We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much wrong with this place....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Atlas City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlas City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paul-Heyse-Str. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #293 of 383 hotels in Munich
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not much wrong with this place....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

When I arrived I was a little concerned because of all the reviews about noise. My twin room was at the back of the hotel and I found noise not to be a problem at all.

The room was small and no-frills, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine but the holder for the shower head was broken so I had to hold the shower head the whole time thus making showering quite annoying. There was a screen to keep the water from wetting the floor of the whole bathroom. There were plenty of towels and toilet paper.

For the money this hotel is good value. It's only a short walk from the central station and perfect if you need to set off early by train. I didn't try the breakfast so I can't comment on it.

I want to pick holes in this hotel as so many others have done, but I just can't find much to complain about. The rooms are basic and small so not really suitable for romantic couples, but for people needing a comfortable bed to sleep in at night it is ideal. Perfect for stag and hen parties.

Room Tip: When it is warm in the summer and you need to have the windows open at night, request a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    55
    70
    26
    27
See reviews for
13
50
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

this hotel is within walking distance of train station and sightseeing. , this hotel is well priced for a budget hotel therefore groups use it often. We had 10 rooms while over for the Arsenal game and at £60 for a double room including breakfast was pretty good. There were a few larger groups from other countries who were rather noisy, but when on holiday in a city dont think you can get such a thing as a quiet hotel. The rooms are very very small so be warned., we missed tea/coffee in room but there is a cafe next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Achern, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is very clean and comfortable. the staff very friendly and helpful. the hotel is situated ten minutes walk from the main railway station and very convenient for most of munichs attractions.
Rooms are small but adequate. I was given a choice of smoking or non smoking rooms. Good free internet in all rooms
the main drawback to the hotel is lack of parking. although they have 120 rooms they only have parking for 4 cars. I was lucky and got one place and left the car there the whole time. easy to do everything I needed by foot.

Room Tip: The hotel is on a main road so rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent three nights in this hotel. In the first room I got there was such a overwhelming smoking smell that I could not stay in it. Next room was very dirty with mold in the windows and the window mechanism was broken so you could only have it open(and there is a fire escape next to the window) or closed. The third room was OK but lacked normal convenience like a closet to keep your clothes. Breakfast was sub par with room temperature to cold sausage, three kinds of egg(none eatable). Overall a bad hotel that I cannot recommend to anybody especially at the price they charge when the Messa(trait fair) is in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I spent 2 nights here with a friend at the beginning of Decemberwhilst we visited the Christmas markets. Although it is certainly not fancy, the hotel has everything you need and is great value. The location is superb, just a short walk from the Marienplatz. Our room was very clean, and although it was small it was pleasant enough.

The best thing for us was the staff, all of whom were very friendly and helpful. We spoke with a few of them about Munich and the weather and found them to be lovely.

All in all, if you're looking for a romantic weekend or a hotel in which you want to spend a lot of the, then spend a bit more money and go more upmarket. However, if you just want a comfortable and clean place to sleep then Atlas City is great.

Room Tip: If you need quiet to sleep, then ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

for traveller with no requirement, just wanted to have a bed to sleep in the city center close to train station, this hotel is enough.
Internet connection is included in room price and is working very well, at each location you are in (room, breakfast, or entrance).
Indicate in your reservation for non smokking room, because smell is strong of tobacco in some rooms.
No bar to gather with friends and have drink.
Breakfast is good quantity and quality. But noisy (metal chairs).
Room is very tiny, no place to put the luggage, no furniture to put clothes.Curtains are not big enough to close window at night.
If you are on the street side, it is light and noisy from cars/trucks. no restaurant , nor bar accessible, very small elevator. avoid if you have handicap.
no service available oustide of providing the key at reception desk.

But if you plan

Room Tip: preferrable to ask a non smoking room opposite to street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This hotel was cheap and close to the Hauptbanhof. Our experience at check-in wasn't great, the receptionist was rude and reflected poorly on the hotel. Our room was clean and basic. No shower screen and poor drainage meant the bathroom flooded easily. This place is good for quick stays and if you don't care about customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlas City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas City Hotel

Address: Paul-Heyse-Str. 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 383 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlas City Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Tingo and HostelBookers so you can book your Atlas City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.