We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and dirty with unhelpful staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of A&O Munich Hackerbruecke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added A&O Munich Hackerbruecke to your Saves list
A&O Munich Hackerbruecke
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Arnulfstrasse 102, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #362 of 380 Hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Basic and dirty with unhelpful staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights during Oktoberfest. Our 8 bed dorm room was downstairs in the basement and the room was cramped. We had a communal toilet and bathroom, with showers growing enough mould to make penicillin. The beds were uncomfortable and squeaky but small lockers were provided.
We were advised to store our larger luggage in the luggage room. We came back a few days later to find our entire suitcase had been stolen (not their fault) but when telling reception they offered a 'sorry'. I asked for them to call the police so we could report it and they claimed their phones were not working and that we would have to go find a police station on our own. Yet when the police called them to check they answered within 2 rings... coincidence? I think not.

Worst first impression in Munich. Would definitely not recommend anyone go here to use their hostel facilities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AO_Support, Leiter Gästebetreuung at A&O Munich Hackerbruecke, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Cristian,

thank you very much for your feedback!

We are very sorry that you encountered problems during your stay at the A&O Munich Hackerbrücke.

Your comments will be forwarded to the Munich hotel manager, he will check the room and the bathroom and it will be renovated and cleaned as soon as possible.
Our reception telephones can only be used for internal calls or to receive external calls.
We regret that the reception team was not able to help you further because of this arrangement-
For external calls we provide phones for the guests in the reception area.

We hope you appreciate our efforts and look forward to welcoming you again at A&O HOTELS and HOSTELS.

Kind regards,

You A&O Support Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    29
    37
    35
    59
See reviews for
14
19
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This building is actually a hotel and hostel in one. I believe we stayed in the hostel section in what was a 6-bed room with its own bathroom for 2-nights. The room was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. Each person had their own locker in the room and there was a balcony (more on this later). We stayed during Oktoberfest 2013 and what the hostel does not tell you when you are making reservations is that during festivals like this, every room gets an extra 2 beds, so our 6 person room was in fact an 8 person room. While it wouldn't make that much of a deal normally, the extra bed was in fact blocking the balcony from being accessed. The bathroom was very clean when we first arrived, but as you can imagine with 8 people sharing one bathroom, it very quickly got messy/dirty and was not overly enjoyable to use.

Wi-Fi is available for free in the lobby, or you can pay to have it in your room.

All in all I would definitely stay here again, as it was close to two metro stops (1 stop away from the main train station) and made getting everywhere we wanted to go very easy all at a very reasonable price, especially during Oktoberfest.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here in a four person room, it was very spacious and had all the necessities. Very good value for the location, which isn't entirely central but not far away from public transport, the main train station, restaurants, beer gardens and supermarkets.

Within walking distance to Augustiner Keller and also the Oktoberfest grounds.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for three nights with three others in the 'hotel' part. Not sure how this differed from the hostel part really apart from not sharing with unknown people.

Place itself was basic. Safe was one safe for everyone at the place. So you wrote on a form what you wanted looking after and were given a ticket which you had to hand in when you needed something.

Room - two singles pushed together, separate covers and a bunk bed. Limited space to put things out but there was a dresser with mirror. Good powerful shower. Bring your own towels as those provided are hand towels. There is a hairdryer and soap/shower gel provided. I can't say you get what you pay for as I obviously paid a premium with it being Oktoberfest. Breakfast again pretty basic, was missing a cooked element to it really like some bacon and sausage (only had boiled eggs).

But, perfect for young groups really off to the festival as you are never really there, also well suited for travel. About a 20 minute was to festival or cross the road and get 16/17 tram to the U-Bahn and then from there to the festival without walking.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in October 2013 as a group of 8 for Oktoberfest. During the beer festival this is the cheapest accommodation by a long stretch. We had 8 in a room with our own bathroom facilities. Was it a bit snug on space? Yes. Was it clean? Yes. Was it basic? Yes. Was it prime location? Yes. We're the staff friendly? Yes. Would you bring your better half here for a romantic night? No. This is a HOSTEL full of many nationalities looking for a friendly CHEAP night in Munich. If you want the Hilton then I recommend you pay Hilton prices. Excellent trip, great accommodation. We will be staying here again for our annual trips!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our room, which was admittedly intended for 6 and used only for 4 was spacious, quiet and clean. Beds were comfortable and sheets clean. The room was also cleaned every day. Both staff and other guests were friendly and hospitable, especially in both bars. Free wifi was available and there were a couple of free access to PCs available in the lobby.
Anecdotally, having been there for the beer festival I once drunkenly left my jacket containing 2 mobile phones in the lobby. When I realised in the morning and went down to check, the Jacket was behind the bar and the phones were in a safe. In very few cheap hostels elsewhere in the world would this have been the case. Giving Average reviews for the restaurant and gym because I didn't use them and clicked before I realised it was optional.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with our balcony facing the courtyard and had no noise complaints at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Have recently returned from a stay at the A&O & to be honest judging by the majority of reviews on here was dreading the experience, I am pleased to say that the stay was pleasant without any problems, in fact one of our party even managed to loose his mobile & this was returned to him by reception when he went to enquire if anyone had seen it, the check in was easy & hassle free considering the amount of people checking in & out, the room was basic & clean, bed linen is available for a small charge & you will be required to make your own bed but again for the price this is perfectly reasonable, our room also had a communal balcony, the bathroom again was compact but perfect for purpose, the location was also perfect for us as it was about a 10 minute walk away from the Oktoberfest site, there is also a Supermarket just under the hostel & cafe on the way to Hackerbrücke.

Breakfast & Wi-Fi are offered with an additional charge but can't really comment as I didn't use either service, there is a bar in reception & one on the upper floor which I used twice & got a chance to meet with other residents who seemed perfectly happy with the accommodation on offer

A lot of reviewers here seemed to be over expecting the accommodation & service available for the price of a stay at the A&O, personally I can't wait for next years visit

Room Tip: Try & avoid booking a room along the corridor from reception to the stairs/lift as I could imagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A&O Munich Hackerbruecke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A&O Munich Hackerbruecke

Address: Arnulfstrasse 102, 80636 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A&O Munich Hackerbruecke 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The A&O München Hackerbrücke opened in April 2006 and in May 2010 the lobby was expanded. The ho(s)tel has 200 rooms, all with their own balcony, shower or bathtub. On the rooftop of the house there is a bar with a comfy terrace, which invites guests to relax and take in the breath-taking view over the roofs of Munich.The A&O München Hackerbrücke is just one intra-city train station from the Central Station and is easy to reach by train. Due to its central location the Altstadt can be easily reached by going for a small walk from the A&O and it is thus also the ideal starting point for excursions into the city.Almost all of the rooms in the A&O Hackerbrücke have their own bathtub inviting you to have a relaxing bath and every room has a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A&O Munich Hackerbruecke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a And o Munich Hackerbruecke
a&o Munich Hackerbruecke Hotel Munich
a o City Hackerbruecke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A&O Munich Hackerbruecke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.