We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic atmosphere, fantastic food and fantastic staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rusticana

Rusticana
Grillparzerstr. 5, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 4703887
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #31 of 2,629 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $11 - $69
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere, fantastic food and fantastic staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Once again we visited the Rusticana whilst on a business trip. It is a trip I particularly look forward to because of our visit to the Rusticana. The ribs are superb and eating there is a fantastic experience. Special thanks to Tatja for 'putting up' with us!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    119
    38
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KL
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best ribs ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

It was very hard to get a table, but the ribs were worth the effort. I had the best ribs of my life there. Although we had to sit by the bar, right next to the grill (and we ended up smelling like our dinner), the food made it all worth the while. Location wise, it is not exactly in the tourist hub, but it is not difficult to get there and trust me, it is well worth the effort. The ribs are even better than the best I've had in the US.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have tried to book a table here a few time with no joy, but last night we decided to drop by on the way home and see if we could grab a table- after all its Wednesday night it was cold and the snow was high so it wouldn't be that busy would it? How wrong we were it was packed!!! We were very lucky though as with a little shuffling from other customers we were able to squeeze in at the bar.

We decided to order the ribs and a jacket potato each and WOW ……… The ribs were wonderful, straight from the grill behind the bar, they were hot and really tasty, the meat almost falling off the bone – and the potato with sour cream was good too although I only managed half of it before I was full. We even had some ribs left over which they kindly wrapped for us to take home. So tonight we can enjoy them all over again.

This place is never going to be somewhere you can enjoy and nice, quiet, romantic meal (it's a small restaurant and so just far too busy for that) but I do know that this place is definitely going to be one of our favourite haunts and if we can't get a table at least we know we can order and collect a take-out :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent BBQ ribs in Germany? Yes, indeed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stumbled across this restaurant by wandering left out the door from the Marriott Residence Inn. Was pleasantly surprised to get a couple of seats at a communal table because the place was packed. Ordered the ribs and a salad. I think these were the best ribs I have ever eaten. What a surprise. Weissbier was good too.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metzingen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just came back from the best Munich Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This restaurant is a must! We selected it based on the experiences here on Tripadvisor and it was very well worth the visit! It is a smaller restaurant, cosy atmosphere and good staff. The food (Ribs and a steak) were absolutely great and the value for our money was the best we had so far in Munich.

Only advice, the reservation is a must! The place was packed!

We will go back here again!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusticana also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Rusticana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusticana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.