We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Heimgartenstrasse 14, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #135 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Gedera, Israel
2 reviews
“great location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff were the real good part at the hotel. The bathroom is tiny, very small sink, no place for personel things there.
The beds are 2 that were put together.
the location is wonderful. near the museums. good resturent near by.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    304
    118
    34
    33
See reviews for
133
202
32
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southsea
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayedd here for 2 nights and was given a ground floor room facing the street. Please be aware that there is noise from the building opposite. Despite it being a residential area the road is noisy in the morning, Delivery vans lorries etc. and the hotel hedhe cutter at 8:15. On my last morning the maid knocked the door at 8am wanting to clean my room. No chance of a lay in!!
Despite this the hotel is fairly relaxed. The underground is just around the corner (silberhornstrasse) which is about 5 stops to marienplaza (change at sendlinget tor). A small supermarket is also nearby (penny) which is handy.
I didn't sample the breakfast but complimentary coffee and cakes are available in reception, which is nice. Two Internet stations are available. Wifi is payable.
Rooms basic but clean. No air con in my room. Overall ok but let down by the noise which really is not the hotels fault.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This hotel is a good place to be if you are a tourist in Munich. The rooms are just the right size and the bedroom is separated from the entrance/bathroom. The hotel is also located 500 meters from a U-bahn station so from here you can get anywhere in no time. There is a supermarket around the corner which we found super handy. It also has a laundry room which was fantastic as we did a huge washing for 2.50 euros (plus 2.50 to dry). The only complaint I have is the pillows, they were so soft they were actually uncomfortable to sleep on.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

spent four nights here in may and found the hotel to be very good. the major plus was the extremely close u-bahn station that was only metre's away. very clean, friendly and of course efficient. never got round to using the restaurant, too busy exploring the cities offerings...!
couple of nice places to eat and drink near the hotel as well as the 'penny' supermarket for supplies..!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
THANK YOU :)

Regards from Munich!
Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonardo Hotels Munich & Nürnberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The choice of Leonardo had been up to a good friend of mine who came from Canada to meet us in Munich. Location is in a quiet neighborhood outside the central area of Munich. There are only a few places to eat nearby: a Croatian restaurant, "Gasthaus Heimgarten" (good food) across the street; "Deisenhofer Alm" [?, not sure about the name] on the way to the subway station is more of a pub, with dart boards, TV etc., and limited menu. Attached to the hotel is also an Italian restaurant, La Locanda. Because of only average critiques (average quality, high price), we didn't try it out.

To reach downtown, you take the subway (station "Silberhorn Straße" is a walk of only a couple of minutes from the hotel) to "Sendlinger Tor" (third stop), change train and travel one station to "Marienplatz", the center of Munich.

Check-in was uneventful; very nice and courteous personnel. We were given a room on the top (5th) floor, facing a quiet court yard, and in the distance, the Heiligkreuz church steeple. Room was mansard-type which added a bit of charm to it. It had a very small kitchenette at the entrance: two burners, one pot, silverware, plates, sink, refrigerator (but no minibar). Bathroom was small, with a shower stall about no more than 1 meter (1.1 yards) by 1 meter; no bath tub. WiFi was available but for a horrendous price: unless you are an "Advantage Club" member, you have to pay close to € 12.00 for the first hour (free for members); full-day subscriptions are also available at a hefty fee. I can't believe that in these times of internet connections hotels still charge for it… Leonardo is definitely behind the times in this respect.

Breakfast is € 12.00 (if you hadn't booked a room including breakfast). Selections at the breakfast bar are the usual average ones. Seating is somewhat cramped. Though at the entrance to the breakfast rooms there is a list for the waitresses to check off your room when you come in, they are so overloaded that actually no-one is checking; I wonder how many guests got a free breakfast taking advantage of this.
Bottom line: good average accommodation for tourists; less so for business travelers because of internet access fees. We paid, depending on the day of the week, between € 60.00 and € 80.00.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel was clean, efficent, easy to get to with public transportation. The Expedia booking promised a kitchenette, but the room had only a trouser press, so I asked for a change and was given a ground-floor room with the kitchenette. even though it's a non smoking property, very loud guests would roam the hall at night, barking at each other and smoking enough that the stench came through gaps in the door. One night very late, an Asian group arrived near midnight and had no concept that guests might not want to hear them yelling at each other in the corridor, making plans for the next day, and smoking really strong tobacco. They were also hall screamers early in the morning. I can't blame the hotel, I suppose, but the smoke and noise made several nights very unpleasant.

Room Tip: try to avoid the ground floor, because the corridor noise and smoke were intolerable on five of eigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Am stunned about the positive feedback this hotel received, and probably i've been unlucky but we got a room so very noisy until 2.00 am and from 6.30 am (closest one to the reception and the breakfast room) we couldn't sleep except for some hours, with a dirty carpet and a safety pin from a previous guest left on the bathroom floor, the free wi-fi in the hall was not working and the guys at the front desk, when we said we asked for a double bed not twin beds, went like "so? just push them closer".
Bad, bad, bad experience, but as i said one swallow does not make a summer, so good luck for other people who are willing to give this hotel and its staff a chance.
I won't.

Room Tip: never, never ask for the room close to the reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoram B, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
thank you for telling us your experience!
I am sorry to hear about the bad things you went through regarding the noice and the rude staff. This is of course not a standard. I am sure, that if we knew about that, our management would have made something against it.
Although, this is passed now, but if you come to Munich again, I would be happy, if you contact me personally, so I could arrange some nice offer for you.

I would be happy to hear from you soon and wish you a great time!
Helena Bachmann
Guest Relation Manager
Leonardo Hotels Munich & Nürnberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich

Address: Heimgartenstrasse 14, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only several stops on the underground into the city centre or the Fairground and convention centre. Leonardo Hotel & Residenz Munich has a central yet tranquil location, making it a home-away-from-home not only for Munich fans, but especially for long-term guests. Whether you are here for business or leasure, you will feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel And Residence Munich
Leonardo Hotel Residence Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.