We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poseidon

Poseidon
Leonrodstrasse 85, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
(0) 89 18979623
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 2,914 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was a great choice for a "different" dinner during our visit to Munich. The staff were ultra-friendly, greeted us on arrival, offered us a free shot of Ouzo when we sat down, and made us feel quite welcome.

The food is reasonably-priced Greek seafood, something we just don't usually eat at home. It was prepared quickly, tasted great, and the portions were quite large. Note that they do have an English menu but they appreciate it when you try to order in German (even if you use the English menu to figure out what you want). Truthfully, Greek food and seafood seem to translate well so you can read most of the German menu if you try.

So, this was a great meal but what happened on our way out, really surprised us. As we were walking out, one of the staff asked us to wait a minute and he brought us a small bottle of wine as a parting gift. A very nice touch, indeed!

Final tip: If you visit, walk back in the general direction of the Nyphenburg; we found it to be a very enjoyable walk and there are some shops and cafes a few blocks away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great lunch for very reasonable price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I was getting really hungry when my husband decided he will stop at the first restaurant we see before I get unfriendly lol. And he did it right it was the best place to be great atmosphere and very delicious food the stuff are very friendly and they try hard to please you even though they speak no English. I will always remember those Huge grilled calamari rings.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very friendly, good food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Really relaxed restaurant. Friendly and good selection of food at a good price. Vegetarian is limited but there are a couple of choices (to be expected in a Greek restaurant).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Greek in Nymphenburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This restaurant was not far from our hotel. We noticed in on a very uninspired bus tour of the city. It's near Nymphenburg Palace in a lovely residential area. I'm glad we decided to try it. Good Greek food and very reasonable prices with a very friendly staff and owner. It looked like it had a heavy local following. We drove, which made it super convenient. There's a lovely looking outdoor dining area - too late for this year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Better than average cheap and cheerful - very good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The devil only knows why you'd be on Leonrodstasse in the first place - there's nothing there - but if you are and if you're hungry you could so far worse than this good natured Greek restaurant that's better than the three stars it's getting. Beware of the welcome. Likely as not an on-the-house ice-cold glass of Ouzo will be plonked cheerfully down in front of you with the bread. (A bulging glass of Metaxa might well come your way after you've eaten too.) The menu prices are eye-wateringly cheap. The plates are plentifully filled. And the grilled meats are cooked really nicely. Pork fillet is my favourite. Poseidon won't win any posh guidebook stars for outstanding cuisine but it does what it does really well. It's a happy lunchtime spot.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poseidon also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poseidon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.