We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Air Conditioning!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Vi Vadi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Vi Vadi Hotel to your Saves list
Vi Vadi Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marsstrasse 6-10, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Boone, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No Air Conditioning!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel itself was okay, but there was no air conditioning in the rooms and no fans. This was incredibly uncomfortable for a 99F/38C day. We opened the windows, but then we had no privacy and there was alot of noise outside. When we asked the front desk for a fan, the receptionist asked what we expected for a 3-star hotel. He then gave us a small desk fan.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    182
    71
    19
    6
See reviews for
73
126
46
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

It's not a fancy 4 or 5-star hotel, but there is nothing terribly wrong with Vi Vadi. It is located about a 20 minute walk to the centre, but it is a pleasant walk, mostly along a pedestrian mall with lots of shops and restaurants.

The room was basic but clean. It came with a full kitchenette, which may be useful for some people. As others have noted, the bathroom is small, but again, it is not a 5-star hotel. On the negative side, there is no air conditioning. I stayed in July but luckily, it was not too hot outside during my stay. If it was hot, I think the room could get quite uncomfortable. Also, the wifi was very weak (6th floor). I ended up going down to the lobby area each night to catch up on emails. The signal is much stronger there. I guess I should also mention that the toilet seat didn't stay up in my room. I'm a guy, so it was awkward having to hold up the seat to pee (or just leave it down and possibly get it wet, I guess).

In addition, there is only 1 elevator and it is quite slow. During the day, the cleaning staff use it to mice things up and down which further shows it down.

Overall, found the staff at the front counter to be very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are little and when it is warm (for ex. In July) the rooms are also warm and it is very not convenient. The bathroom is also little. The kitchen is also very little. I don't recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A livable hotel in the center of Munich. I stayed there for six nights in July 2013, alone. I give it a three, because it's a reasonable choice and you do not wish to run away. Here are some short points for you to consider:

Location: on one hand, very conveniently located for travelers - within a really short walking distance from the central rail station. Also, very convenient public transportation. On the other hand, the area, because of the proximity to the train station, is not very nice - especially at night, there are quite a lot of drunks and homeless. It's didn't feel dangerous, but it wasn't pleasant.

Staff: on one hand - very nice. They are really nice people and they try to help you. On the other hand, they are nice, but very much unhelpful. More than once their advice proved to be incorrect.

Rooms: Quite nice. Not very large, but very clean, and not tiny, like many other European cities. They have a kettle and a mini-bar. The possible problem? No air conditioning (there is a table fan). It wasn't a problem when I stayed there, but it wasn't very hot outside when I stayed there. Be careful.

Internet: Plus: Free, which is not trivial in Munich, to the best of my understanding. Minus: It's quite awful, especially in the evenings. In the evening, forget about skype, youtube and so on - only e-mail and facebook for you, and even that doesn't always work.

Breakfast - standard continental. If you booked with breakfast - great. If not - it's not worth 10 EUR.

One annoying thing that happened - I wanted to use their laundry rooms and they didn't have any detergent. When I asked for some, they said they didn't have any. This was very annoying - I had to go to the supermarket and buy one. I don't mind the money - I can live with the additional 4 EUR that it cost me, but the inconvenience that was caused by it really annoyed. I have actually considered to give them 2 because of it, but I decided that it would by quite petty. It was still annoying.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Just back from the vi vadi hotel, there was a group of 12 stopping for 4 nights, on arrival I was impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel, the lift was a nightmare luckily there we were stopping on the 2nd floor, the room was beautiful so clean, very roomy, the kitchenette was a nice touch, the mini bar well fridge was expensive though but then nothing is cheap in Munich.
The restaurant next door does amazing pizza, and the bar further down do a lovely red wine.
Would defiantly stop here again it's centrally located just round the corner from most attractions.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location is excellent, a 5 minute walk from the main Munich station. Check in was friendly but I was reminded of check ins at a hostel. The rooms are functional and decent size. Nice thing is a full kitchen. Decor is low end 3 star. My chief complain is no AC. They don't make that very clear in their literature. I stayed in June and it was probably 78 degrees in my room. If you open the large windows it is cooler but significant street noise. Fortunately I only slept there. If it is cool outside, or don't need AC, I think it is fine for a pass through for one night. That is how I used it and for 90 Euros I can live with what I got. But if you want a nice hotel, or one to stay in for a few days, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Big beds, small and small kitchen with all essential furniture (you can cook a proper meal if you want). 10 minutes by walk to the city centre; parking in front of the hotel (10€ per day).
Comfortable queen size bed. Warm, you regulate your temperature.
Small but clean bathroom. Polite and young staff.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner patio room. The view will be on the inner garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vi Vadi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vi Vadi Hotel

Address: Marsstrasse 6-10, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vi Vadi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For more than 20 years our VI VADI HOTEL has been a favoured place to refuge for guests who appreciate a particularly and obliging service.All rooms have been refurbished in 2009 and convince with it's warm coloured functional design, comfortable beds, top-quality-linen, 32"LCD-TV, free Wifi, and convenient kitchenettes.The Hotel's Restaurant VI VADI serves authentic italien dishes and offers a large choice of corresponding wines.We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Vi Vadi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vi Vadi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.