We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Munich Hackerbruecke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added A&O Munich Hackerbruecke to your Saves list
A&O Munich Hackerbruecke
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 102, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

I've stayed in this hostel for a month. It has a super nice atmosphere and it is placed between the Hauptbahnhof (about 20 min. walking) and the S-Bahn station Donnersbergerbrücke (about 10 min. walking). The breakfast is awesome with a large choice of quality food.
You can have WiFi in the bedrooms but you gotta pay for it (and it is NOT cheap) or you can use free WiFi in the reception area. Depending on where you get a room, you might have it in your bedroom aswell. The reception is ALWAYS crowded, what makes fight for a socket if you want to plug in your PC or charge your phone.
The staff was not so friendly and quite often I had to line up behind a large group that was checking in just to get clean sheet or towel.

Room Tip: And one tip: the room 606 is the best room! Besides having a GREAT balcony and nice view, it is well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    37
    35
    59
See reviews for
14
19
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Went here with a collage trip last week, upon arriving it was looking great, the room was what you would expect for the price. The only problem we had was trouble with the security at the nights he was very Un friendly,also he did not treat us in a like grown ups, apart from the it was ok

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed here for only one night (thank goodness) and were surprised at how unenjoyable the experience was. I had stayed at an A&O in Dresden last year, and it was really nice, so I trusted the name. We reserved well in advance (1 month), for a 6 person room. Upon arriving, were surprised to find out that neither sheets nor towels were included. We payed the 5€ to rent their stiff sheets. We went up to our room, and went through two doors, which took us out onto a porch, where there were four rooms - one of which was ours. Inside, we found an old, rickety room, and a stain on the wall next to our top bunk. The bathroom was old and the sink spewed towards the operator. When we came back in the evening after going out to dinner, our key cards suddenly didn't work. We went back down, and had to get new cards.

Furthermore, don't underestimate how far away this hostel is from the city center. If you want to pay to take the tram, it's fine and easy. But if you want to save money and walk... it's a really long walk. Budget 40 or so minutes.

I would never stay here again. It is well worth paying a few more euros and staying somewhere else, and somewhere a little closer to the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed here on a night out last year. Hostel was a bit far from the town especially when eager to get into the pubs, must have been 3/4hr walk. The check-in process took forever and the staff were very unhelpful esp to people not speaking German. There was no parking either. Unfortunately could not find it after a few too many Dunkels at the beer hall! the taxi driver couldn't seem to find it either. Eventually we got back...Woke up in the morning to find that the water pipes had burst in the bathroom/toilet and the place was ankle deep in murky water. The staff didn't seem that bothered about it and we left after they said it was a problem with the room. Couldn't use any of the facilities but still didn't get a refund... Wouldn't recommend this hotel at all :)

Room Tip: There are no good rooms by the looks of things
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I've made a last-minute decision and went back to Munich on Nov 2nd evening after spending a nice time in Salzburg. Had a look at other hostels but they were all fully booked, so I decided to giva a chance to A&O Hackerbrucke despite of some bad reviews I had seen here in Tripadvisor. First of all, the sign at Munich central station saying the hostel is just 10 min walk from there is kind of deceptive, since it's not that close mainly if you have luggage with you (take the tram 16 or 17 instead!!). When I arrived at the hostel, the staff was overloaded with the demands of the other guests in the queue and when it was my turn a boy and a girl from the staff occupied themselves with anything but doing my check-in, only a third one helped me. And last, but not least, the bed... worst ever, noisy and with a mattress that was worn out, as thick as a piece of carton. Not to mention the unpolite roomates, but this is not hostel's fault.
Such a different experience from the positive one I had last semester in A&O Frankfurt (see my review). I expected to find the same pattern in Munich, but I have failed. Never again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Munich Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Ana,

thank you very much for your feedback!

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke.

When the hostel is fully booked it is not always possible to guarantee a smooth check in.
We regret that although our staff tried their best to serve all guests as quickly as possible you had to wait longer than usual to get your room.
We check and change our mattresses on a regular basis to provide good beds for our guests.
It is too bad that you apparently had an older mattress which was of low quality, please send us your room number too feedback@aohostels.com so we can check the beds inside.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Upon arrival thankfully there was no waiting in line which I learned I was extremely lucky because every other time I needed something at reception, there was a non moving line? Over all I felt that the staff were trying their best but simply were not being supported by overall management. It is not necessarily a "party hostel" more of a place where groups of young German people come and stay so they can get drunk in the city and then arrive back in the morning wasted and still avail of the 24hr bar. All the staff were pleasant even the guy behind the bar who I got quite angry at because he took an extremely long time to make me a cappuccino but he was crazy busy so I apologized. I think you have to pay for the linen? I used my sleeping bag! Not so many plugs in the room and also lighting is terrible. On a positive note the WiFi in the lobby was good, the bathroom had handwash and bodywash, everything was relatively clean but I most likely will not return.

Room Tip: Not sure, I just took a dorm room as it was the cheapest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Didn't expect much when we booked it however it was just what we were after for my stag do. Considering what we paid we didn't have any complaints about the rooms and was only a short walk to the station

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A&O Munich Hackerbruecke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Munich Hackerbruecke

Address: Arnulfstrasse 102, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Munich Hackerbruecke 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O München Hackerbrücke opened in April 2006 and in May 2010 the lobby was expanded. The ho(s)tel has 200 rooms, all with their own balcony, shower or bathtub. On the rooftop of the house there is a bar with a comfy terrace, which invites guests to relax and take in the breath-taking view over the roofs of Munich.The A&O München Hackerbrücke is just one intra-city train station from the Central Station and is easy to reach by train. Due to its central location the Altstadt can be easily reached by going for a small walk from the A&O and it is thus also the ideal starting point for excursions into the city.Almost all of the rooms in the A&O Hackerbrücke have their own bathtub inviting you to have a relaxing bath and every room has a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A&O Munich Hackerbruecke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Munich Hackerbruecke
a&o Munich Hackerbruecke Hotel Munich
a o City Hackerbruecke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&O Munich Hackerbruecke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.