We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible bathroom design, cant recommend for double occupancy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center
Senefelderstrasse 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #255 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Princeton, NJ
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“terrible bathroom design, cant recommend for double occupancy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

warned by tripadvisor we requested a room to the back. I cannot recommend rooms facing the street since there are 3 large youth hostels directly across the street. Since smoking is not allowed inside I saw groups of young travelers gathering outside every evening, at times they were very loud. Front desk was nice, interieur nice, but...the bathroom is a joke. There is only an opaque glass door, you can still see the person sitting on the toilet from your bed! You can hear and smell them too, since the sliding door leaves a 1 inch gap,when shut!! right next to the toilet. And in our room this sliding door was right next to the bed, within reach. I have seen many hotels, large and small, but this design is absurd. Only once I saw an opaque glass wall (in Orlando FL), as ridiculous there as here. But at least the doors there shut tight, the bathroom was far away from the bed. Here you have zero privacy and zero "protection". Good for single traveler, avoid it if you travel with partner or child. Good location, next to station and city center (somewhat seedy in parts, but also interesting and only a short walk to many great Munich neighborhoods)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    104
    57
    31
    20
See reviews for
34
100
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Although the narrow street appeared to be sketchy, it was fine. One should not be put off by first appearances. The location is central. It was OK but we prefer the Jedermann Hotel – it’s not quite as close but is next to a streetcar stop and provides a free three-day pass on the public transit. No AC. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: Some rooms were noisy, according to members of our group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The location is very good. The rooms were nice, cleanliness was good.
Some of the rooms had too small size, so better check for the rooms before moving in with luggage.
Breakfast was good, staff was cheerful and nice to deal with.

Room Tip: Do check the room size before taking the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I give this hotel a "very good" rating mainly for the location and the fact that the rooms have a/c. I stayed there last night, very hot and sultry evening but the a/c was just about able to cope - a tip here, the a/c will turn off when you remove the room key from the cradle......just ask Reception for another key which you can leave in the cradle when you are out of the room, this means the roon will be cool when you return....they have no problem in doing this.

The breakfast was, quite frankly, awful this morning - on previous visits it has been okay but this morning everything seemed tired and not 100% fresh, I did go down quite late by German standards ( around 9AM ) but it wasn't good - at least at EUR 12.00 it is much cheaper than most other hotels. Despite this will happily stay there again due to the location.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel can suffer from street noise ( Heard somebody asking for a room chan...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I've stayed here before but really wasn't very impressed when I arrived and was told my prepaid room was not available.

This time everything worked normally, no "we're sorry but we'll put you in another hotel nearby". Just "welcome to Leonardo" and off to my room. My standard room was very tiny, but had everything I needed (although would have been quite tight if traveling with someone). The bathroom was quite nice if small.

Breakfast (not included, but just a small extra charge) was better than expected.

The hotel is located just across the street from the Hauptbahnhof (main train station). Across the street are 3 youth hostels which do attract some harmless (but loud) travelers.

Room Tip: Low number rooms (X01 - X05) are on the quiet wing of the hotel. Rooms X06 - X... face the street w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

we stayed in leonardo hotel in oct/2011 , the room was VERY SMALL and the bathroom has a glass door . the hotel reception is very small considering its 4 star hotel but its look like a 3 star hotel . the central train station is within a 2 mins walk

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Leonardo in May 2012, the hotel staff were happy enough to help and spoke brilliant English. Breakfast was very nice, however a little on the expensive side. Nevertheless, the rooms were always clean and tidy, bed was very comfy, and the facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center

Address: Senefelderstrasse 4, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #255 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Munich
Leonardo Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Munchen City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.