We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greek Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon

Poseidon
Leonrodstrasse 85, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
(0) 89 18979623
Update restaurant details
Ranked #74 of 2,629 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greek Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Inexpensive, great tasting food in decent portions, friendly staff and unpretencious atmosphere. Deffinitly worth another visit next time we're in Munich!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    39
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very friendly staff and good and abundant food for a reasonable price (I found seafood better than meat dishes) , we have visited them again already!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Waste of time and money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I love Greek food yet unfortunately this was a waste of time and money. My wife had a calamari dish and I had a mixed sea food dish, We both did not enjoy it except the excellent Pita bread tat was served. You cannot win them all....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Amazing authentic cuisine and friendly and very warm place. Sort of a Greek holiday break in the middle of snowy January in Munich. And it works till 1am if that matters for you, though of cause you going to stay late there, it worth it :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outside DC
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a great choice for a "different" dinner during our visit to Munich. The staff were ultra-friendly, greeted us on arrival, offered us a free shot of Ouzo when we sat down, and made us feel quite welcome.

The food is reasonably-priced Greek seafood, something we just don't usually eat at home. It was prepared quickly, tasted great, and the portions were quite large. Note that they do have an English menu but they appreciate it when you try to order in German (even if you use the English menu to figure out what you want). Truthfully, Greek food and seafood seem to translate well so you can read most of the German menu if you try.

So, this was a great meal but what happened on our way out, really surprised us. As we were walking out, one of the staff asked us to wait a minute and he brought us a small bottle of wine as a parting gift. A very nice touch, indeed!

Final tip: If you visit, walk back in the general direction of the Nyphenburg; we found it to be a very enjoyable walk and there are some shops and cafes a few blocks away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.