We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogenhaeuser Hof

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bogenhaeuser Hof
Ismaninger Str. 85, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 985586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #129 of 2,845 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Winner of the 2008 Munich Restaurant of the Year Award, the cosy atmosphere of a country house is what greets you upon your visit to the Bogenhauser Hof in Munich. However, if all you are expecting is Wiener Schnitzel and chips, prepare to be pleasantly surprised. In their well-established restaurant, Susanne and Gerhard Gleinser have focused on diverse international cooking of the highest order, all available from a menu that is creative and eclectic. You can dine in the elegant dining areas of the restaurant or under the chestnut tree in the garden, whilst private parties of 6 to 30 people can be hosted in various private rooms. For these particular occasions, the restaurant offers a special menu with plenty to suggest.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Went there for a business dinner so we had a private room. Good atmosphere, staff all friendly, helpful, charming and spoke English. Lovely food, particularly seafood choices, good wine list. OK it's not cheap but in general you get what you pay for and for the quality of the place in all aspects it's actually good value

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island City
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you are ready to pay for the experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Great service, beautiful setting, but it comes at a hefty price, €70 or much more.

We had a delicious German red wine, impressive, and a similarly delicious blood sausage starter. That's the good part.

However the entrees were bland, overcooked greasy arctic char and a bland veal dish. The waitress topped up our water glasses and took away the bottle of water although there was still a bit of water left in it, then she asked us if we would order another one. Very unpleasant.

We then decided to skip the dessert and pay our high bill, and thought that this place may be nice sometimes but our recommendation if you stay in munich for a few days: don'r aplurge on dinner here, you will be happier with a simpler, cheaper meal and it will be as good. Now the wine...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner at Bogenhauser Hof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A business associate took my friend and I here to dinner. He is a local and said it is one of his favorite restaurants. Because the weather was exceptionally nice while we were there we were able to dine outside in their lovely outdoor dining space.
We started with a peach champagne cocktail which was lovely.
We all enjoyed a shrimp appetizer. A Sancerre to drink with dinner, I ordered a fish called Breton Angler which was very very good. Reminded me of monkfish somewhat.
Then we all had a dessert which featured cherries with walnut ice cream....and some kind of dessert wine. Just a fabulous meal overall. Service was excellent as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My first impression of this restaurant as the taxi dropped us off in front was "this is going to be great!"
It is such a charming country house. You walk through a garden to get to the door, it was raining so the outside tables were stacked up.
The inside was nice with lace curtains on the windows.
It started out great, the server was very attentive and drinks and wine and appetizers arrived promptly.
As the restaurant started filling up, our service took a nose- dive. We ended up being there for 3 1/2 hours which we were first in and amongst last to leave which we were not happy about. We were the only American tourists there, it was filling up with locals and business men, who obviously took precedence over us.
The wait between courses was long, we were pouring our own wine, service became terrible.
Food was good but not great. This is an expensive restaurant. Yes we are on vacation and not in a hurry to go anywhere but it was painful to our backsides to sit there as prisoners of the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“A great taste of classic Munich in an old world setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had dinner with friends at Bogenhauser and it was a treat. The location was picked by locals who know quality, and for a great German meal in a classic but casual setting, this restaurant delivers.

The menu has a selection of game dishes along with fish selections The wine list is clever and the desserts were full force! If you want to get off the beaten path a bit for a fine dinner in a relaxed setting, this is the place. If the weather cooperates, sit outside. If its chilly out, tuck into the cost interior. A hidden gem!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogenhaeuser Hof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bogenhaeuser Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogenhaeuser Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.