Very clean in hotel, good prise, nice personal. But there is no breakfast. If you want to take it need to go to cafe about 100 meters. Or eat everywhere you want. Its not a problem in city. For me only one minus you can hear you neighborhoods from another room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for three nights, while catching up with friends in Munich. The best thing about this hotel is its location!! And for that reason, and that reason only, I would stay here again. The price is not very high, and that is reflected in the rooms. Having said that, the staff are very hospitable, and did a whole washing machine worth of washing for me for only 5 euros.

The rooms themselves are very average, and the bathrooms in particular are rather cramped, and in some places in need of a bit of work. Other potential drawbacks include that they don't have a restaurant/eating facility on site, though this was not a big thing for me.

On the whole though, this was a pleasant stay, and I would consider staying here again.

ps - note that one of the drawbacks of being in town is that it is noisy at night!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel was booked over others in munich as it was a great deal cheaper than others in same location. It was basic with small bathroom but was ideal for our city break, hotel was in a short walking distance to public transport and the town centre. Although rooms were very basic they were warm which was much appreciated during our snowy stay! There was also a fridge which was useful. Overall I would stay here again if on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Am Sendlinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Sendlinger Tor

Address: Oberanger 47, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Sendlinger Tor 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
cityhotel-munich hotel am sendlinger tor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Am Sendlinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Sendlinger Tor Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Am Sendlinger Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.