We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, great food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bogenhaeuser Hof

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bogenhaeuser Hof
Ismaninger Str. 85, 81675 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 985586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 2,686 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Winner of the 2008 Munich Restaurant of the Year Award, the cosy atmosphere of a country house is what greets you upon your visit to the Bogenhauser Hof in Munich. However, if all you are expecting is Wiener Schnitzel and chips, prepare to be pleasantly surprised. In their well-established restaurant, Susanne and Gerhard Gleinser have focused on diverse international cooking of the highest order, all available from a menu that is creative and eclectic. You can dine in the elegant dining areas of the restaurant or under the chestnut tree in the garden, whilst private parties of 6 to 30 people can be hosted in various private rooms. For these particular occasions, the restaurant offers a special menu with plenty to suggest.
Canberra
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great setting, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We really liked this restaurant. I have read some comments that it is expensive, but no more than fine dining in Asia, America or Australia for similar establishments. You will probably be up for €50 to €80 euro per head depending on how much you drink. The setting is very pretty and the food delicious. Fine dining that focuses on good servings and simplicity. I would go back here in a heart beat. I was probably a bit underdressed in jeans and no collar. I travel light but a pair of black pants would have helped a lot. Great wine selection. The wine by the glass was fine - but if you like to buy very expensive wine the selection is there. I give this 5 stars.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    35
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was looking for a nice restaurant with local cuisine to have dinner at for a dinner for two. The setting was beautiful, the waiters delightful and taking care of us excellently. Yes it is on the expensive side, the experience was worth it though. The food was lovely as well. Nothing to find fault with.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Wonderful atmosphere, perfect food and wine. Had the best Carpaccio ever, then young rack of lamb and finally perfectly made creme brulee. Along with that a 2005 Chateauneuf du Pape by E. Guigal. I will be back!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but too pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is undoubtedly a good restaurant: very nice atmosphere, especially upstairs, excellent service, good food. But having eaten in many great restaurants all over the world, for the prices the restaurant charges I expect something *really* excellent, which I did not get here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novara, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals I've ever had in Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great atmosphere. Very good food. Accurate and caring service.
I really enjoyed a fantastic dinner.
Starter salmon, main duck breast, dessert apple tart. Wunderbar!
Excellent wines as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogenhaeuser Hof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Bogenhaeuser Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bogenhaeuser Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.