We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wirtshaus Kurgarten

Wirtshaus Kurgarten
De-la-Paz-Strasse 10, 80639 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-17999081
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Recommended!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a hidden gem, a lovely neighborhood restaurant near the much larger and better known Hirschgarten around the corner. We went here on the recommendation of the desk person at our hotel nearby, the Kriemhild (also a great place) and were not steered wrong! The seating on the patio and garden area is set among large, leafy trees, and feels secluded. Service is quick and friendly, and the food plentiful and good. Weisswurst is with sweet mustard is a Munich speciality, quite different from Bratwurst (for one thing, it is boiled). I had two for dinner, and they were delicious. However, the hotel desk clerk was horrified because apparently real Münchner eat them for breakfast and in any case, only before noon! The Hirschgarten was also ok, but huge (it seats over 500 people) and hectic. We enjoyed the ambiance at the Kurgarten more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    22
    13
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Royal treatment!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We happened upon this restaurant by chance, went in and were told there was no seating except for a high table for four near the bar. Why not? We all chose the fresh white asparagus and the weiner schnitzel for our main course and what a choice! As good as any of us had ever had. The beer went down easy and the dessert, Kaiser something or other, was to die for. The waiter and waitresses made the whole experience even more memorable by treating us like four of their local friends. The place was packed and we believe we were the only outsiders. Lovely evening!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Hidden neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We decided to eat here on a recommendation by Sebastian at Hotel Laimer Hof, where we were staying, and loved the place. It is frequented mostly by locals in the neighborhood and the food was outstanding. We both had Wiener Schnitzel, which was beautifully cooked with very generous portions. We decided we had to have a dessert before leaving Munich and chose the Apple Strudel, which was served warm and really good -- true comfort food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Surprisingly excellent -- and the locals know a good thing when they see it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Wirtshaus Kurgarten is a truly excellent restaurant and pub, just outside the Hirschgarten.
My wife and I were pleasantly surprised, as we did not notice this listed in tourist books, but the locals all eat there and know a good thing when they see it.

Really excellent and hearty meat dishes, and excellent helpings.
Friendly and efficient staff, and a great atmosphere.

Heartily recommended, and even better than the restaurant inside the Hirschgarten, which is in itself very good.
We ate there in May 2011, and would certainly go there again if we revisit Munich.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We went to Wirtshaus our last evening in Munich and I can't imagine a better place to end a vacation. It is a quintessential neighborhood brauhaus. The food was very good, tradition, hearty and filling. It was wonderful watching the people from the neighborhood meet up for a dinner out. If you are in the area, it's worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wirtshaus Kurgarten also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wirtshaus Kurgarten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wirtshaus Kurgarten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.