We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun lunch place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaimug

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kaimug
Sendlingerstrasse 42, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 26499008
Improve this listing
Ranked #827 of 2,794 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fun lunch place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We chose it following a recommendation online about their gluten-free awareness - and bingo! terrific menu, counter service, delicious Thai food, lots of choice. It can be busy and is certainly not large - but we went there aith no problem. It's almost next door to the fabulous Asamkirche.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    30
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oban
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staff shouted at me twice for being too slow to pick up my food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Seriously. Staff is ridiculously rude. They shout at you, make condescending remarks about you being slow to pick up your food from the counter, and generally make you feel unwelcome. Food was good but the staff needs to get their act together.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Efficient, Good & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We love this place, for a quick lunch stop. The place is really efficient: one guy handles the money, 2 ladies do the cooking, one lady expedites, and 2 ladies clean. Puts a spin on "fast food". And it's good for you! I love the gluten free options. The service is also really friendly, which I respect these days! The food is very good (not great, and certainly not like it is in Thailand but for a European city its VERY good!). I have only one very small gripe. While I love the open kitchen concept, I have been there so often that I have come to notice the ladies who cook always dip their hands in everything possible without changing gloves in between. I should emphasize, they wear gloves. But when you pick up a handfull of raw chicken and then with the same glove, dig into the tub of mushrooms... that is a bit gross and certainly not truly hygenic. I have never gotten sick eating there, so I keep going back. But if someone on a management level ever reads this, PLEASE: use spoons! OR make your employees change their gloves more often!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“High reviews for a take out style lunch place of quick lite dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

If you are getting tired of the heavy classics in Munich I turned to this light gluten-free alternative. Menus are in English but what is fun is to try your German here. The chicken is very good. The place is clean like most of Munich! Don't expect gourmet Thai but it is very tasty, packed very well for take away if desired, and a good way to mix it up while in Germany. Be advised that salads are large!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gluten Free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you like Thai food then check out Kaimug on Sendlinger Strasse - who display the crossed grain symbol against 8 of their dishes. Quick service - often busy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaimug also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Kaimug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaimug, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.