We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor to your Saves list
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Loved this place! Motel One is my new hotel of choice in Europe! It's funky, modern, clean, always in a good and central location for a good price. Highly recommended for simple, affordable travel. I

don't have expectations for luxury for a more budget hotel chain like this one but a fluffy comforter would definitely add to the sleep experience and enhance the overall experience that is already great.

Room Tip: High floor with a view of the old town
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    451
    84
    12
    6
See reviews for
105
467
92
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Took a chance on staying in Motel One without a word of mouth referral and happily it paid off.

The hotels gives you the same vibe you get flipping through the Ikea catalogue - clean lines, neatly styled, bright colours, everything multipurpose. And dogs were welcome all over the hotel which was actually very nice.

The staff were friendly and spoke English which was helpful as I hadn't been to Germany in 15 years so my basic German was very rusty.

My only complaint is a complaint I had for all the hotels I stayed in in Germany regarding the pillows. Not used to these large oversize pillows with little filling. Made for a few restless nights.

Location wise the hotel is perfectly situated sitting on a small square lined with restaurants and shops at the Sendlinger Tor Ubahn stop. My only complaint which was no fault of the hotel was getting lost after coming off the subway because it was a little dark but I eventually got my bearings. In the morning, I realized the hotel sits at the top of the Sendlinger Strasse which is a long shopping street that eventually gets you to the centre of Munich at the Marienplatz.

I ended up booking a room at the Motel One in Stuttgart and would happily return to either.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is just a few minutes away from the Sendlinger Tor underground station and is fairly central to most attractions by foot. It was a good price for its location.
A stylish, modern and comfortable hotel with small but practical rooms. Breakfast was an extra cost which we didn't get but in hindsight it would have been a good idea as you get free wifi with it. However we found a nice cafe close by which was cheap and tasty.
We plan to return to Munich as we enjoyed it so much and we would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was my second stay at a Motel One and as expected everything was just perfect.

The room offered a decent size and a comfortable mattress for a good night sleep as well the breakfast offering plenty of choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Found this hotel to be absolutely excellent. It was uber convenient - a short half min walk from the Sendlingor Station (One stop away from Munich Central station) and 5 mins away from where the main shopping streets are, Marianplatz, bar areas and St Peter's Church. The room is small but still liveable, spotlessly clean and comes with WiFi! - and for the amount you pay for this place is really value for your money. For our Europe trip we were able to save money by going to this place and still get an excellent and convenient place to stay, so that we could splurge for nicer places in other cities. This has got to be the best motel I think I will ever stay in - and in the condition it is in - its either quite new or they've refurbished it really well. The only minor thing was that the walls are a little thin - so you can hear people in the morning as they leave their rooms around 8 - 9am but that wasn't a problem for us as we were up early also to explore the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Although my single room was a little on the small side, it was more than fine given the convenience and location of the hotel. It's right next to a U-bahn stop, a short walk to Oktoberfest and right next to Munich Old Town and all the attractions.

The price, especially during Oktoberfest, was very reasonable considering the location. Breakfast spread was reasonably priced and had an ok selection, but if you purchase it, it comes with the added bonus of in-room wireless.

I highly recommend this hotel for anyone who's traveling to Munich and looking for a decent hotel in a prime location for a reasonable price

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked a double room (with breakfast) for a week at this hotel based on the reviews of other travellers on TA and was certainly very satisfied with the stay.

The location of the hotel, being only steps away from the Sendlinger Tor U-bahn station, was one of the reasons for me staying here. However, coming off the Munich subway, I initially had difficulty finding the hotel as I had gotten myself on the wrong side of the street and my view of the hotel was blocked by a small park. Nevertheless, being one stop away from both Marienplastz and Hauptbanhof stations made connecting to all parts of the city (and beyond) extremely easy and convenient.

When I tried to check in, my room was not ready but this was unsurprising as it was only 8.00 am on a Saturday morning, the hotel was full, and departing guests had not yet checked out. Despite being very busy, the reception staff were very helpful in pre-checking me in and providing directions and ideas for a Saturday morning stroll.

I found my room was small and simple but adequate - comfortable bed, LCD television, easy chair, small table and stool, and shelves for personal belongings. There was no phone in the room but this wasn't a problem. However, the carpeting in one corner of the room had a fairly strong odour - kind of like wet, dirty socks that hadn't dried properly. The housekeeping staff had also left behind a plastic bucket with a small amount of what seemed like disinfectant fluid behind. I never found out if the fluid was there to mask the smell of the carpet but the bucket disappeared the next day after the room was cleaned. There was airconditioning but no heater in the room - in October, I found that shutting off the airconditioning and leaving the window slightly ajar made the room temperature quite comfortable...except on the Friday night when weekend revellers in the park made it rather noisy.

Breakfast was served from 7.00 am daily and was a continental buffet with juices, cereal, tasty breads, hard-boiled eggs, cold meats, coffee/tea. While seating was generally easy to find, the breakfast room did fill very quickly and could be full by 7.45-8.00 am. The hotel did not appear to mind that the easy chairs facing the reception could also be used by guests having breakfast. There were some eateries within walking distance of the hotel where lunch and dinner could be found but more options were always available a short subway ride away.

Some reviewers have noted that the wifi connection in the hotel wasn't constant. This was largely true for me as well with connection being rather unpredicatble - at times, I was able to stay on for up to 45 mins but at other times, I was disconnected after only 10-15 seconds.

Despite the shortfalls, I found this hotel to be excellent value. It's a very good 3-star hotel and tries hard to please. For the price I paid and its very conveient location, I would not hesitate to come back here on a return trip.

Room Tip: If possible, come down before 7.30 am for breakfast to avoid the crowd
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Address: Herzog-Wilhelm-Str. 28, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#23 Family Hotel in Munich
#29 Best Value Hotel in Munich
#30 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor Hotel Munich
Motel 1 Muenchen-Sendl. Tor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Muenchen-Sendl. Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.