We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay for first time to Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich to your Saves list
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Heimgartenstrasse 14, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay for first time to Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

First weekend of Oktoberfest and this hotel was a great pick. Very close to the subway to travel to Oktoberfest, center city and English garden, near some great restaurants, and overall a great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    302
    117
    34
    33
See reviews for
133
201
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights. The room was clean - would have preferred a double bed to the two single beds pushed together with single quilts each. The ensuite was quite small, but did the job. There was also a small kitchenette in the room with microwave, hotplate, sink and fridge. Although we didn't use it, I'm sure this would be convenient for others. The room also had a small balcony with table and chairs.

The hotel is situated in a quiet neighbourhood, very close to a U-bahn station. The U-bahn line goes to Hauptbahnhopf (Central train station), but not directly to Marienplatz - although the trains are very frequent, so it is not a big issue.

The wifi is incredibly expensive! No free wifi is provided. They have a range of paid wifi options, but all are very very expensive. We paid 18 euros for 24 hours of wifi - never again!

The hotel staff were English speaking, we encountered no issues.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is right by an underground station which was very helpful. The breakfast was wonderful and there was a lot to choose from. The room was clean. Our only complaint is that you had to pay for the internet and it was expensive. There were options to pay for 5 hours at a time but it wasn't working so our only option was to pay for 24 hours and the hotel wouldn't accommodate us even though we didn't want to pay for 24 hours. Other than that, we had a good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Only four stops on the U bahn from the old city and a short walk to the nearest station. The rooms were immaculate and comfortable and the breakfast good but I find it difficult to believe that they can't give clients wifi in the bedroom.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very pleasant stay, marred by only a few minor details.

We were very pleased with the room, which contained a kitchenette with a hob, fridge, microwave and kettle. This was so useful for making tea in the mornings, keeping chocolate in the fridge, or whipping up a quick dinner if you were tired at night. Room also had LCD TV with plenty of channels (only 2 or 3 english, but this didn't bother me), chair, angled reading lights over the bed (again, super useful if your partner wants to stay up and read and you want to sleep!). Large wardrobe and extra rails for clothes and a full length mirror. Bathroom was good - decent size shower which was good, as I often find en-suite showers are a little small. There was a hairdryer but I found it cut out very quickly. I have long, thick hair so only managed to dry my fringe before it overheated and died! Bring your own hairdryer perhaps...
We received complimentary mineral water and chocolates on arrival.

Staff were adequately friendly and helpful but nothing more.

Breakfast, in theory, was very good. The food choice was varied - hot and cold buffet with the usual meats, cheeses, cereals - however the breakfast room was INCREDIBLY busy when we were there. So much so that on one occasion we had to wait 10 minutes until we could find an empty table. As a consequence of all the people, the place was very crowded, food ran out quite quickly and it was like pushing through a crowd at a concert just to get to your orange juice in the morning. Staff were completely unhelpful in finding us a table but I must say the dining room isn't designed very well either and this doesn't help. Staff had to push trolleys through all the gaps in the tables to refill the buffet and there wasn't much room. Still, I assume that this wouldn't be the case all the time. The hotel seemed to serve coach parties so it probably depended on time of year etc.

Location is good. In a reasonably quiet suburb with an U-bahn station and Supermarket round the corner. It's not on a direct line to Marienplatz but you can still reach it in around 10 minutes by changing lines. All the main sites are easily accessible. Not that many restaurants in the direct vicinity so we always went into town to eat.

I do agree with the other reviewers that the hotel was a bit soulless, but I think that's probably a common flaw in most Hotel Chains. I found it odd that the hotel had pictures of paris etc up on the walls - we're in Germany, not France!

All in all, good hotel, good price, good location and a great place to stay in Munich.

Room Tip: If you can, get upgraded to the Executive Floor! And breakfast either early or late to avoid the rus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Not in the city centre but an easy ride on the Ubahn. Happy to stay out of the city if the hotel is better but this was a very average hotel. probably one of the most average in our two week stay.

Staff do what what they have to do but nothing more - not the same Bavarian warmth we felt else where...

There was breakfast in the hotel but all three days we went to a nice bakery just past the Ubahn station. A supermarket just round the corner with the basics....and there was a kitchen in the room - though we didnt use it!

Convenient, functional but nothing spectacular.

I had told them it was my daughter's bday - they had said they would put a cookie in the room or something but there was nothing - when i complained they gifted her a lovely book on checking out.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We booked a tripple room, but actually it was double room with sitting sofa, modified to bed. We stayed there for two nights, so we felt a bit crowded. The third bed was a bit leaned and our daughter could sleep only on one side of her body otherwise she rolled out of her bed. Breakfast was superb. Hotel offered cold and hot buffet. Everything was very tasty. We didn't use public transport and visited Munchen by car. There weren't any problems to park our car in Munich. You may park you car everywhere in the street with "P" sighn till 20.00 or 23.00 hour. One hour costs 1 Euro. Parking area in the very center is crowded. Indoor parkings in Munich centre cost about 3 Euro per hour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich

Address: Heimgartenstrasse 14, 81539 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only several stops on the underground into the city centre or the Fairground and convention centre. Leonardo Hotel & Residenz Munich has a central yet tranquil location, making it a home-away-from-home not only for Munich fans, but especially for long-term guests. Whether you are here for business or leasure, you will feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel And Residence Munich
Leonardo Hotel Residence Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.