We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice in the heart of Munich!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Save Saved
You added Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 382 hotels in Munich
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect choice in the heart of Munich!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at Motel one for 5 nights in June 2013 for my girlfriend's birthday.

The hotel is brand new and looks that way - not a hair out of place. The rooms, while small, are perfectly functional for what we wanted them for; somewhere to sleep, While they were a little on the tight side the sleeping quarters and bathroom were treated to wonderful interior design touches. The shower has two settings (rainfall and massage) both of which deliver the perfect hotel facility - unwavering water pressure.

The staff are all very nice. I speak German and did so checking in but I heard another member of staff talking to an American couple in perfect English.

The U-Bahn is right on the corner allowing you to get all the way from MUC airport to literally within 20 paces of the front door of the hotel - S8 to Marienplatz and then either the U3/U6 in the direction of Sendlinger Tor.

Most of Munich's sights are reachable by foot with places such as Marienplatz and the Viktualienmarkt being less than 5 minutes walk away.

The only minus points that I can think of are that the air conditioning isn't very good so the room became very hot and stuffy (even with the window open) making sleep a little difficult. Secondly, there isn't a water/drinks machine on any floor (that I could find at least) making the heat in the room a little more uncomfortable. And thirdly that the modern, flat screen TVs don't have a USB input so that you can watch movies etc, I always carry a flash key with movies on it. The only English language channels are all rolling news which gets a little depressing after a while. This is not a big deal if you, like us, are not travelling with kids but I could see little terrors getting bored quickly otherwise.

These gripes aside, this is a wonderful hotel in a prime location at a great price.

Room Tip: If you email before your arrival requesting a room on a higher floor it'll cut down on noise lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    417
    384
    68
    11
    4
See reviews for
92
397
88
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was recommended to us by some German friends. We were not disappointed. The room was small by American standards, but it was was not a problem. The buffet breakfast was one of the better ones we had during our three weeks in Europe. The location is great. The U-Bahn station was about as close as you can get, plus it's a not a bad walk down to the center of action in Munich. But, the thing that moved this hotel to the excellent rating for us was the help we got when we misplaced our passports. The housekeeping manager personally got involved in helping us with the search, and he went above and beyond the call of duty. He not only helped us with the search, he was most kind and understanding in helping us deal with the trauma involved. When it seemed we were going to have to stay over several days to get new temporary passports, he worked with the front desk staff to extend us in the same room. He even gave us his personal cell phone number so if we needed any assistance during his upcoming day off. We could not have been treated any better. Finally we located our passports (that's another story) so we did not have to extend our stay after all. We had prepaid three days ahead thinking we had to stay, but when the passports were found, they refunded those three days with no hassle whatsoever. If my wife and I ever return to Munich, this will absolutely be our hotel of choice!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Sendlinger Tor is a brilliant location. Marienplatz is a short walk down a main shopping street, or there's a U-Bahn station right at the gate. The Motel One is set back slightly from the main thoroughfare, and was very quiet for the two nights we were there. Staff at reception were very friendly, and checking in and out was a nice smooth process.

Our room was on the 7th floor, with a great view out over the old area of Munich. The floor to ceiling window was a very nice feature. The room itself was small, and the bathroom tiny - not really enough room to change in. It was clean, comfortable, and nicely furnished, though the bed was a bit harder than I would prefer.

There were a few things missing that you tend to take for granted in hotels, but nothing that really had any impact for us. Things like tissues and hand soap were surprising, but not a problem. A fridge would have been nice, but as we weren't staying long we didn't have a great need for it.

We didn't book breakfast, and were glad when we saw the crowd in the morning. There are actually signs warning that there might be a wait for a table at breakfast, and it looked like the warning is necessary. In fact, the worst thing about this hotel might be that they aren't fully equipped to cope with the demand they get. Getting the elevator down from the 7th floor it almost always stopped at every single floor, and often guests on lower floors just couldn't fit. Make sure you allow a few minutes extra for leaving the building, or maybe just find the stairs.

This is a hotel which does some things very well and other things not at all. Sometimes it might be nice to have the other things, but if cutting back those areas is how they maintain such high standards overall then I'm more than happy to bring my own toiletries. I would definitely come back for a short stay. For a longer stay I'd have to start weighing the importance of room to stretch my legs and a fresh cup of tea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

First time I stayed at Motel One. We have stayed at a number of top rated hotels when on vacation. When we have been disappointed it has been mostly at the mid tier hotels. Many miss and hit types in that category. So we decided to try this budget hotel. Heck of a deal. Yes, the rooms are small but comfortable, bath room also is small but clean and functional. This is a great location in Munich, walking distance to the major sites and close to restaurants. I got to say it, wonderful, well trained staff. What more do you need? Book early, they sell out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As most people say, great location - easy to get to/from airport with u-bahn barely 2 mins walk. "Posh" premier inn type feel - room on the cosier side, but fine for a long weekend - after all you're not there for the decor. Nice continental style buffet breakfast was included in the price. Staff all friendly and as usual pretty much every German person we spoke to on our trip spoke English.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for 3 night in Motel one in May and had a lovely stay, rooms compact, but clean, bright and modern - rooms very quite - breakfast continental, always busy, but lovely fresh, good quality food -staff very friendly - location excellent - try the Italian restaurant across the road, Osteria I think the name was and also Kennedys Bar good for a pint - always busy - would definitely stay here again on a trip to Munich. We continued onto Salzburg from Munich, just to note certain DB train tickets are discounted and may not be valid for the fast train, worth checking this out!

Room Tip: The superior room with breakfast which includes wifi is worth getting
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Motel One offers a lot for a very reasonable price - a great location, nice lobby, and clean, modern rooms.

Front desk service was fine, and the breakfast was also for good for the price. It can be a little busy, but there was always a place to sit every morning, and no waiting at the buffet counter. The breakfast staff were a bit brusque though, butting in front of guests to resupply the counter.

WiFi was fine and I used the same log-in every day for the four nights we were there last week. The rooms are not large, but in this regard, one has to consider the price paid for the room.

I'm tall, so I set the shower at the height I prefer. The cleaning staff moved it down everyday. I'm not sure why they didn't just leave it; however, that said, the bathroom itself is quite nice.

Motel One is within walking distance of the train station (including the airport bus) and just about everything you want to see in Munich. I would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in Munich again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#18 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
#19 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#33 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.