We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogenhaeuser Hof

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bogenhaeuser Hof
Ismaninger Str. 85, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 985586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 2,816 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Winner of the 2008 Munich Restaurant of the Year Award, the cosy atmosphere of a country house is what greets you upon your visit to the Bogenhauser Hof in Munich. However, if all you are expecting is Wiener Schnitzel and chips, prepare to be pleasantly surprised. In their well-established restaurant, Susanne and Gerhard Gleinser have focused on diverse international cooking of the highest order, all available from a menu that is creative and eclectic. You can dine in the elegant dining areas of the restaurant or under the chestnut tree in the garden, whilst private parties of 6 to 30 people can be hosted in various private rooms. For these particular occasions, the restaurant offers a special menu with plenty to suggest.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nice outdoor garden, food was plentiful and tasty. No complaints at all we had dinner inside as it was raining then when it stopped we had drinks and coffee in the garden very relaxing

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great setting, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this restaurant. I have read some comments that it is expensive, but no more than fine dining in Asia, America or Australia for similar establishments. You will probably be up for €50 to €80 euro per head depending on how much you drink. The setting is very pretty and the food delicious. Fine dining that focuses on good servings and simplicity. I would go back here in a heart beat. I was probably a bit underdressed in jeans and no collar. I travel light but a pair of black pants would have helped a lot. Great wine selection. The wine by the glass was fine - but if you like to buy very expensive wine the selection is there. I give this 5 stars.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was looking for a nice restaurant with local cuisine to have dinner at for a dinner for two. The setting was beautiful, the waiters delightful and taking care of us excellently. Yes it is on the expensive side, the experience was worth it though. The food was lovely as well. Nothing to find fault with.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, perfect food and wine. Had the best Carpaccio ever, then young rack of lamb and finally perfectly made creme brulee. Along with that a 2005 Chateauneuf du Pape by E. Guigal. I will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is undoubtedly a good restaurant: very nice atmosphere, especially upstairs, excellent service, good food. But having eaten in many great restaurants all over the world, for the prices the restaurant charges I expect something *really* excellent, which I did not get here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogenhaeuser Hof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bogenhaeuser Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogenhaeuser Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.