We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous dinner at Bogenhauser Hof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogenhaeuser Hof

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bogenhaeuser Hof
Ismaninger Str. 85, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 985586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 2,852 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Winner of the 2008 Munich Restaurant of the Year Award, the cosy atmosphere of a country house is what greets you upon your visit to the Bogenhauser Hof in Munich. However, if all you are expecting is Wiener Schnitzel and chips, prepare to be pleasantly surprised. In their well-established restaurant, Susanne and Gerhard Gleinser have focused on diverse international cooking of the highest order, all available from a menu that is creative and eclectic. You can dine in the elegant dining areas of the restaurant or under the chestnut tree in the garden, whilst private parties of 6 to 30 people can be hosted in various private rooms. For these particular occasions, the restaurant offers a special menu with plenty to suggest.
Clarendon Hills
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner at Bogenhauser Hof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A business associate took my friend and I here to dinner. He is a local and said it is one of his favorite restaurants. Because the weather was exceptionally nice while we were there we were able to dine outside in their lovely outdoor dining space.
We started with a peach champagne cocktail which was lovely.
We all enjoyed a shrimp appetizer. A Sancerre to drink with dinner, I ordered a fish called Breton Angler which was very very good. Reminded me of monkfish somewhat.
Then we all had a dessert which featured cherries with walnut ice cream....and some kind of dessert wine. Just a fabulous meal overall. Service was excellent as well.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My first impression of this restaurant as the taxi dropped us off in front was "this is going to be great!"
It is such a charming country house. You walk through a garden to get to the door, it was raining so the outside tables were stacked up.
The inside was nice with lace curtains on the windows.
It started out great, the server was very attentive and drinks and wine and appetizers arrived promptly.
As the restaurant started filling up, our service took a nose- dive. We ended up being there for 3 1/2 hours which we were first in and amongst last to leave which we were not happy about. We were the only American tourists there, it was filling up with locals and business men, who obviously took precedence over us.
The wait between courses was long, we were pouring our own wine, service became terrible.
Food was good but not great. This is an expensive restaurant. Yes we are on vacation and not in a hurry to go anywhere but it was painful to our backsides to sit there as prisoners of the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A great taste of classic Munich in an old world setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had dinner with friends at Bogenhauser and it was a treat. The location was picked by locals who know quality, and for a great German meal in a classic but casual setting, this restaurant delivers.

The menu has a selection of game dishes along with fish selections The wine list is clever and the desserts were full force! If you want to get off the beaten path a bit for a fine dinner in a relaxed setting, this is the place. If the weather cooperates, sit outside. If its chilly out, tuck into the cost interior. A hidden gem!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice outdoor garden, food was plentiful and tasty. No complaints at all we had dinner inside as it was raining then when it stopped we had drinks and coffee in the garden very relaxing

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great setting, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this restaurant. I have read some comments that it is expensive, but no more than fine dining in Asia, America or Australia for similar establishments. You will probably be up for €50 to €80 euro per head depending on how much you drink. The setting is very pretty and the food delicious. Fine dining that focuses on good servings and simplicity. I would go back here in a heart beat. I was probably a bit underdressed in jeans and no collar. I travel light but a pair of black pants would have helped a lot. Great wine selection. The wine by the glass was fine - but if you like to buy very expensive wine the selection is there. I give this 5 stars.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogenhaeuser Hof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bogenhaeuser Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogenhaeuser Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.