We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great location and outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Duernbraeu

Zum Duernbraeu
Duernbraugasse 2, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89-222-195
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 2,702 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great food, great location and outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

i have been in Munich tens of times and i normally went to the mainstream restaurants. i have never been so wrong. coming to Zum Dürnbräu was a lucky discovery and i sure will be back. i can recommend the Dürnbräu Geschichten as main course.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    163
    99
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Lovely setting for a quiet beer, wish I'd tried the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Spotted this place down an alley and popped in for an early afternoon beer. It was understandably quiet, but really liked the setting, and the bar staff were fun and friendly. One of the more cozy places we tried when in Munich for the week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Memorable food in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a sit down restaurant and a huge step up from what you will find in a typical beer hall. The setting is traditional Bavarian style with dark wood, light colored walls, and antlers. But Zum Durnbrau really excels at their execution of traditional Bavarian food. We had schweinbraten ( roast pork) served in a dark beer based gravy with fresh kartoffelknudel ( potato dumplings) with a small piece of pork crackling skin which was like a porky-salty-crispy explosion in my mouth. We also had a vegetarian option of spatzel with cheese sauce which was topped with crunchy deep fried onions. Yes, this is like macaroni and cheese. But perhaps the best macaroni and cheese you'll ever have.

Zum Durnbrau is relatively small and reservations are required at night. I suggest you try lunch instead for a less crowded and quieter meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mid-quality traditional Bavarian restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We went in Zum Durnbrau during Oktoberfest season. The restaurant is just off the main street. The outside of the restaurant is very inviting in the evening with the fairy lights hanging by the terrace. The inside was no disappointment either: a typical German setting with one long table in the middle and several smaller slots along it. A lot of noise, as there should be on a crowded evening.
We were there for the traditional experience, so I had the potato soup while my husband chose a bread soup. Before the soups arrived, we had bretzels on the table to munch on with beer. The soups were delicious, but filled us up before the main course.
As main course I had a mixed sausage platter, and my husband chose the Nurnberger sausages, both with sauerkraut, fried potatoes and mustard. The sausages were good, but not mind-blowing. I think I enjoyed the sauerkraut most!
The service was speedy and friendly, despite of the restaurant being totally packed due to high season. The waitresses spoke English well, and knew how to guide us through their menu.
If you want the traditional experience, including the high noise levels and no-so-romantic atmosphere, I recommend Zum Durnbrau. The best way to enjoy the restaurant is to go with a group of friends to have beer, rustic food and a laugh!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
“Ten great dinners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I greatly enjoyed five evenings at Zum Durnbrau during a recent trip to Munich. In addition to fine Bavarian appetizers, soups,and entrees and good German and Austrian wines, we loved the Kaiserschmarrn - a sublime dessert as prepared at the Zum Durnbrau.

The staff made each of our visits memorable - really nice people who provided terrific service and good advice about enjoying Munich.

The restaurant is charming - fine outdoor seating and an inviting traditional Bavarian dining room.

We look forward to returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Duernbraeu also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zum Duernbraeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Duernbraeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.