We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel in best area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor to your Saves list
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel in best area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in November. Right by the U bahn station and in the best and most convenient area. Right near the centre. The hotel / motel is funky with turquoise chairs. The large Christmas tree had b rown and turquoise baubles and looked stunning. Very clean with friendly helpful staff. Rooms are not enormous but how long are you thinking of spending in it. Very clean. I would not hesitate to return if we visit Munich again. Lovely city and can highly recommend. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    422
    78
    12
    5
See reviews for
101
442
90
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The best quality/price ratio. Spacious room, extremely clean, very good design, well placed. The bar is also very beautiful, although I would prefer a larger choice of dishes. My tip: when you want to go to the city center turn immediately left, walk across the river, cross the bridge.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was a bit nervous about what the hotel would be like having read some of the reviews and not experiencing Motel One before.

There are positives and negatives to every stay but overall, I was very pleased with this hotel and would definitely consider staying at a Motel One again.

Positives:

1. Hotel location was great - literally steps from a main U-bahn station and only 8-10 minutes walk from Marienplatz (down one straight road).

2. Breakfast was a very good continental spread and great value for money - constantly being replenished and a nice area to sit in.

3. Hotel staff were nice - especially one lady on reception who was always very happy, helpful etc.

4. The cleanliness and temperature of the room was great - nice and toasty with our own stat.

5. The shower was lovely - good pressure and hot water within seconds.

Negatives:

1. The WiFi really is quite annoying. You get a code which is either valid for the duration of your stay (my boyfriend used this one), or for another device you have to get a daily code from reception. Neither of these are major problems, but the way that the WiFi network has been set up means that you keep having to log on with the codes every time you leave the hotel and come back. Sometimes even if you haven't left the hotel, the network chucks you off and you can spend up to 10 minutes trying to reconnect again.

2. Sometimes a long wait at the bar - on a couple of occasions which was a little annoying (a very pleasant chap when I was served though).

3. We asked for a double room, and whilst it wasn't a massive problems having two beds pushed together, I would have preferred to have had one duvet (very strange that we had one each!).

4. Not masses of storage in the bedroom - BUT, we were only there for a long weekend so this caused us no problems at all.

Overall it was good staying at the hotel and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room on a higher floor you can get lovely views over the square in front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Went for a weekend Christmas shopping and sightseeing as a warm up for Christmas. With a wife that likes 5***** hotels it was a bit of a battle for us 3 others to get her to go potentially downmarket to a motel.......from walking through the front door I'm pleased to report that it exceeded all her expectations, the welcome was friendly, the reception and bar were full of atmosphere and the roaring fire on the huge tv screen created the winter wonderland we were all hoping for.
The rooms whilst compact were plenty large enough to walk round and with desk and small sofa chair was perfect for a weekend trip. The bathroom was spotless...her biggest fear... And English news on the tv.
Didn't bother with wifi so cannot comment but think it's available, but not much wifi anywhere so be prepared for roaming charges if you need the Internet.
Location was great with a small Xmas market less than 50mtrs away, and a 10mins walk to marianplatz, 7euro taxis back from most places in town so not expensive for 4 after a night out.
Breakfast at 7.5€ is well worth the money ( pay on the morning) so that you can choose to stay in or go out. Fruit, bread, eggs, cheese, ham , jams etc etc, proper German continental breakfast with unlimited coffee, juices and hot chocolate.

Can't recommend this place high enough for a weekend break, exceptionally clean, great location, friendly staff, good rooms and great prices.

Get a cheap flight this week book yourself in here and enjoy this fantastic city whilst the Christmas markets are in full swing.we spent about £150pp for return flights and 2 nights from Manchester, absolute bargain, don't miss it as its made our Christmas already.



Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loved this place! Motel One is my new hotel of choice in Europe! It's funky, modern, clean, always in a good and central location for a good price. Highly recommended for simple, affordable travel. I

don't have expectations for luxury for a more budget hotel chain like this one but a fluffy comforter would definitely add to the sleep experience and enhance the overall experience that is already great.

Room Tip: High floor with a view of the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Took a chance on staying in Motel One without a word of mouth referral and happily it paid off.

The hotels gives you the same vibe you get flipping through the Ikea catalogue - clean lines, neatly styled, bright colours, everything multipurpose. And dogs were welcome all over the hotel which was actually very nice.

The staff were friendly and spoke English which was helpful as I hadn't been to Germany in 15 years so my basic German was very rusty.

My only complaint is a complaint I had for all the hotels I stayed in in Germany regarding the pillows. Not used to these large oversize pillows with little filling. Made for a few restless nights.

Location wise the hotel is perfectly situated sitting on a small square lined with restaurants and shops at the Sendlinger Tor Ubahn stop. My only complaint which was no fault of the hotel was getting lost after coming off the subway because it was a little dark but I eventually got my bearings. In the morning, I realized the hotel sits at the top of the Sendlinger Strasse which is a long shopping street that eventually gets you to the centre of Munich at the Marienplatz.

I ended up booking a room at the Motel One in Stuttgart and would happily return to either.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is just a few minutes away from the Sendlinger Tor underground station and is fairly central to most attractions by foot. It was a good price for its location.
A stylish, modern and comfortable hotel with small but practical rooms. Breakfast was an extra cost which we didn't get but in hindsight it would have been a good idea as you get free wifi with it. However we found a nice cafe close by which was cheap and tasty.
We plan to return to Munich as we enjoyed it so much and we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#20 Family Hotel in Munich
#31 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.