We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and quite modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Save Saved
You added Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 382 hotels in Munich
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location, clean and quite modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If you are wanting a location close to the major train station and shopping district, this is the hotel for you as it is much cheaper than any nearby locations. The staff were very friendly and were happy to help with any eating recommendations, transport help or just for general directions. The rooms were average size, the only con was that the walls were not very thick and sound traveled quite easily, however after a long day of sightseeing there was no problem getting to sleep. The breakfast was not the best, but the cocktails in the lobby were delicious

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    422
    384
    69
    11
    4
See reviews for
93
400
88
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to Munich for Oktoberfest and stayed at Motel One for three nights. The location is great - right next to the Sendlinger Tor with quick access to the subway and walking distance to the Marienplatz and Oktoberfest grounds. The hotel was really nice and the people were great. The smoke alarm was a little bit sensitive - the steam from the shower set if off - but they were really nice about it and didn't try to accuse us of smoking in the room or anything. The breakfast each morning was included and really good. We were really happy with the hotel overall. Note: we were with a pre-paid tour, so I don't actually know what the nightly rate was, and I can't comment on whether it was a great value or not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is our first trip to Germany and we can’t speak German at all so we were not sure how long will take us to find this hotel although we have done our ground works. It turned out that based on the information we obtained from internet and the sufficient signage in the underground, the finding was as simple as ABC. The hotel is so well located that once you come out from the exit of Sendlinger Tor station (You need to look for Helzog-Wilhelm Street exit) and turn left, you will see the hotel at about 100 meters straight ahead. You don’t even need to cross a road! We stayed here for 5 days 4 nights and found it so convenient. Apart from close proximity to underground, it is also within walking distance to many eateries, shops and top attractions in Munich, such as Marienplatz (clock tower), Hofgarten, Englischer Garten etc… And the hotel looks new & modern as well. The room size is small but very clean, and it’s air-conditioned. The only thing we think that didn’t meet up with the German’s high standard of efficiency is the exhaust fan in the bathroom. You get the stuffy humid air that stayed in the bathroom for almost half-an-hour after the powerful hot shower. But well, this certainly is a small problem as the location, cleanliness and the price would have offset it. Overall, we find this hotel good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a package for Oktoberfest. If you decide to stay here, note that this "minimalist" hotel has small rooms (as compared to other cities in Germany) and no in-room phones, tissues, or closet. The walls are pretty thin, so getting a good night's sleep didn't happen for us during our 4-night stay. The location is good, though - close to Marienplatz and the Oktoberfest grounds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This modern hotel was exactly what we needed. An all inclusive breakfast that started off the day well, and was a perfect distance to the local transit station; which made traveling to Oktoberfest and the rest of the city so easy! The staff answered all of the questions we had and were extremely helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osakis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When we first found that our tour was booked here I did not know what to think. Motel One is a chain, but much to my surprise, it is excellent. The rooms are small by American standards but quite spacious by European standards. It was very clean, located very near the subway, and I can't think of anything negative. I loved the coffee machines in the breakfast/bar area as they provided many options. Very nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: It is on a quiet street so I suspect that any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel four times and have another couple of bookings in the not too distant future. It has a great location (easy to get to/from the airport via S Bahn, walking distance to the pedestrian mall and very close to Sendl.Tor U & S Bahn.
Rooms are very simple and functional. Also very clean. The breakfast is also very good and the staff very helpful. The location is not on a busy street, so the rooms are very quiet. There are also a lot of excellent restaurants very close by.

Room Tip: A room in the front is easy to request and have reasonable views of the city. Rooms in the back oft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#16 Family Hotel in Munich
#19 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#36 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.