We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“German / Italian mix with Croatian flair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Opatija

Opatija
Hochbruckenstr. 3, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089268353
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 2,866 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“German / Italian mix with Croatian flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Croatian owned restaurant serving an intriguing mix of German and Italian food. We had salmon & dill tagliatelle (perfectly cooked and flavorful sauce) and a Cordon Bleu pork schnitzel with roasted potatoes (very light batter, best schnitzel I had on the trip). Large portions and overall the food was not as "heavy" as other traditional German fare we had sampled. Fairly tight space, but larger patio area off to the side of the building, set back from the sidewalk a bit, which was nice.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    104
    26
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fine food but better options out there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife and I split two entrees here, a Balkan meats sampler and steak. We both came away from the meal feeling indifferent. The sauces they provided were delicious, including the roasted red pepper sauce. The Balkan meats platter however was subpar at best, outside of a tasty rice side, the dish was very disappointing with a greasy grillwurst, thinly breaded and deep fried chicken drumstick and a soggy hamburger patty with stale fries. Being just a stones throw away from the Viktualienmarkt, it was rather disappointing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A good place for a tasty lunch in the open”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

With Munich basking in another week of sun, any opportunity to eat outside just has to be taken. I stumbled across the Opatija and luckily found a recently vacated table. Very welcoming service, plenty of space, a relaxed vibe and the perfect glass of cold beer (0.25l for €2.70). Quite a diverse menu and not at all bad for vegetarians with a number of pizza options and a small section labelled just for us. I had the pizza funghi (€7.40) which was perfectly adequate. If you want a place to have a relaxed and reasonably priced lunch in the open air close to the centre of town, Opatija will fit the bill. Indeed, I might have lunch there later today.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely fish fish and good sized portions.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here and it was fantastic. It is located in a nice quiet enclosed square just off the market. I had grilled coal fish (4 good sized fillets) with potatoes and salad at €9 approx . It was really one of the best meals out I have had. The snitchel looked amazing and everything was good sized portions. The service was very good. We will eat again before we go home. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Typically I find German food to be bland but this restaurant has some really good items! We ate there twice during our recent stay because the food and service were both excellent.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opatija also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Opatija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Opatija, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.