We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus Ayingers

Wirtshaus Ayingers
Am Platzl 1A | Platzl Hotel, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 23703666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Yokohama, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

They serve good food with excellent service. I liked steamed beef (stewed beef?) with Burgandy sauce. The meet was juicy and the sauce delicious. I enoyed it with a glass of Vachau wein. I ecommend this restaurant around Opera house.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    147
    160
    24
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, CA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Dishonest waiter! Dishonest waiter?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We've eaten a fair number of times at Hotel Platzl's secondary restaurant Ayingers. Generally it has been good, with decent portions of local meats and fish. Tonight my wife had the goulash stew with small salad. The sauce accompanying the stew was quite salty and the salad drowning in the dressing. My whole char was fresh and the buttery potatoes nice. At the beginning our server was friendly and helpful. But after we finished our courses, we had a long wait until a different server announced that he was taking over. As we were full, we asked for the check, which we signed over to our room. The waiter told us that the "tip was not included." However the menu clearly states that indeed it was. I am sorry that Ayingers allows this kind of deceit. I love the hotel and its staff. As for Ayingers I'm still having indigestion.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Feel like a local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We wound up at Ayingers after the other restaurant in the hotel we wanted to go was closed... and I'm so glad it was!

It's in a busy/touristy location across from the Hard Rock and Hofbrauhaus, which I appreciated since it was our first night in town. I'm not a beer drinker, but the fella was pretty impressed with their beer; I went straight for the German Riesling, which was delicious.

Our waiter was so pleasant and quick, and I had the fried turkey for dinner. What I got seemed more breaded than actually fried (which was a good thing), and the vegetables it came with were delicious. I loved the dark, cozy feel, and it seemed like it could've been a local sort of bar, except for the touristy location.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Skip Hofbrauhaus and go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent Barvarian food, if your hungry the pork knuckle is absolutley gigantic!!!!
They brew their own beers so if your into your Ales, their version of wheat beer is as good as the Paulaner wheat beer. Being the home of Oktoberfest, Munichians certainly know how to brew a good beer!!!!
The atmosphere here goes without saying, its Munich!!! arguably one of he most safest and friendliest cities in the world. Loved it and can't wait to return to this city and also this restaurant!!!
Also the prices are super easy on the hip pocket, being a Sydney sider, back in AU you will pay triple the amount you pay in Munich... Again loving it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Charming and Friendly with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had dinner there our last night in Munich. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. It is such a pleasant change from the many large, noisy restaurants in Munich.The atmosphere was very relaxed and comfortable but also had a gread deal of Bavarian charm. I have already recommended it to a number of friends. If you are visiting during a busy time, it is a good idea to either call or stop by to make a reservation. Each of the five of us had something different and no one was disappointed. My husband had the beef in a pretzel crust and loved it. We usually do not have much beef when in Germany (the veal, pork and fish are so good) so that was a very nice surprise. It is at the top of my list for our next trip to Munich!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus Ayingers also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus Ayingers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirtshaus Ayingers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.