We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming and delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le BARESTOVINO

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Le BARESTOVINO
Thierschstr. 35, 80538 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 23708355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 2,695 restaurants in Munich
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“charming and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a wonderful European restaurant, with a French flavor, in the heart of Munich. This is where modern adult Europeans who appreciate a delightful, leisurely meal spend an evening. Not for children. The chef was willing to make substitutions on the fixed price menu and then select accompanying glasses of wine that completmented each course. All reasonably priced for the wonderful quality and freshness. There is a nice bar area in the front for a drink and a patio open in good weather. The food was excellent--don't expect a schnitzel! Take the tram #18 from in front of the train station and step off at Mariannen Platz. The restaurant is 1/2 block further along on the left.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    22
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We found Barestovino through Guide Rouge, and it was a real treat. Beautiful interior - classic and modern at the same time - and delicious food. The beurre blanc sauce we got with the sole was one of the best I have tasted. Friendly and knowledgeable service. Good wine suggestions with the food. Can highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner in stylish French restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Already when entering you got a good feel for this place, which we selected because of previous good reviews and we were very satisfied with our choice. This restaurant was definitely on par with very good restaurants in France. We had the 3 course menu including selected wines for each course, which was all excellent, especially the lamb as main course. Service was also professional and we had a great evening. Although prices were on the high side, we found it reasonable considering the quality. Strongly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very nice French food, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I ate here for the first time on advice from a friend and I have to say I was not disappointed. Very nice adventurous French food accompanied by good French wines. I was really amazed by the friendly and efficient service. I will certainly return next time I'm in Munich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
382 helpful votes 382 helpful votes
“Strategically in Lehel, cool wine cellar, convincing cooking, smart service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is on my daily way home, as such i walked by for months without entering, as its completely un pretentious.
We went on an average Wednesday, cooking was very good, i liked the risotto, wine is at the core of the place, great selection, prices a bit high on the higher side.
WineCellar is a cool place to party if you have a group of 12 or 14.

strongly recommend.

Joel is a nice guy, knows his way in french cooking and treated us with respect.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le BARESTOVINO also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Le BARESTOVINO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le BARESTOVINO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.