We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“modern design hotel, at an affordable price and with great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor to your Saves list
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Kempten, Germany
Level Contributor
207 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“modern design hotel, at an affordable price and with great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is still inside the old town area of Munich, one stop away from the Hauptbahnhof (main train station) with the underground. Although the rooms are small, there are very comfortable and with simple but very nice design. The lobby area is very nice and spacious with lots of sitting places and a bar area. The breakfast buffet is also very good and at 99 euros with breakfast included, this hotel is a great value! definitely recommend it, and will surely try other hotels from this affordable design-hotel chain.

Room Tip: try to select rooms on the higher floors and further away from the elevators so that they are quiete...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smashing79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Nice, clean, new hotel however nothing special and over priced!!
Rooms are EXTREMELY SMALL!!!! There is no soap in the bathroom so if you want to wash your hands you have to buy one.
We have booked a room with queen size bed however we got a room with 2single bed which been put together!!!

Breakfast is nice and delicious with big selection however there is no breakfast room!! You have to eat next to the reception at the entrance door or in the hall which is a bar during the evening! Very uncomfortable and unfriendly!!

In overall I have no idea why this hotel got award from trip-advisor or why at the moment on the 16th from the 389 hotel in Munich as it has small rooms and expensive.

Room Tip: Street side rooms has a nice view if you are above the 6th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Basic accommodation. Rooms very small. Bathroom modern. Basic breakfast but enough to keep you going. 10 min walk to marienplatz so location very good. Irish bar on corner of street 2 mins away- good atmosphere and food. Great value in munich.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crndfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We picked Motel One because of its location near the Old City. From the main train station it was just one stop away by U-bahn # 1 or 2 to the Sendlinger Tor station, and then a 5-minute walk to the hotel. The interior is bright and modern and the staff are cheerful and efficient. The room, as expected in a city hotel, is small but well-designed. We were able to walk to the historic buildings in and around Marien Platz and the shopping streets. Fast food eateries and supermarkets are located underground at the Sendling Tor and Karl Tor stations. Across the hotel is a Japanese/Chinese takeaway and a gas station which sells snacks, fruit and bottled water. There are also fruit stalls in the Karl Platz area. A tram stop is nearby and #17 will take you to the Nymphenburg Complex and #27 to the Museum District. Breakfast is a generous buffet. The only negative is the poor wifi network. We will stay at Motel One again on our next visit to Munich.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is great value for money, has a really modern feel and was very comfortable. If you aren't familiar with the Motel One brand, it is very much like the Ibis brand in terms of standard.

The room was comfortable, the flat screen TV on the wall had a screen saver that looked like a log fire, a great effect for a cold winters night!

The hotel has free Wi-Fi if you take breakfast and the signal was very strong throughout the hotel.

Breakfast was served in the lobby/bar area. There was a good selection of cold food - breads, cereals, cheeses, cold meats. There were boiled eggs but no other hot food. The breakfast area was quite crowded but the clearing of tables was very efficient. At the weekend a sign appeared in the lift warning visitors of peak breakfast time of 9am to 10am. However, the seating is very informal, a mixture of stools and comfy chairs so it is easy enough to sit with strangers without feeling too intrusive.

The hotel is about 200m from Sendlinger Tor U-Bahn station and less than 10 mins walk to Marienplatz. I visit Munich frequently and will start staying here in future as it's a much nicer area than the hotels around the train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a great hotel with all the basics in a modern, comfortable, and clean setting.

It has everything you need - mod cons and is stylish and well worth the price.

There is parking available and a cold style breakfast which is very nice. There is also a nice 24hr bar/lounge.

Great value for money.

Perfect location too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights December 2012. We were given a room on the ground floor close to the lounge/breakfast area. The room was pleasant, clean and comfortable and we slept well both nights. The hotel breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and great value for money. Staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful and my only criticism would be the wifi was not working. The hotel's in a great location and I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Hotel Blauer Bock
Hotel Blauer Bock
#28 of 394 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#7 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Motel One Muenchen City Sued
0.1 mi away
Exquisit Hotel
Exquisit Hotel
#74 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#16 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#22 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#22 Business Hotel in Munich
#24 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing