We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bavaria fare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus Ayingers

Wirtshaus Ayingers
Am Platzl 1A | Platzl Hotel, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 23703666
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 2,866 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: German, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Bavaria fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised by this restaurant/bar. As it is next door to the Hofbrahaus, we expected it to be a tourist trap but it was lovely. Nice staff, great food, free pretzels!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    236
    33
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We've had our first dinner here on friday, with veal escalop and a huge turkey salad, we loved it so much that we went back for lunch on sunday! The giant escalop was really great! The restaurant is big and sufficently nice looking (being tipical...). Waiters always paying attention to customers, they give you the table and after 30 seconds you have your hot pretzels on it!
Just one small negative thing... I asked for a Coke Light and they gave me a generic diet cola whitout saying they hadn't the "original". But I ordered a glass of german wine and -Italian's speaking- it was good! Right price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent pub grub!,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We wanted to experience true German pub grub and this was the place for this. The food was good, the beer ( according to my hubby was excellent). Much better than the the Hofbrau House which is a tourist attraction...We thoroughly enjoyed our time here but I would say avoid the dumplings!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“insider tip...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This place shares its kitchen with the much more expensivePfistermuehle,so keep an eye on the specials.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“This review is for Ayinger am Platzl”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

This place is a charming oasis opposite the tourist mecca of the Hofbräuhaus.

We had a very nice brunch there ( best Gulaschsuppe I ever tasted), and a few good beers.

It was quiet, but it was early so that may not always be the case ...

The décor is also interesting, with some nice frescoes.

The service was outstanding, with the waiter coming up with a pragmatic solution to issues with his till systems !

Would definitely go back here.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus Ayingers also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus Ayingers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirtshaus Ayingers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.